Ostrich meat

Has any body tried Ostrich meat ? how was the experience ?

and for those - who have had , would you prefer buying it over beef , if it is easily available in your area …

Re: Ostrich meat

Bhai sahab, kya karachi main murghi nahi milti ab?

I've had ostrich meat and if I was to choose between that and beef, I would pick ostrich. Its healthier although more costly.

Milti hai - but there is a niche for Ostrich meat .... and Ostrich farming is much profitable then poultry stuff.... we have launch'd a company recently and are engaged in Ostrich farming thesedays ...

mm do you ever ride your ostrich pal?

any anday yet?

well the current price at Ostrich meat is sold is PKR 800 to PKR 1200. But you know A 50 Birds Ostrich Breeder farm produces minimum 1, 50,000 Kg meat every year, while a 50 breeder chicken farm can produce maximum 30,000 Kg meat and a 50 Breeding Cow farm can produce maximum 10,000 kg meat per year ... so you can do the maths here .... Once there will be sufficient production , price will definitely come down ...

Nyah mate - we just got the wee birds now - none of them are 16-18 months of age - the age where they start giving eggs ....

Ostrich ride - well if she allows me - why not some day :D

that should be fun, watching them grow. post some pics up if you can?

sure - I have requested TLK - if they approve - i will post our website and other pictures ....

yeah i have tried ostrich meat and also ostrich eggs.
i like it and while I will be fine using it as burger or in stews, there is nothing that can replace a good ribeye or t-bone :)

I have tried it but...I found the meat a little weird. Or maybe I feel this way because I knew it was ostrich?

I never tried it because I found the idea too strange! But my husband tried it when we went to Jordan; he found it was similar to beef but he wasnt particularly crazy about it

It smells rank!