Have any of you come across those relatives who are always on the asking end? They either need a favor, money, help or just about anything. These aren’t people that are necessarily needy, just people looking good for a short cut to getting something they want without lifting a finger. How do you say no to these people without being labeled as someone who is unkind, selfish and a jerk?
Re: Opportunistic Relatives
because they are opportunistic they will label you as a jerk no matter how diplomatically you decline them…
I Just say no. Just a ‘karak’ no!! I’m ok with being labeled all the above mentioned. Ker lo jo kerna hai. I’m not jawab-dai to anyone but Allah.
Yar MF, thora udhar to dena…
Acha chalo, thori dhai cheeni hi dedo..
YES !! Sigh..I have such relatives. Baqi stories rehnay do buss
The thing is ..my parents never said no to them… and now I have a hard time saying NO!!! Kahen ka nahi chora. According to my dad, even if you are enabling and indulging them, he could sleep better knowing he did everything he could. I see his point and I really do have a difficult time saying no. It isn’t because I don’t want to be a jerk, I just find hard to say no and rarely when I do, I feel guilty.