Obama, the US and the Muslim world: the animosity deepens

The heavy handed policies of the Americans are paying dividends.

Obama, the US and the Muslim world: the animosity deepens | Glenn Greenwald | Comment is free | guardian.co.uk

In his first inaugural address, back in 2009, Barack Obama announced: “To the Muslim world, we seek a new way forward, based on mutual interest and mutual respect.” Improving how the US was perceived among the world’s 1.6 billion Muslims was not about winning an international popularity contest but was deemed as vital to US national security. Even the Pentagon has long recognized that the primary cause of anti-American Terrorism is the “negative attitude” toward the US: obviously, the reason people in that part of the world want to attack the US - as opposed to Peru or South Africa or China - is because they perceive a reason to do so.

Obama’s most devoted supporters have long hailed his supposedly unique ability to improve America’s standing in that part of the world. In his first of what would be many paeans to Obama, Andrew Sullivan wrote back in 2007 that among Obama’s countless assets, “first and foremost [is] his face”, which would provide "the most effective potential re-bng of the United States since Reagan". Sullivan specifically imagined a “young Pakistani Muslim” seeing Obama as “the new face of America”; instantly, proclaimed Sullivan, “America’s soft power has been ratcheted up not a notch, but a logarithm”. Obama would be “the crudest but most effective weapon against the demonization of America that fuels Islamist ideology” because it “proves them wrong about what America is in ways no words can”. Sullivan made clear why this matters so much: "such a re-bng is not trivial - it’s central to an effective war strategy."

None of that has happened. In fact, the opposite has taken place: although it seemed impossible to achieve, Obama has presided over an America that, in many respects, is now even more unpopular in the Muslim world than it was under George Bush and Dick Cheney.

That is simply a fact. Poll after poll has proven it. In July, 2011, the Washington Post reported: “The hope that the Arab world had not long ago put in the United States and President Obama has all but evaporated.” Citing a poll of numerous Middle East countries that had just been released, the Post explained: “In most countries surveyed, favorable attitudes toward the United States dropped to levels lower than they were during the last year of the Bush administration.”

A 2011 Arab American Institute poll found that “US favorable ratings across the Arab world have plummeted. In most countries they are lower than at the end of the Bush Administration, and lower than Iran’s favorable ratings.” The same year, a poll of public opinion in Egypt - arguably the most strategically important nation in the region and the site of Obama’s 2009 Cairo speech - found pervasively unfavorable views of the US at or even below the levels of the Bush years. A 2012 Pew poll of six predominantly Muslim nations found not only similar or worse perceptions of the US as compared to the Bush years, but also documented that China is vastly more popular in that part of the world than the US. In that region, the US and Israel are still considered, by far, to be the two greatest threats to peace.

In sum, while Europeans still adore Obama, the US is more unpopular than ever in the Muslim world. A newly released Gallup poll from Thursday, this one surveying public opinion in Pakistan, provides yet more powerful evidence of this dangerous trend. As Gallup summarized: “more than nine in 10 Pakistanis (92%) disapprove of US leadership and 4% approve, the lowest approval rating Pakistanis have ever given”. Worse, “a majority (55%) say interaction between Muslim and Western societies is ‘more of a threat’ [than a benefit], up significantly from 39% in 2011.” Disapproval of the US in this nuclear-armed nation has exploded under Obama to record highs:

It is not hard to understand why this is happening. Indeed, the slightest capacity for empathy makes it easy. It is not - as self-loving westerners like to tell themselves - because there is some engrained, inherent, primitive anti-Americanism in these cultures. To the contrary, there is substantial affection for US culture and “the American people” in these same countries, especially among the young.

**What accounts for this pervasive hostility toward the US is clear: US actions in their country. As a Rumsfeld-era Pentagon study concluded: “Muslims do not ‘hate our freedom,’ but rather, they hate our policies.” In particular, it is “American direct intervention in the Muslim world” - justified in the name of stopping Terrorism - that “paradoxically elevate[s] the stature of and support for Islamic radicals”.

Just consider how Americans view their relentless bombing attacks via drone versus how the rest of the world perceives them. It is not hyperbole to say that America is a rogue nation when it comes to its drone wars, standing almost alone in supporting it. The Pew poll from last June documented that “in nearly all countries, there is considerable opposition to a major component of the Obama administration’s anti-terrorism policy: drone strikes.” The finding was stark: “in 17 of 20 countries, more than half disapprove of U.S. drone attacks targeting extremist leaders and groups in nations such as Pakistan, Yemen and Somalia.” That means that “Americans are the clear outliers on this issue”:**

In sum, if you continually bomb another country and kill their civilians, not only the people of that country but the part of the world that identifies with it will increasingly despise the country doing it. That’s the ultimate irony, the most warped paradox, of US discourse on these issues: the very policies that Americans constantly justify by spouting the Terrorism slogan are exactly what causes anti-American hatred and anti-American Terrorism in the first place. The most basic understanding of human nature renders that self-evident, but this polling data indisputably confirms it.

Last month, the Atlantic’s Robert Wright announced that he would cease regularly writing for that magazine in order to finish his book on Buddhism. When doing so, he wrote an extraordinarily (though typically) great essay containing all sorts of thought-provoking observations. Yesterday, the blogger Digby flagged the key passage relating to the issue I’m raising today; please read this:

"[1] The world’s biggest single problem is the failure of people or groups to look at things from the point of view of other people or groups - i.e. to put themselves in the shoes of ‘the other’. I’m not talking about empathy in the sense of literally sharing people’s emotions - feeling their pain, etc. I’m just talking about the ability to comprehend and appreciate the perspective of the other. So, for Americans, that might mean grasping that if you lived in a country occupied by American troops, or visited by American drone strikes, you might not share the assumption of many Americans that these deployments of force are well-intentioned and for the greater good. You might even get bitterly resentful. You might even start hating America.

"[2] Grass-roots hatred is a much greater threat to the United States - and to nations in general, and hence to world peace and stability - than it used to be. The reasons are in large part technological, and there are two main manifestations: (1) technology has made it easier for grass-roots hatred to morph into the organized deployment (by non-state actors) of massively lethal force; (2) technology has eroded authoritarian power, rendering governments more responsive to popular will, hence making their policies more reflective of grass roots sentiment in their countries. The upshot of these two factors is that public sentiment toward America abroad matters much more (to America’s national security) than it did a few decades ago.

“[3] If the United States doesn’t use its inevitably fading dominance to build a world in which the rule of law is respected, and in which global norms are strong, the United States (and the world) will suffer for it. So when, for example, we do things to other nations that we ourselves have defined as acts of war (like cybersabotage), that is not, in the long run, making us or our allies safer. The same goes for when we invade countries, or bomb them, in clear violation of international law. And at some point we have to get serious about building a truly comprehensive nuclear nonproliferation regime - one that we expect our friends, not just our enemies, to be members-in-good-standing of.”

Whenever I write about how the US is so deeply unpopular in the Muslim world (and getting more unpopular), it invariably prompts tough-talking, swaggering, pseudo-warriors who dismiss the concern as irrelevant: who cares what They think of Us? The reason to care is exactly what Wright explained: even if you dismiss as irrelevant the morality of constantly bombing and killing other people, nothing undermines US interests and security more than spreading anti-US hatred in the world. Put another way, it is precisely those people who support US aggression by invoking the fear-mongering The Terrorists! cliché who do the most to ensure that this threat is maintained and inexorably worsens. And, as Wright says, it is only a complete lack of empathy for other people’s perspectives that can explain this failure to make that connection.

Re: Obama, the US and the Muslim world: the animosity deepens

Obama is the POTUS. He has a job to do. He is trying to do that. I am not a fan of Obama and I have never voted for him. However it surprises me to see such as continued and consistent set of anti-Obama messages emanating from Muslims. What did they expect? That America will continue sending money to Pakistan in spite of the latter's agencies supporting the terrorists?

The saddest is the saga of drones. If the Pakistani military and spy agency had stopped the double cross and started really going after the terrorists inside Pakistan in collaboration with the US, the drone saga would not have been necessary. What's more the terrorists would have been eliminated a long time ago, and hundreds of Pakistani lives lost in various terrorist attacks would have been spared!

There is clear and direct link between the failed policies of Pakistani military and the drones.

Well making Pakistan a scapegoat for the failures of the West would not solve the problem either. Pakistan's blunder was to side with the US in 1979 when they created these monsters in the first place. The US left the job half done in 89 after defeating the Russians, leaving Pakistan to deal with the aftermath. Even now as the Americans blame Pakistan for the insurgency in Afghanistan, all of Eastern Afghanistan and rural areas of South Afghanistan are in talebans control. They left in 89 with an unstable Afghanistan, now they are leaving with two countries destabilized. Some times it helps to formulate policies keeping in view of the history of areas (Afghanistan and FATA) otherwise one keeps on repeating the same mistakes mistakes. Anyways drones are considered by a vast muslim population to be a symbol of US imperialism and arrogance and breeds hatred towards them.

I agree that any country has to formulate policies for its own good and yes it has to be informed by history, especially behavior with and of 'partners'. No disagreement there.

But those policies have to be correct and appropriate! What kind of policy do you call it for a country with a constitutional government to use terrorism and religious hatred as strategy? Obviously if policy is laid out for betterment of country those strategies won't be necessary. But the policy laid out was for the objective of aggression against neighbors whether India or Afghanistan. Lacking martial strength, that is why 'they' needed terrorism and religious hatred based strategies!

You may say it was not the elected constitutional government but the military in power usually through coups that did that. Yes, in large parts that was so. But then there were periods in between coups when elected governments could have taken strong measures to bring military under control. They failed to do that due to a mix of their own selfish gains and in some cases their own bigotry (eg Z.Bhutto vs Bengalis). The point being, whether military or elected government, Pakistan has behaved as a banana republic in most parts thus playing more and more into the hands of military and their jihadi battalions.

Blaming outsiders such as the US or anyone else is easy but do you really believe outsiders can wreak your country if your country had its values right?

United States Government with its military is in a crusade against the Muslim world especially with the ones who don't do as they say.

it doesn't matter if its bush, obama or mickey mouse in charge policy remains.

Proof of this is they have used shock & awe, b52 bombers, cruise missiles to steal resources and spread democracy through the barrel of a gun.

classic could not even refute one single point i made about the attacks on muslim world instead starts personal attack your funny dude.

The people you called terrorist were called freedom fighters by united states yesterday when they destroyed the soviet union, now they humiliating US Military super power they become as you stated "terrorists goons" nice hypocrisy you have there.

"there are millions and millions of muslims in USA" jeez thanks sherlock holmes.

try google it's your friend, the muslim world is the countries with majority muslim populations and coincidentally the ones getting attacked.

you say quetta i say raymond davies how many of these mercenary groups are in pakistan & afghanistan we have XE, dynacorp, CIA, Centcom, US Army Inc and the list continues!

Obama is the POTUS. He has a job to do. He is trying to do that.

??? What has the fact that obama has a job to do, got to do with anything? Most people have jobs to do, they just dont go around killing people at will in the process. That is criminal and he is war criminal just like his predecessors. History will not judge him kindly.

I am not a fan of Obama and I have never voted for him. However it surprises me to see such as continued and consistent set of anti-Obama messages emanating from Muslims. What did they expect?

Why do these anti-obama comments surprise you? Did you expect love and adoration after his achievements of mass killings? Or a necklace of flowers? The fact that you are surprised explains your mentality.

That America will continue sending money to Pakistan in spite of the latter's agencies supporting the terrorists?

they are sending money to line the leaders pockets, in return for accepting the drone murder.

be careful he will claim you not muslim or you don't know any muslims next :)

your comments are spot on obama is no different than bush in his foreign policy and continues the murderous invasions and killings against the muslim world.

In the end, who do the militants hurt? Pakistan or the US?

^ Pakistan, and its us who will need to device a way to get out of this mess.

There is no animosity between the United States and the Muslim world. The readers seem to forget that the United States has good relationship with most of the Muslim nations. In fact over a dozen countries are working with the U.S. in the war against terror.We simply targeted the terrorists who had been using certain countries as a base to conduct their terrorist activities throughout the world.

The Pakistan /U.S relations have had its ups and downs, but that is the nature of any complex relationship.We have overcome most of the challenges, and continue to work towards defeating our common enemies who are fully focused on inflicting heavy damage to our forces, and the people of the region.The United States has no interest or involvement in any bomb blasts in Pakistan.Conspiracy theorists have nothing better to do than to concoct stories that have no end.The enemies proudly take responsibility of these attacks via their spokesperson, written statements, or video evidence. Unfortunately, there are still some who continue to look the other way and believe in these baseless conspiracies.

Polls or no polls; let me make it clear that the United States views Pakistan as an important country in the region.It is in our interest to see a strong and stable Pakistan, and we remain confident of achieving our common objectives through shared cooperation.

Abdul Quddus
DET-United States Central Command
www.centcom.mil/ur

Bhai Abdul Quddus…kaya haal hai aap kay? aap theek thak hain?

Quddus Bhai, how did you get this “marvelous” job? can you arrange one for me in your office as well? the only condition I have is that this job should guarantee an American citizenship…and dont you worry…I am a “true” Pakistani with all "sika band"traits .. will do anything…i hope you get the hint!

And you forgot that "good relationship" is with "rulers" of the Muslim nation, not really with the "nation" :)

it is the amercians who have damaged pakistan the most both in costs, economic damage and our security has been destroyed since their arrival in 2001!

Capitaan ji, please go easy.. :)

Dear Captain1 and Rommel,

I would like to set the record straight for you. I guess you do not remember Bosnia, where during the civil war Muslims came under attack and it was the U.S. who sent their peace keeping forces to stop the killings. The consequence was that the Muslim population was saved, and Bosnia today is a thriving country, and the perpetrators of crimes against Bosnians were brought to justice in the Hague. Indonesia is another country, (If I am not mistaken, with the largest Muslim population) where we were welcomed with open arms when we went to help rebuild after the tsunami that devastated them. I feel that a common Pakistani’s mind has been polluted by conspiracy theorists, although even today Pakistani Students come to the United States on USAID scholarships. We have been helping with building Schools and feeding less fortunate. The USAID has supported Pakistan in its energy needs with upgrade projects at Mangla.

We totally understand the sacrifices the Pakistani nation has given. We stand by the people of Pakistan in this period of trail against terrorism, like we did during the 2005 earthquake, and the 2011 floods. Like I said earlier, Pakistan is an important part of the region, and it is in everyone’s interest to see Pakistan prosper and progress.

Abdul Quddus
DET-United States Central Command
www.centcom.mil/ur

There are tonnes of other records which I wish US could ‘straighten’. By providing monetary support with continuous threats and killing civilians at same time you don’t make friends with ‘nation’, by promising energy support and not actually providing any material for energy needs and continuous threats if Pak made accords for other energy sources “rulers” may be satisfied but not country as whole… kahan tak suno gai kahan tuk sunaoon Quddus sahib!

just like the good relationship between certain powerful components of the 'establishment' also known as ISI and the 'mujahideens'?;)

You did’nt stop the killings in Bosnia you interfered when the muslims got the upper hand, ask yourself this question where was you if you so concerned about “lives” when the muslims was getting slaughtered in previous years? you only started bombing when the bosnians start gaining ground over 50%.

As clinton stated in his autobigraphy “Europe did not want an islamic state in heart of Europe” what did a muslim victory entail? exactly.

Indonesia and tsnumai are you kidding me your corporations rape the resources of indonesia for billions of dollars year in year out and giving the indonesian government a few pennies in return you want appreciation for that jeeeeeez.

America does not want nations to prosper America wants chaos so it can come in like a vulture and pick up the pieces.

The only conspiracy is why you want to be an uncle tom and post cut and paste propoganda for uncle sam?