Online Proposals for marriage

So my mother does not have a network of muslim people in our area here in the US and there are rarely any decent educated muslim guys here. What is your take on meeting someone online like shaddi.com or websites like that? Have you had any success on those? Any tips or recommendations would be appreciated! Thank you!

Re: Online Proposals for marriage

Seems like a meat market, I posted for a couple of my younger cousins and was repulsed by the materialistic mentality. They seemed more interested in how much they make and if their mothers are deceased then they get extra points for that. They were also hoping that the girls could have an opportunity to sit around all day and do no chores at all. I encouraged them to find girls on their own. One was approached by a Pakistani girl herself and they dated and are fairly serious about marriage. The other posted himself and found a beautiful Syrian girl and are hoping to get married soon.

yes very true i am facing same problem here in brussels though my sis got happily married Alhamdulilah through shadi online but nwadays searching for my cute brother but still all in vain. but i think we should start a thread here for this naik reason wut do u think girls:

I think there is a thread here for rishtas

You just keep looking. Odds aren’t much different than if you started looking while at a Pakistani mela abroad. Same sort of people show up.

It’s evidence of who we have become as people.

Certain websites monitor more and act on complaints of a user abusing their profile so that moderation keeps things clean. Examples are : halfourdeen.com - they also host live events now in different cities. Also I had a lot of good luck on muzmatch and minder apps. I found my husband on muzmatch. These are free. If you email muzmatch and tell them of a user who is being abusive they kick him off. Minder used to be great and then they were having glitches in their program and that app was freezing a lot.

These apps have a lot of Arabs. If you want a desi semi-religious population, try Dil Mil. You can filter by religion, and even down to Shia vs. Sunni.

I found my husband on an app. I also found a lot of suitors and had a number of meet ups with people off these apps, way more than shaadi. I think most normal people are using these resources since they have smartphones and they are busy on the go and don’t have time nor want to waste money on shaadi.com. I don’t recommend shaadi anymore, it’s full of unreliable profiles and trolls. Problem is they don’t regulate it. I’ve sent them complaints about some guys and they never got rid of the profiles ($$).

Ever since the free apps have come about I think the paid online websites have fallen out of favor.

Oh another great free website is ishqr.com

Used to be called hipster shaadi. I’ve been off the radar for most of the year so I’m sure other apps and websites have popped up. Just search around.

Also another tip: it takes time and patience. I searched online / apps / in person matrimonial networking events / young professional events for about 4-5 years before I found him. It can take time but don’t give up. You don’t know what God has in store for you. After getting to know my husband I realized that if we had met any sooner, given the circumstances in his life and mine, we probably would have dismissed each other.

jazakAllah pyaricgudia

You are indeed very knowledgeable PCG, glad it worked out for you. Wish you the best.

@PyariCGudia- you got married? Congratulations!

PCG so happpy for you!!! : D : D

Thank you everyone, this is helpful! And congrats PCG!!!

try finding someone at paklinks …

oh wait … people here are equally messed up!

You can try this website:

https://www.halfourdeen.com

I think this is the most reliable Muslim marriage website. Here is an interview with the founder:

Interviewing Half Our Deen Founder Baba Ali, Why A Muslim Marriage Site? | MUSLIMNESS.COM

Minder is another good one.