OMG , I am a hero.

I never realized it but it just dawned on me that I saved the world from Y2k disaster. On the night of Y2K when all hell was supposed to break lose. I was working for number one database company in the world and I was chosen to be at the one of the premium support centers of this giant of a company to make sure the customers using our databases at Nuclear Power Plants, Airports, Dams, Railway Stations etc etc do not face any disaster that night.
My boss had brought in a TV so we were just watching TV and waiting for the calls of any potential database failure to come in. Nothing happened it was event less night.
But I am still a hero ,as ,instead of spending the night in the underground bunker I was out there in the field exposed to all those potential disasters. You know nuclear meltdowns, airplanes dropping from sky, train derailing ( my office was in a building which had an underground train station. dams exploding ( this office was near a dam ).

Where were you on the new year’s night of 2000 ?
Any heroism related story you want to share ? Story does not have to be related to y2k.

Re: OMG , I am a hero.

Didn't give a daymn to that BS hype, busy with life as usual.

At home, where else would I be? My parents would Khuda na Khawsta have a heartattack if I was ever out that late at night. So, no stories to share, sorry! :(

Modesty is my best quality:whistling:

at a new years hard rock concert featuring def leppard and them going to a kick ass party by the lakeshore in Chicago.

As a manager in a top consulting company, i had helped place consultants on many projects to handle I/T risk mgmt including Y2K, so a hero many times over pats himself on back

A pat from me too. Shabash , good job.:)

yaar yeh pat zara questionable lag raha hai, iraday kya hain bhai saheb :faizy:

Look at the direction this thread is taking now. Pet away heroes.

So you make an appearance here because of the direction.

Add to that the avatar X2 has.... I mean we've heard the Batman and Robin stories... now what? X2 the Y2Kman and the sweetchilli side kick?

Mirch, you are a big hero thanks. :rolleyes:

I never posted something like this because my mom came to States to be with me but all night I was in the biggest networking company doing absolutely nothing just enjoying cocktails and shaking hands with John Chambers. Though I liked it. :slight_smile:

:) Home, watching the New York Ball thing drop.....

Was in college, last semester, had a very big party

lovely thread!

memories :)