Osama in Pakistan: US spy chief

Osama in Pak: US spy chief](http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/World/The_United_States/Osama_in_Pak_US_spy_chief/articleshow/2225379.cms)

WASHINGTON: Al Qaida founder Osama bin Laden is alive and sheltering in lawless parts of Pakistan on the border with Afghanistan, US intelligence chief Mike McConnell said on Sunday.

McConnell blamed the Pakistani government of president Pervez Musharraf for allowing Al Qaida to regroup through a controversial peace pact last year with tribal leaders in the border areas. But Musharraf remains a key ally, he said. “My personal view is that he’s alive,” the director of national intelligence said on NBC television when asked about bin Laden. “I believe he is in the tribal region of Pakistan.”

McConnell said that had been possible owing to a September peace accord between the Pakistani government and pro-Taliban tribal leaders in the ill-governed region bordering Afghanistan. “Instead of pushing Al Qaida out, they made a safe haven for training and recruiting. Al Qaida’s been able to regain some of its momentum,” the US spymaster said.

Pakistan hits out at U.S. critics of terrorism stance](http://in.reuters.com/article/topNews/idINIndia-28600120070722)

By Paul Eckert, Asia Correspondent

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Pakistan hit back on Sunday at U.S. critics of its fight against terrorism, insisting its army was best suited to hunt for Osama bin Laden and other al Qaeda militants Washington believes enjoy safe haven in Pakistani tribal areas near Afghanistan.

Appearing on CNN’s “Late Edition,” an angry Foreign Minister Khursheed Mehmood Kasuri criticized talk of U.S. forces attacking al Qaeda on Pakistani territory, warning that any incursion would alienate opinion in the predominantly Muslim U.S. ally against terrorism.

“We are committed to controlling terrorism, and people in Pakistan get very upset when despite all the sacrifices that Pakistan has been making you get all these criticisms” in the press, he said in an interview from Lahore, Pakistan.

"What I don't like is the tone that I am now hearing and that I am now reading in the American media," said Kasuri.

Part of the National Intelligence Estimate made public last week found a “persistent and evolving” threat to the United States from Islamic militant groups, especially al Qaeda, which it said has become entrenched in Pakistan’s North Waziristan, a tribal region near Afghanistan.

President George W. Bush, in his taped weekly radio address on Saturday, said the report’s assessment that al Qaeda was gaining strength in the tribal region of Pakistan was “one of the most troubling.”

Washington has been pressing Pakistan to do more against al Qaeda in the border area and has not ruled out U.S. strikes.

LOSING HEARTS AND MINDS
    Kasuri told CNN talk of an al Qaeda "safe haven" in their country angered the Pakistanis, who have had 700 soldiers killed fighting militants in tribal areas.
    "What we need is actionable intelligence" to tackle al Qaeda, he said, and reiterated his government's view that talk of U.S. strikes inside Pakistan was "irresponsible."
    Bush security aide Fran Townsend told "Fox News Sunday" that Washington was "first and foremost" working with Pakistan and its embattled president, army general Pervez Musharraf. She said Washington was sharing intelligence with Islamabad.
    However, asked whether the U.S. was doing everything it could to go after al Qaeda in Pakistan, she said: "Just because we don't speak about things publicly, doesn't mean we aren't doing many of the things you are talking about."
    Senate Majority leader Harry Reid, a staunch critic of Bush's war in Iraq, said: "I don't think we should take anything off the table."
       "Wherever we find these evil people, we should go get them," the Nevada Democrat told CBS' "Face the Nation."
       Kasuri said U.S. raids into Pakistan would be a mistake.
       "When you talk of going after targets, you will lose the battle for hearts and minds," he said

"The Pakistan Army can do the job much better," he said.
    Pakistan's military said on Sunday that security forces killed six pro-Taliban militants in fighting in North Waziristan, after overnight battles left 13 rebels dead.
    The United States, after being hit by al Qaeda's attacks on Sept. 11, 2001, led an invasion of Afghanistan later that year to oust the Taliban religious movement that had seized power and to root out bin Laden and his followers.
    Bush administration officials stress that they support Musharraf, who is struggling with a violent campaign by Islamic militants and a political crisis following Pakistan's Supreme Court reinstatement of the chief justice after Musharraf sought to remove him.
    (Additional reporting by Doina Chiacu and Patricia Zengerle) 

Sounds exactly like the war drums beat before the Iraq War. Media frenzy, one sided views and whack. I dont like the sound of this. US best stay out. If it attacks inside Pakistan, it’ll alienate even the liberal forces in the country.

Re: Osama in Pakistan: US spy chief

**U.S. force not ruled out in Pakistan **

WASHINGTON - The U.S. would consider military force if necessary to stem al-Qaida’s growing ability to use its hideout in Pakistan to launch terrorist attacks, a White House aide said Sunday.

“Just because we don’t speak about things publicly doesn’t mean we’re not doing things you talk about,” Townsend said, when asked in a broadcast interview why the U.S. does not conduct special operations and other measures to cripple al-Qaida.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20070722/ap_on_go_pr_wh/us_pakistan

Everything was planned. Musharraf and army is busy conquering Masjids.

Osama in Pakistan just like WMD in Iraq.
First Osama was in Afghanistan, so it was attacked.

and the suicide bombers, Taliban are remote controlled by zionists.

Musharaf have been able to protect Pakistan so far despite Mullahs best efforts to get Pakistan involved in their holy war and make it another Afghanistan.

Osam was not in Afghanistan? It must be his evil twin that escaped from Tora Bora. The same evil twin that was running terror camps as a “guest” of Mullah Omar.

If you haven't figured it out yet, the culprits of Lal Masjid had no one else 'training & brain-washing support' other than the Taliban+Alkeyda, the next-day statement from Alzawahiriri was a clear indication of that. Let the Lal Masjid be the bigger stepping stone of hunt of terrorists.

Who knows about Osama, but I bet Zawahiri is in Pakistan. Just look at the turn around item for him to issue a video statement about lal masjid and the suicide bombing that he ordered.

but Khan cant accept that. Everyone apart from him and suicide bombers are munafiq as he calls it.

so US knows where Osmaa is, why dont the forces just go get him?

knowing exactly i.e. 10 Burqa Road, opposite Dud wala Gafoor shop, Waziristan is different to rough location.

un ko ihtlam mai, I mean ilham mai itni tafseel nahi mili … sirf ishara mila hai, tafseel:

Personal view, “I” believe :yawn:

^^ Personally, I would just follow the courier who carries the daily videos of Zawahiri

lets see how the govt handles this one. gives US free reins or insists to be in charge? if beggars cant be choosers then we already know how this will end.

ben-la-Deen is hiding somewhere and we all can only guess. Americans can guess that he probably is in Bajore or Wazirastan. Pakistanis can guess that he is somewhere in Helmund riding Mullah Omer's donkey.

These however are all guesses. There is only one way to get Osama, and that is a joint effort between NATO and Pak Army.

NATO doesn't have enough boots on the ground, so they will not be able to apprehend good ole Ben. Therefore the responsibility will always be for Pak army to get the Ben-La-Deen.

US / NATO are good with their Air Force assets. Therefore the best possible solution is to use the US air power while Pak-army provides ground support.

US air power has already been working over Pakistani border areas. Who can deny predator drones flying upto 5 miles inside Pak border.

Pak government should do the same by sending Pak army inside Afghan border area for "hot pursuit". This is the only way to launch joint ops in the entire region. And this is the only way to deny La-Deen the sanctuary in the border region.

lou ji, Now God Forbid .. Pakistan will be underattack. Well planned by idiots with idiots :clap:

It's getting serious every hour...not easy at all...highly unnerving and grim...