so do u usually come in NJ desi family parties..?? just asking cuz in NJ thr is going to be a barbe que party from Malik grocery.. har saal Eid Milan party daitay hian desion ko..
any idea ??
**Zindagi khail hia
Khail main agar choot lag jayee to roona kaisa,
Kuch na payee to schakayat kaisi,
Aur jo kuch paya hia ose khoona kaisa **
Bluebell
Yes I am a Pakistani. It's just that my roots don't really belong in the same geographic area. And I only speak urdu, plus some tooty phooty Punjabi and English.
nia_khan
Well it was on sale... and I don't know why you guys don't like the color? looks ok to me.
Neera
I'm alot into family traditions. I belong to the Qazilbash family which was a turkish warrior tribe.
RealDeal
No dude... I think this guy T2 knows me from somewhere. I really do think so. T2???
proudpakistani007
I live in NY, not the city, but pretty close. Just curious... why do you come to NYC everyweek? No I've never heard of that party... may be you can give me some more information and I can attend the next one...
You can only paint with the colors you're given...
...so get what you like and like what you have.
[This message has been edited by pakistan99 (edited June 05, 2002).]
Originally posted by Sultan Toora: qizilbash did not originate from Turkey or the caucusus region, they originated from central asia.
Well, that's what my knowledge says. Btw, 500 years ago parts of Ceentral Asia were under the Ottoman Empire, may be that's why I know it was turkey, I'd have to ask my father for the region though. Anyway, my father has a book named Chiefs of Punjab published back in 1945. Our family history is listed in it, and that's was it says too.
[This message has been edited by pakistan99 (edited June 05, 2002).]
well if you are qizilbash. then you cannot be from ottoman turkey, since the qizilbash were created by hayder the son of junayd who himself was of turkoman origin in safavid Persia. Safavids were the sworn enemies of the Ottomans. But in a way you are right when you say that the "qizilbash" or the red heads (so named after the distinctive turbans) originated from asia minor region, since the qizilbash order came from northwest persia and asia minor, despite the fact that they were originally Turkoman tribesmen mixed with Iranians and caucus muslims. They reached khorasan (afghanistan) by over throwing the local shah and uzbek king in bukhara.
Originally posted by Sultan Toora: well if you are qizilbash. then you cannot be from ottoman turkey, since the qizilbash were created by hayder the son of junayd who himself was of turkoman origin in safavid Persia. Safavids were the sworn enemies of the Ottomans. But in a way you are right when you say that the "qizilbash" or the red heads (so named after the distinctive turbans) originated from asia minor region, since the qizilbash order came from northwest persia and asia minor, despite the fact that they were originally Turkoman tribesmen mixed with Iranians and caucus muslims. They reached khorasan (afghanistan) by over throwing the local shah and uzbek king in bukhara.
That's exactly what the book says... I just confirmed with my bro back home.
**I live in NY, not the city, but pretty close. Just curious… why do you come to NYC everyweek? No I’ve never heard of that party… may be you can give me some more information and I can attend the next one…
okok. so u are in NY state.. okay..
well I go to New jersy everyweek.. and NYC er.. i go thr once or twice a month.. cuz i have got lots of friends thr.. family friends i meant to say.
and v go thr because v have to buy grocery wagaira.. v do have paki stores here but Edison is more good…
i will try to catch some info when and whr that barbque party is.. the best thing is its FREEE
I’m a Pakistani… cannot resist free food… so just let me know.
I used to go to the city like every other week just to eat Pakistani food, but not anymore.
A local grocery store now has home cooked food… but the lady makes it like bazaar ka khana. Like shamee kebab mein daal zyada aur keema mattar mein mattar zyada… and charge too much, like $2.50 for a paratha!!! So I only go there once a week, and the rest of the week rely on Cup Noodles and Frosted Flakes.
So just let me know. And hey I’m not a bacha anymore and it’s kinda strange how I feel about getting old, I hate it when I have to shave…
You can only paint with the colors you’re given…
…so get what you like and like what you have.
okies.. u not bacha but ur smile is soo sweet..cuz one of my cousin’s cousin.. he was born and raised in canada.. a pure paki but when he came to pak and i met him he looks and talk soo sweet.. and now when i look @ ur face its like u both are same.. but diff is he is only 17 and u are arround 21-23 right ???
Ok so just let me know, I can probably gather 20-30 kids from my county… just kidding!
Yeah I’ve eaten the 6 bucks buffet from Jackson Heights, it was good… but I have to spend 15 bucks on the transport alone!
I know how to cook. Biryani, Allu, Pullao, Karhai Gosht… I don’t have any sisters so I had to learn stuff like this. But I’m usually too tired, lazy or bizy to cook food. I have had chicken in the refrigerator for over 3 weeks now… I keep reminding myself…
I’ll definitely contact gadha… may be we can have a mini guppy party in the city…!
And I’m so dissapointed with your age estimate, I’m only 19. Most ppl tell I look young… but you told me the opposite…
Hmmm wese aap tired nahin ho ghay sab ko batatay batay…wese mujhe yeh samajh nahin a rehi keh yeh GS keh sab friend aap keh barain main itni jankarhee kion leh rehe hai
Oye Pak99 I have the strange feeling we have the same roots. Actually mine is the same, first Iran then Afghanistan then India and now Pakistan.
Abh Austria!
“WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words. WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions. WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits. WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character. WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."
Brother as I know qizilbash means red head in turkish. Exactly the alawi turks in Turkey (alawis are a sect of shia originated but too much different from it, they have sufi path) are called qizilbash coz in history there were a lot of alawi turkoman tribes who migrated turkey. Actually safavids were not persian although their country was located in persian areas. The rulers and army were composed of turkoman (turks). Actually %48.57 of iran are turkic nations.(29 million azari turk, 2million qaskay turks, 3 million turkoman and many other tribes like afshar, aynallu, baharlu, qaragozlu and so on…) The persian consists the %31,42 of the population ( I only depend on some content of sites so that I surely do not know exact number) http://www.camah.com/stat.shtmlhttp://ethnologue.com/show_language.asp?code=AZPhttp://ethnologue.com/show_family.asp?subid=1293
the most famous safavid shah was SHAH ISMAIL was afshar turkoman called qizilbash by his rivals ottoman turks. In 1500s there happened big wars between sunni ottoman and shia safavids and actually most of the alawi turks who were called qizilbash had to migrate to safavid territory(espacially to nortywest Iran now called as south azarbaijan) and sunni turkomans had to migrate to minor asia ottoman lands.So it is logical your ancestors came from turkey to ýran. best regard btw indeed you are a handsome boy.