Old Wives tales

I was listening to a muslim comedian the other day and he talked about how as kids we were told to fold our prayer mat otherwise Shaitaan would pray namaz on it and we believed it too :smiley: Now I laugh at myself for even believing that one.

Then the other day Irem’s post about not saying the word Divorce out loud since it will bring bad luck, got me thinking of all the other wives tales we’ve been told as kids.

• Do not go out when it is thundering and lightening if you are the eldest kid because lightening hits the oldest child in the family (believed this one too!)

• don’t pop your knuckles because it is something shaitaan does and thus it is a bad habit. (I enjoyed popping my knuckles)

Please share yours and I’ll try to think of some more :slight_smile:

wat abt these famous ones...

some ones remembering u if u re hiccuping.

someones cursing u if u bite ur lip by mistake.

and wat abt those hand itching and eye smarting things..not sure abt those but they sure are famous in our part fo the world.

Re: Old Wives tales

*Originally posted by Rukhsarbibi: *
I was listening to a muslim comedian the other day and he talked about how as kids we were told to fold our prayer mat otherwise Shaitaan would pray namaz on it and we believed it too :D Now I laugh at myself for even believing that one.

hahaha, I still do that when I read namaz. :D

Allah in fazooliyaat se bachaye....

hiccup :blush:

Yep I use that one alot :smiley:

that’s a new one for me

I’ve heard the hand itching brings more money hehehe…it so doesn’t work :rolleyes:

Re: Re: Old Wives tales

hehe… I stopped after my uncle was like ‘tow kya hua parhnay do shaitaan ko. It is not going to help him!’ hahaha!

We used to be such masoom kids :blush:

oh serious i never knew the shaitan thing was a lie lol i feel so dumbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb.

mehnaz we have another thing in common :blush:

aap ko ‘unn’ ki yaad aa rahee hai :wink:

*Originally posted by armughal: *
Allah in fazooliyaat se bachaye....

Ameen :)

Did you ever believe in these things when you were a kid?

Dont play with it or you will be blind, aisay hi :bummer:

Shaitaan pees on your head if you don't cover it.

If your eye twitches, expect some guests.

Always put turned-over shoes facing up otherwise something bad will happen - I still do this sometimes, more out of habit than anything else.

If you sneeze, someone is remembering you. I've always wondered if that meant if someone remembers you long enough, you get a cold?

Re: Old Wives tales

I was listening to a muslim comedian the other day and he talked about how as kids we were told to fold our prayer mat otherwise Shaitaan would pray namaz on it and we believed it too :D Now I laugh at myself for even believing that one.

talking abut Azhar Usman?
in fact he was here at my uni last week.. so I was just wondering if you heard it live or what?

sorry for being offtopic but you might be someone on my campus.. afterall world is small :-)

Re: Re: Old Wives tales

*Originally posted by Gemini the Great: *

talking abut Azhar Usman?

sorry for being offtopic but you might be someone on my campus.. afterall world is small :-)

Hey Gemi!
I actually heard him on a CD a friend of mine bought online :) But yep that's the guy! We were thinking of inviting him to campus but not sure if that will ever materialise.

His jokes were hilarious btw esp. since I could totally relate to them like the 'salalaykum auntie' and the 'sari' joke LOL

*Originally posted by XTC: *
Shaitaan pees on your head if you don't cover it.

If your eye twitches, expect some guests.

Always put turned-over shoes facing up otherwise something bad will happen - I still do this sometimes, more out of habit than anything else.

the first one sounds gross! Never heard of it or the second one :)

Oh but now that I think about it that "aja mahiya" song has that line "ankh bhi kaal se parakh rahee hai" and I never knew what that meant. Now I do! :D

yes the shoe thing! I think everyone believes in that one!! :)

I've always heard the hiccup was for remembering someone not the sneeze. I wonder if a burp is supposed to mean something too :D haha

play with what CR?

One I put both my hands, fingers braided together, on my head, in my mother's presence. She immediately told me not to do this in front of parents because it brings bad luck. She laughed about this 'superstition' but said that she doesn't want to take any chances. Anybody know what this is all about ?

Ameen :)

Did you ever believe in these things when you were a kid?

i had a sensible head on my shoulder ever since i got the understanding, and it took me quite an argument(s) to get my parents out of such stuff....

:konfused: never heard of this one!