Obsession with marriage

Just read the “What i thought and What happened” topic.

Why this obsession with marriage. I can somewhat understand the girls wanting that because of family pressure but what happened to the boys who are not even 25 and had planned their marriage in their 20’s. What’s up with that? :hoonh:

Re: Obsession with marriage

If they want that,
it's their life, their choices

I never said it should be my choice. I want to understand this mindset.

I know you never said that :)

I just wanted to say, each to their own (if it doesnt harm others).

Maybe they just want to marry early. Reason behind that: because thats just what they want.

There is usually (in a normal, sane person's case) a reason for every want :D.

Because not everyone is as astute and sensible as you are Maham.

Perhaps people just want to get laid early? Who knows.

They are too young to know what 'marriage' is besides getting laid.....to them its only that.....thats why they 'wished' that.........

I would say the same stuff in politically correct tone.
Desi also have urges but due to cultural , social , religious , parental , peer pressures they cannot go out and engage in premarital sex the only viable alternative is marriage.

Simply because marriage is a normal part of life and who wouldn't want to find a partner to spend the rest of their life with? Spending your life alone is rather lonesome.

I don't think many men plan their wedding day from a young age like women do (clothes, hall, catering, music, etc). It makes more sense for them to plan the wedding night. They watch Bollywood movies to get an idea about what to say. That's why they want a virgin bride, so that she'll smile and blush at the corny lines stolen from the films. A more taiz girl would scoff and roll her eyes. We can't have that. It'll ruin the ambiance. But you see, Maham, them guys thought it would be too improper for them to tell you what they've been REALLY planning for. They thought you might scold them. So, they used the broad term of "wedding" to be more shareef. But to no avail, you scold them anyway. Becharay, there's no winning for them. Chillax, you're not going to foot their wedding bill. Live and let live.

Nobody was proposing an alternative to marriage. Just because you dont marry young doesnt mean you will never marry. Think before posting :slight_smile: Thanks.

:rolleyes::bizz:

Its entirely natural to desire a companion. And since most members are Muslims, I suppose a wholly natural desire to marry would be fitting.

Neither was I suggesting you implied such. What I was stating was that people plan on marriage because it is a normal aspect of life. A though process is necessary for posting, however what is lacking in this case is the ability to comprehend english and not assuming stuff that is not written in the text.

:mirch:

Aaaw, I wasn’t trying to be funny, sweetie. Look, people are different. We all have different interests and goals in life. It’s as simple as that. I see people who are very much into a particular interest that I don’t much care for. Part of life. Just let em be. They’re not getting in your way. Sure, you can try to understand the mindset behind such decisions, but how varied can they be? Some want someone to love, a companion to spend their life with. For some, it might have to do with emotional needs that were not met and they think an early marriage would resolve issues (insecurity, for example). Or they feel it’s the right age and time for then. Some just wanna get laid and are looking for a halal way to do it. Differences in mindset as well, let people be instead of infusing questions with a chiding sort of vibe. :rolleyes:

Pretty simple, men have needs which can’t be suppressed for too long, it’s hard enough having to live within religious boundaries without having to wait for years to marry. Islam encourages us to marry early, we try to delay it. One of the reasons I wanted to marry early was because I want to have kids early and not in my late thirties, I don’t want the age difference to be that great between myself and kids, weird but I’ve just had that idea in mind. Also at 25 (nearly), most of the guys I know from school/uni (like 75%) are already married, so marriage sort of starts becoming an elephant on your back that you need to shake off soon.

Theek hai nahi aati english, aab khush? maybe you can explain in urdu what you were suggesting.

Yah ok…!!! I asked cuz i am a girl n i see alot of guys and girls my age dying to get married infact even younger than me n they think i am an alien or something n i feel the same way for them so yah :D. I wasnt chiding.

Ok. Thanks for sharing your reasons. Makes sense and i respect you for wanting and knowing what you want. Good boy. Goodluck :slight_smile:

See it wasnt that hard, others need to take your example and follow.

You aren't worth the effort.

That is definitely NOT what she said.

Ohh how I make myself laugh. <3

is that the lamest you can get?! :D