Obama is not good for Pakistan

Re: Obama is not good for Pakistan

well why would an american or any foriegner will be good for PAkistan. Pakistanis themselves are enough to harm their own motherland, have a look in fata and other troubled areas and excess of no direction "bearded" madrasah students across the country.

sort yourself out first before expecting anything from others to be nice to you when you are not nice to yourself!

I agree with you in principle but you must remember that the fruit we are reaping today was sowed by the foreigners sometime ago, so foreign influence/factor cannot be ignored.

Despite what Obama is saying, Obama is a better choice for Pakistan than McCain.

Its like the same thing with Bush and Israel. Bush has been the most pro-Israel president, but he has been a disaster for Israel as supporting Israel all the way, instead of confronting them to make peace and painful concessions to the Palestinians has been very damaging to Israel.

Same with Pakistan. By supporting the corrupt Generals of Pakistan, instead of thoroughly confronting them, Pakistan has become complacent.

Pakistan needs a good kick in the pants, to remove the scourge of extremism from our country, and Obama is the person who can help us with that.

It will be interesting to see how Indians in America vote.

Salaam.

Hmmm OBAMA is good for Pakistan or not? Bahut achha sawaal hai.

But I wonder now: Are Pakistanis good for Pakistan?

Allah par yaqeen hota toh yeh Obama Osama kya thay? Humaari harkatein aaj kal aisee hain ke I don't think this country will be surviving by the time this generation gets old.

Obama, US, India ko kya blame karte ho? Our education level is 1/100th of our enemies/friends/whatever.

Don't be such pessimist, we are not talking about Swaziland here. Its not "education" rather passivity (?) of large population over extremist elements within.

Good analysis. Except Bush has been a disaster for everyone across the board - Americans Isralis, Asians...you name it!

Obama warns Pakistan to stop fomenting terrorism in Kashmir.

If Obama become President, we know what will happen to Kashmir.

In some blunt talking on Pakistan’s role in fomenting terrorism in Kashmir, Democratic presidential nominee Barack Obama has said the US should confront Islamabad on its funding of “mujahideen” groups in the valley and the terror camps running under its nose.

Ahead of his meeting with visiting Pakistan Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani, Obama said “historically Pakistan has tolerated or in some cases funded the Mujahideen” because they think it’s somehow helpful to them in Kashmir which continues to be a “constant instigator” of tension between Islamabad and New Delhi.

“We have to have an honest conversation about how counterproductive that is,” Obama said in an interview published in the Wall Street Journal on July 28.

Asked whether US should play a role in negotiations been Pakistan and India, he said, “use that as an example of how we need to think comprehensively about the region.

“If one of the central concerns of Pakistan is its security posture towards India, then we need to put that on the table for discussion as we try to solve the problems in Afghanistan.”

Asked about the scheduled meeting between Gilani and President George Bush in Washington, Obama said the US must emphasize the importance of closing down terrorist camps.

“It’s not just in the interest of Afghan security, or US security, it is in the interest of Pakistani security that we shut down those bases down,” he said.

“Obviously, they’re a new government. There just getting their sea legs. But I think it’s very important that we emphasize to them how serious we take these base camps,” he said.

At the Unity Convention of minority journalists in Chicago, Obama said for a victory in Afghanistan, “more effective cooperation” is needed from Pakistan to get rid of the safe havens for terrorists.

“They’ve (al Qaeda and Taliban) got safe havens there (in Pakistan’s tribal areas) that US troops can’t follow – that is a huge problem,” Obama said.

“We’re going to need more troops in Afghanistan. But we’re also going to need more effective cooperation from the Pakistani government in rooting out these safe havens,” the Illinois Senator said.

The Senator has had some tough words for Islamabad since last August on tracking down the al Qaeda and the Taliban stressing that if he is elected, he will strike unilaterally against militant targets based on “actionable intelligence.”

Does McCain support Pakistan's stand on Kashmir?

All US Presidents are good for Pakistan. They just have a different way of showing their support. :)

Only a little correction MK2 bhaijan…it’s mainly the Pakistan army and ISI who need a big kick on their butt to behave themselves…after all it is their honeymoon with jihadis over the years…and a double game to extend their illegalities and finding a pretext to stay in power…a vast majority of people in Pakistan have no clue to what is happening and who these jihadis are…and how they get funded and recieve logistic support…

Burqaposhx bhaijan!

As you have very rightly pointed out yourself that ignorance is never a good excuse...you seem to be totally ignorant of the ground realities in Pakistan...

When you say that these few army generals over the years have no significant role in bringing us to the situation we are in today....you seem to analyse Pakistan from totally a different distant planet...

If you think a few billion dollars in military aid is of any significance....to the loss of perception for our country....and the loss of country image for which our businesses and specially export businessses are suffering....my friend I am sorry to say you are totally naive...and ignorant yourself...

Leftie American Obama's muttering and hopefully turned in to actions against Pakistan army when he comes to power will certainly help to curb our army's honeymoon with these jihadis which has destroyed our country image....hopefully this leftie will facilitate us to save ourselves from our own rogue army generals...and help us restore our country perception...

And when india hosts terrorist leaders like MQM Altaf Hussain how productive is that? Especially when he makes balsphumous comments "Pakistan should never have been established"