OFFICIAL "Makeup-for-Shaadi" thread.

I think mac's studio fix fluid foundation works wonders!!! Its what my MUA used for my nikkah makeup in pakistan and I absolutely loved it because it provided amazing coverage yet felt so light. I bought it and have been using it since and every time I have it on I get a lot of people asking what foundation I am wearing so I would highly recommend it. Also I would highly recommend if you are looking for a highlight power the best for desi skin that provides the prettiest subtle highlight is the dior highlight powder in amber diamond shade.

Also in mac, some great eyeshadows that go with a lot and esp after the wedding are:
Woodwinked (goldenbronnze)
Shroom (light shimmery beige for brow highlight)
Sketch (dark plum for smoky eyes)
All that glitters (light shimmery pink/peach)
Carbon (matte black)
Trax (midtone pinky purple w gold shimmer)
Expensive pink (pink w shades of peach and gold)
Club (duochrome green/grey)

Mac blushes
Mocha (midtone pink) perfect!
Springsheen (peachy pink)

Mac lipsticks
Cosmo (warm pink)
Cremecup (midtone pink)

Sephora products:
NARS honolulu honey lipstick (nude peachy color)
NARS orgasm blush (peachy pink blush) very popular!!
Lancome hypose custom volume mascara (amazing!!!!) OR diorshow blackout mascara

Ask her to get you the loreal linear intense liquid liner from a store its cheap and the best liquid liner!!

All this would obv be very expensive so just giving you options of all I have tried and you could pick from that looks good on desi skin no matter what!! I think these are the basics!

Re: essential make up for shadi

thanx a lot dear for expalining me so nicely and in detail.

^Welcome! :)

The only thing I can think of is Beauty.com or Drugstore.com (same stores, different names). They have 20% off all the time and Beauty.com sells NARS so you may be able to get that off. Also, all new customers on Beauty.com get $10 off $50 so that's something as well.

no, i dont see any discount offer, it only gives free shipping :(

wow friends. I hv gathered lot things abut makeup. abut which i completly dont knw. Nw wanna make a list of whole products. and then i decide wt should i buy for my marriage that can be used easily. wt afterwards. lol

Today i hv done makeup one my self.
First hv cleaned the face with loreal toner. then hv applied loreal hydrafresh gel. then Clinique liquid foundation 02, then with brush, RIMMEL Double act pressed powder. hv waited for a while.
I hv applied eye shade from TLM eye shade kit. but wasnt staisfied.
then i hv applied shades from my mom kit. that her khala hv gifted before 24 years.
and results r gud.
shades r very nice. and good, I hv applied dark and light shades both looked nice.but was in matt shades.
lipstick i hv applied terracotta. and blushon same that i hv applied on eyes.
overall was look good. Base was looking good. but i thnk need practise on eye makeup.

the shades hv put on me was rose amethyst and burnished bordeaux. other in kit r:
sparkling amethyst , diamond fantasy , spungold wine, wine mist, violet sky, indigo sky, rose feather, bronze berry, burnished beige , golden nectar.
All colour r good.
For eye makeup practise, i hv started to read a thread here for eye makeup. hope full will get good points to improve myself.
But my questions can i get these shades nw? is they r available in market.? which brand hv these one?

hi, i'm new here- thought i'd chime in and help since i'm a pretty big makeup junkie and have done makeup for my friends for their weddings and stuff...

firstly, please don't use 24 year old makeup or share your makeup/use someone else's makeup! that is not good for your skin and possibly your health! makeup gathers bacteria that can break you out (acne) or worse- give you an infection- and the chemical ingredients that are used in the makeup can change over time and make a bad reaction

if you can post a pic of your skin shade (you don't have to show your face- just take a close up of your cheek so we can't see anything else) then we could better help you with what shades would look best on you

but, as a recent bride myself- the best things to do are:

1.) decide what look you are going for- search on YouTube for makeup looks- they have amazing ones and so many of them! this way you will know for sure what products you will need

2.) go to cosmetics counters and try the shades on- do swatches on your hand/arm (probably don't want to put the samples that other people used on your eyes or mouth b/c of bacteria)- you can take some photos of the swatches so you can remember and write down the brands/shade names

If you can't get the things you want/need from pakistan- there are a number of websites from the US that have int'l shipping- i believe drugstore.com/beauty.com (drugstore brands like Maybelline, L'Oreal, etc. and more exp brands here) does and macys.com (you can get MAC, NARS, Urban Decay, Benefit, etc. from these places)- to look at MAC shades closely go to MAC's own website and order what you want from macy's

high quality brushes really do make a difference- too faced has a great eye makeup brush 3-piece kit and of course MAC brushes are good and they will last you many many years if you take care of them- they really help your makeup go on easier and better

if your skin isn't sensitive- gently exfoliate before you moisturize so your makeup will go on smooth-
make sure you always moisturize your skin right after you wash it and let the cream/lotion sink in for at least 5 minutes- if your skin feels a little tacky from your moisturizer after that time then take a tissue and dab over your skin before you put on primer and foundation- and make sure you dab your eyelids of excess moisture as it will make your eye makeup crease

make sure you get an eye makeup primer (like from Urban Decay)- it makes the colors stay longer, makes them more vibrant, and protects against creasing

for your wedding day- invest in a nice pair of false lashes- even if your lashes are already dark and thick it makes a HUGE difference in your overall look! there are many different kinds- you don't have to get ones that look really fake

mascara- i have tried many and prefer drugstore brands over the expensive ones- i like L'Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes for special occasions, and Maybelline Full n'Soft for everyday

liner- like others said- go with gel liner for the wedding- either Maybelline gel liner or MAC fluidline (you'll need a brush to use it- i think Maybelline's comes w/ a brush tho)- for everyday use any pencil liner will do

go with a super stay lipstick product- like estee lauder double wear stay in place lip duo, cover girl outlast smoothwear, maybelline superstay24

hope this helps! best of luck :)

A big thanx for detail reply and help me.

firstly i hv local eye shade kit which hv no good colour. and application also not nice.
(jab main apply kiya thou yah buhat zaida lagay aur jaray bhi aur neat look na di)

thats y i try my mom’s kit that was imported from U.S.A. and hv good collection of colour.

Sec I hv taken a pic that gonna paste here. U tell me which colour suit me. but also give any suggestion for acne spots.

Third dear tell me how can i search on you tube for make up look.? I mean they show europe or chinese some kind videos.
but i like soft look , light colours. will show a pic soon after search. i try to find a look.

Fourth I cant do shopping online as i cant afford it or hv no such facility.
And last thing is that I am searching make up things that wanna buy for use afterwards of marriage. So need tips for daily wear makeup and for formal as for lunch or dinner invitation at relatives. Hope i will get all points soon.

you are welcome! i know it can be difficult to figure out what you’ll need for your wedding and after- but it’s best not to make it too complicated :slight_smile:

ok so on your first point- i understand the quality of the products you get from pak aren’t good- but still you shouldn’t use the really old makeup :slight_smile:

second- you are pretty fair so you can wear pretty much any color (not to say that darker skin tones can’t wear- it’s just that some lighter colors don’t show up on darker skin)- the only shades you should stay away from are pinks/reds/oranges as those can make you look really weird if you aren’t very good at applying makeup

for acne spots i read that you can use lemon and honey if you have dry skin, use lemon and cucumber if you have oily skin- or you can ask your MIL to send you a cream from UK like an age spot correcting cream- i don’t have much experience since i never had acne alham.
ooo- i just looked on boots.com and garnier has a range called Garnier Pure Active just for acne marks! check that out..

third- searching on youtube for makeup looks is easy- just type something like “makeup tutorial”, or “pakistani bridal makeup tutorial”, “indian bridal makeup tutorial”, or you can search for tutorials on specific colors of makeup like for example “purple smokey eye tutorial”, or you said you like soft, light colors so you could try “daytime makeup” or “natural makeup”, etc. - there is also a girl based in the UK who has some really good Pakistani bridal looks- search for “SadafHairand Beauty” (still on youtube)

ok fourth, so you can’t buy anything online so you will ask your MIL for the things you want- is that right? since she’s getting it from the UK check out some websites based from there like boots.com and superdrug.com- you can get things from the major brands like maybelline, l’oreal, rimmel, max factor, and Boots even carries some high-end brands too- if you want MAC, Lancome, etc. she’ll probably have to go to a dept. store like Selfridges, etc.- Do you know how much she wants to spend?

if you want us to tell you specifically what you should ask for i suppose we first need to know how much your MIL and/or you want to spend on the whole lot, then we can help you choose the best products we know of in that range

Dear my MIL's sis is there in UK. And i cant say her or MIL to get my products of that name. as she never asked me. It will be odd if i tell her.
So i am collecting on my own good collection that can suit me.
acne spot i went to dermelogist and hv taken medicine. but at last he said spot can be fade but never gone.
I will search on you tube soon.My purpose of askng here is best quality of which brand hv and application of product as well.
As i hv tried once and mentioned here. and u tell me goood points like exfoliate first and then moisturized. then start application.
soon i try again and tell feed back here.thanx dear.

I like this makeup done my mariam khawajha.
[http://www.mariamsbridalsalon.com/index1.html

P](http://www.mariamsbridalsalon.com/index1.html)ic number 24. a very soft look. Can i knw the shades that done her?

Re: Cosmetics/Make-up you selected for Shadi ?

which colour of eye shade must be bought for the marriage?
whether got for kit or shade colour? i am nt make up addict at all. but after marriage hv to apply at least for a month. so minimal wh colour i buy that can suit for every dress??????????help.

somebody please recommend me a good eye palette(not UD naked!!) for my after marriage parties!!! please

too faced romantic eye

if u're not a makeup addict then just buy light pink,peach,light browns or bronze for eyeshades and again pink n peach for blushes n lipsticks lipgloss

do u have it? how much does it cost? plus whr is it available in dxb?

makd r u in DUBAI?? good to hear that :) i thought u r in khi? where do u stay in dubai?
regarding ur Q.. its available in sephora i dont have it right now but its in my list ;)

ok i searched it. its kinda expensive for me i guess. as i know i wont be using them alot :(
tell me something else?

no AB i m not. but uncle`s family is there. so if i liked it i would have asked my mami to bring it for me :)