Anyone knows which is the oldest surviving mosque in Lahore?
Re: oldest surviving mosque in Lahore
I think its Wazir Khan mosque which dates 1635 AD, there would be others as well but maybe not that famous. I am sure that there should have been one with Data Darbar complex and other sufi saints who came to the region from 1000 AD onwards.
If i remember correctly , its moti masjid .... but can't confirm u at this time.
Ali you are right that it would be a mosque from the period when Data sahib came into Lahore and we have to see Islam’s entry in Lahore. As far as I remember, Arab conquest of Sindh could not exceed beyond Multan in 8th Century, so the oldest mosque would certainly belong to Ghauri era.
As far as oldest mosque of Mughal era is concerned it is Masjid Maryam Zamani which is also known as Begum Shahi Masjid. It was built in 1614 and named after the wife of emperor Akber. I think Jodha Bai was titled as Maryam Makani after her marriage as per Mughal tradition.The mosque stands just opposite the Masjidi Gate of the Lahore fort.
If i remember correctly , its moti masjid .... but can't confirm u at this time.
Sami Moti Masjid was built during Shahjahan's era and can be counted as one of oldest Mughal mosques in Lahore.
You are right, the conquest of Punjab took place in Ghaznavids in 11 century. I dont think those invaders were that much interested in spreading Islam per se. Most of the Islam was spread by the sufis in Punjab, Sindh and Northern India.
You are right.. but in Sindh we know that the oldest mosque is in Bhanbhor- a coastal area on the route of Arab invaders.
I think you might remember the famous line from Allama Iqbal:
Ek hi saf main khaRe huwe Mehmood o Ayaz
Na koi banda raha na koi banda nawaz
Ayaz passed his life in Lahore and his maqbra is also in Lahore, so Iqbal might know about the oldest mosque for Ghaznavi era in Lahore :)
Its still strange that I have not found any evidence of a mosque between 11th century and 17th century in Lahore.
probably majority population was non-Muslim till the Mughal era. What do you think of this?
I am not sure about that, but still I'm sure there would have been some muslims by that time (600 years is a long time). Does this fact point towards the fact that all the invaders upto the Moghuls were just invaders and looters from Central Asia (just like many others before them who happened to be non muslims). In the same period we can see hundreds of sufi shrines throughout the subcontinent who had been propagating the religion.
That indirectly proved that invaders did not have to do anything with spreading Islam. They just came to loot. Another reason may be that at that time mosques were bulit with sufi shrines and dargahs and probably Muslim population lived near those shrines and thats why we don't find separate mosques.
i m not agree
shahi masjid in thatta (sindh) constructed during shahjahan period has no shrine
mujhe to nahiiN pataa par va’da hai k iA shaadii agar merii lahore meN huii to iA zaroor se apne sasur jii se poochh kar bataauuNgaa!!!
Theek? ![]()
i m not agree
shahi masjid in thatta (sindh) constructed during shahjahan period has no shrine
tarash I was referring to Data Darbar Lahore. In Sindh, we found oldest mosque in Bhabhore where there is no shrine near by.
Kon jeeta hai teri zulf ke sir hone tak ![]()
are bhai, ziyaada tame shame nai lagegaa…bas, aap mujhe UNKI zulfaaN sar kar lene dijiiye!
tarash I was referring to Data Darbar Lahore. In Sindh, we found oldest mosque in Bhabhore where there is no shrine near by.
bhambhore,1st jamia msjid,constructed by muhammad bin qasim,1st entry of muslims,after that many and many Aulia Allah came here and preeched 4 islam,
period of mughals was when islam was fully spreaded in sub continent
that is the difference
bhambhore,1st jamia msjid,constructed by muhammad bin qasim,1st entry of muslims,after that many and many Aulia Allah came here and preeched 4 islam, period of mughals was when islam was fully spreaded in sub continent that is the difference
Yes but the question is 'do we have any surviving mosque in Lahore that was built prior to Mughal era?'
**kon jeeta hai tery sar per zulf hone tak
Yes but the question is 'do we have any surviving mosque in Lahore that was built prior to Mughal era?'
i m not lahoria,so can't answer exactly