Oscars 2002 - Cast your Vote

One week from now, the Academy of Motion Pictures will announce their winners for Oscars. Here are some of the key categories.

Select who you think will win. And we’ll see if the Academy agrees to your opinion or now. :slight_smile:

Best Picture
A Beautiful Mind
Gosford Park
In The Bedroom
The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring
Moulin Rouge

Foreign Language Film
Amélie
Elling
Lagaan
No Man’s Land
Son Of The Bride

Actor In A Leading Role
Russell Crowe
Sean Penn
Will Smith
Denzel Washington
Tom Wilkinson

Actor In A Supporting Role
Jim Broadbent
Ethan Hawke
Ben Kingsley
Ian Mckellen
Jon Voight

Actress In A Leading Role
Halle Berry
Judi Dench
Nicole Kidman
Sissy Spacek
Renée Zellweger

Actress In A Supporting Role
Jennifer Connelly
Helen Mirren
Maggie Smith
Marisa Tomei
Kate Winslet

Animated Feature Film
Jimmy Neutron: Boy Genius
Monsters, Inc.
Shrek

Directing
A Beautiful Mind
Black Hawk Down
Gosford Park
Mulholland Drive

Speaking of Lagaan! I was scrolling through the channels! And guess what they are showing Lagaan on pay per view on dish network!

My Votes!

Best Picture
A Beautiful Mind
or

Foreign Language Film

Lagaan (not that I really think this movie was awesome, but is better than the usual stupid movies being produced in India!

Actor In A Leading Role

Will Smith
He did a great job portraying Muhammad Ali. Its about time Will got some recognition at the academy!

Perhaps Ethan Hawke, didnt really care about Moulin Rouge though!

Renée Zellweger

Marisa Tomei

Animated Feature Film
Shrek

Directing
A Beautiful Mind

OKie here is my vote...

Best Picture
A Beautiful Mind

Foreign Language Film
Lagaan

Actor In A Leading Role
Denzel Washington

Jon Voight

Nicole Kidman

Kate Winslet

Animated Feature Film
Shrek

Directing

May The Madness Be Upon You!!!

Best Picture
What will win
Moulin Rouge

What should win
LOTR
Foreign Language Film
I haven't seen any other films so I don't know.

Actor In A Leading Role
who will win
Russel Crow

who should win
Will Smith

who will win
Ian Mckellen

who should win
Ian Mckellen

who will win
Sissy Spacek

who should win
sissy spacek

Jenifer Connaly
Animated Feature Film
Shrek all the way

Directing

Best Picture

Foreign Language Film

Lagaan

Actor In A Leading Role

Russell Crowe

Ethan Hawke

Nicole Kidman

Jennifer Connelly

Animated Feature Film

Shrek

Directing

Best Picture

Foreign Language Film
Lagaan

Actor In A Leading Role
Will Smith

Can't say

None!

None!

Animated Feature Film
Monsters, Inc.

Directing

“na maiN* momin vich masiitaa*N, na maiN* muusaa, na fir'aun!”

The most talked about is going to be Will Smith versus Russel Crowe. I can see some conflicting views here too on that!

I think Will Smith should definitely win! I watched both of the movies several times! The way Will portrayed Ali was just spectacular. It was like seeing Muhammad Ali in the movie! I have seen all Ali fights and when you see the movie it feels likes the parts were taken out of the real fights!

Meanwhile Russell did a great job! But I dont know it wasn't upto the mark! Besides that if he wins! He will become the next Tom Hanks! I dont like him that much to see him all the time on TV!

Best Picture - A Beautiful Mind
Foreign Language Film - Amélie
Actor In A Leading Role - 2 thumbs up for Russell Crowe
Actor In A Supporting Role - Jon Voight
Actress In A Leading Role - Nicole Kidman
Actress In A Supporting Role - Jennifer Connelly
Animated Feature Film - Shrek
Directing - The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring

JJ of VS

Its weird how everyone is picking Lagaan for the best foreign film when they haven't even seen the other nominated movies, you just pick something that sounds good or is made by a desi.

Originally posted by Pristine:

Best Picture
A Beautiful Mind

Foreign Language Film
Lagaan

Actor In A Leading Role
Russell Crowe

Ethan Hawke

Nicole Kidman

Jennifer Connelly

Animated Feature Film
Monsters, Inc.

Directing
A Beautiful Mind

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Çöü®ägë ï§ ñöt thë äß§ëñ©ë öf fëä® ßüt ït ï§ thë wïll tö gö öñ.

It seems Best Picture and Best Actor is still open and up for grabs.

Most critics (on TV shows) predict Marisa Tomei for Supporting Actress. They also support Nicole Kidman for Moulin Rouge.

Russle Crow seems favored to win Best Actor, and after Moulin Rouge won the SAG, the race for Best picture seems open. Previously only LOTR and Beautiful Mind were in contention.

Here are my picks.

Best Picture

Foreign Language Film (No idea. I have just watched Lagaan, and I thought it was pretty darned good. Critics favor Amélie)

Amélie
Elling
Lagaan
No Man's Land
Son Of The Bride

Actor In A Leading Role
Russell Crowe

Ethan Hawke

Nicole Kidman

Marisa Tomei

Animated Feature Film
Shrek

Directing
Black Hawk Down

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited March 11, 2002).]

So how did we do? :)

I was the ONLY one who said Denzel Washington would get it!!!

I LOVE THAT GUY!!!

Congrats to him!!!

There’s A Thin Line That Separates Sanity and Insanity
I Stand With One Leg On Either Side Of It!

Man i love Denzel!
and i thought halle berry deserved it, she did a good job in monster’s ball. man i was cryin

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

with her when she was on stage accepting her award…

I do not love you because I need you; I need you because I love you.