Origin of word 'Genius'?

Any guesses?

Re: Origin of word 'Genius'?

Jinn say tou nahin nikla?

Re: Origin of word ‘Genius’?

yes.. you got it :biggthumb:

Genius is taken from Genni. In many cultures, its a common practice to compare human beings with supernatural things like Jin/ Dev/ Pari.

Can you remember some of examples form Indo-Pak culture?

Jin, Pari aur Deo waghaira kay baaray main parhta tha, ya umro ayyar ki zambeel.

I mean desis also compare humans with Jin/pari.

like a beautiful lady would be called Pari and a macho man can be termed as jin ka bacha.

Yes like lamba aadmi, deo haikal and a small one "bona".

right and in Karachi’s language ‘yaar tu to cheeta nikla’ :hehe:

Actually, I was reading tafseer (Modudi saheb) for this verse of Surah e Rehman:

Surat Ar-Rahman [55:76] - The Noble Qur’an - ??? ???

In Arabs, Abqar was the place, where Jinn lived.. Like we say Koh-Kaaf or Paristan. They started all nazuk o nafess things as Abqari (from/ related to Abqar). Eve a n extraordinary skilled/ talented person was referred as Abqari. There Modudi saheb mentioned that word ‘Genius’ got roots from word Genni.

Punjabi main aik jin japha bhi hota hay…

you mean to say ‘ghut ghut pa jhaphiyan’ :hug:

I am thinking about the context, maybe it means something else.

google 'ghut ghut pa japhiyan'. At your own risk

Its mostly used as jin japha hega aye, maybe it means that he is like a jinn.

Genie se yaa JIN se? :D

Yes Genni itself seems to be from Arabic Jinn

:hehe: I know, I have seen similar things on cable.

I thought its a folk song.. until I google and found that it a fraud song :smack:

I thought it came from Latin, as most English words have Latin [Old Roman Language] roots. =\

You are right

Genius - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

In ancient Rome, the genius (plural in Latin genii) was the guiding spirit or tutelary deity of a person, family (gens), or place (genius loci).[SUP][2]](Genius - Wikipedia)[/SUP] The noun is related to the Latin verb gigno, genui, genitus, “to bring into being, create, produce.” Because the achievements of exceptional individuals seemed to indicate the presence of a particularly powerful genius, by the time of Augustus the word began to acquire its secondary meaning of “inspiration, talent.”

:slight_smile: Mujra in other words.