Online Friends

Since I created my first account on yahoo, I’ve made very few online friends where I exchanged the numbers and some personal information as well. Though its a general question, I’d like to share my recent experience. A couple of days back I found out that a guy I had corresponded with for over 8 years didn’t even tell me his real name or the profession. All this time, I managed to stay in contact via email/chat/phone. And even now I got to know the real name and profession through a third party. Discussion we had used to be quite normal like any two friends could have about recent projects, career plans, teasing about who you’d like to end up with etc etc. Which makes me wonder why would he need to lie.

When you start chat, its highly likely that you won’t share correct information about yourself starting from your name and ending at pretty much anything, but in general how long does it take for you to actually start telling the truth about yourself?

Re: Online Friends

2 days

Don't take online friendships seriously. These days it's hard to trust people you meet everyday.

^ Agreed, very difficult to trust people. Thankfully, I can pick out a phoney more easily now than before, since my job is so people oriented, I can tell when people are lying or hiding things.

Hard to find normal down to earth people...VERY HARD actually.

Why waste your time connecting with someone for 8 yrs who wont even meet you in person or take it to the phone? And what are you getting out of a friendship like that?

Having REAL LIFE friends is way better. You can actually go out with them and do stuff as opposed to being tied to a computer. If people don't want to move to the next level of meeting in real life, then I have no interest in keeping communication with them, nomesayin? Not worth it.

Jeez 8 yrs is a long time man.

Well, I am mature enough to know that its hard to trust people but that's not an option or is it? Accidents on the road happen but don't we trust a lot of other drivers to not hit our car when we take ours on the road. We cannot stop driving a car just because some stupid driver is going to make a wrong turn or speeding or do whatever to cause an accident. Trusting people or not isn't about using internet or meeting in person.

My industry and work schedule doesn't really allow me hang out with my (as per your definition) real life friends. I have a lot of interaction with people on the internet and most of the times can determine what type of person I am dealing with. As for real life friends' they are not always there you know. If that was the case, why do you think GS is so popular? And isn't it that you know so many people here without actually meeting them or talking to them over the phone.

Coming back to the scenario I discussed and your comments about it. Yes, I know its a long time :) and that's why its frustrating to find out that some of the information I had was incorrect. And obviously I cannot be sure about the rest of the info. It could be correct or incorrect but for me its all lies now.

You don't ask me personal questions and I won't you personal questions - but we can still chat online for years if we have other common interests. And that's my theory of online acquaintanceships.

Its hard to maintain online friendships especially when you’re living in diff countries.

When I was younger I use to hang on forum, which eventually got hacked and then shut down. I made some good friends there, but there were many weird people too. Especially guys, normally were the once who would be lying. Coming back with multies and stuff like that. There was a group of girls, indians and pakistanis, who were obsessed with a guy. I think he was from USA if I remember well. The guy was purely telling them lies, anyone could tell, and he introduced them to “his friend”, then he disappeared and the friend obviously kept contact with the ladies. Needless to say the IP address of them both was the same and when one of them confronted him, he said they live near by :rolleyes: .. It was fun though for someone on the sideline haha.

Once you exchange phone and personal information, you are not more "online fraaaynds"

What makes online friendships different from real life is that you hardly have (or should hardly have) any emotional and/or personal attachment with other person. If you want to know personal information, want to meet them etc, then there is no difference b/w these and other friends. Its that missing personal/emotional link b/w two that makes it easier to be more open to online friends.....

^ very right!

Vaaaaaaaaaaatttttttttt? and what about my unconditional love for you???

kya hua wo wada :(

dont worry Tilkay, that has crossed the lines of online relationship…saree hadeen paar ho chuki heen :sid:

online friends are like fellow passengers on a train…kuchh door kaa saath uske ba’d apne apne raste! isii liye, India meN kahaavat hai k: “rail kii dostii OUTER tak!”…OUTER is the outer most signal at any station. train men musaafir aise ghul mil jaate haiN k lagtaa hai k asl dostii yehii hai…daame, dirame, suKhane! salary tak poochh lete haiN aur kabhii kabhii address bhii aur rishta bhii de dete haiN :wink: :cb: :smiley: