Obagi

Has any one here used the Obagi skin care system or know of anyone who has used it? An acquaintance of mine did and seemed very pleased with the results. I saw her after such a long time that I didn’t even remember what her skin looked like before. My only concern is that some of the products in this line contain hydroquinone which is widely known as harmful to the skin and can make skin patchy if discontinued was it? or if u expose ur skin to the sun. I asked the obagi esthetician and she said its only a 15% concentration and that it takes a much more potent hydroquinone to damage the skin.

They say it fades out acne marks and literally peels of old skin to bring out newer one. Just want to see how well it works on desi skin. (The person I know of who used it is afghan. )

Re: Obagi

I did for my blemishes due to sun exposure. it is hard on the skin but supposedly the best product in the market.

The percentage of hydroquinone you quoted is incorrect. It is only 4%. I think the maximum alowable is 6% but that would mean a lifetime use of total sunblock every time your sun exposure is for 10 minutes or more.

I only used their cleansing gel, blender and clear.

Do not use tolereen as it contains hydrocotisone, although only 0.4%.

I am no afghan though, more like a kala bhoot :D

out of all the people YOU have used it!!! Kya baat hei! you know what I may be mistaken indeed. I think she said 4% each in two diff products making it a total of 8%. maybe she said it would have to be 15% to harm ur skin, who knows!

so u were happy with the results? did u notice any adverse effects on ur skin once u quit? how did ur skin improve?

what do you mean of all the people? havent i given you advice on personal care products before? I have a very sensitive skin, so it was very hard initially. The way it basically works is that it starts peeling off your skin. During the course you have to avoid the sun like you avoided me on gupshup all these years, duur duur se dekhna, dhoop mae na nikalna. Oh yes I used their Sun Fader as well which is a sunblok with some hydroquinone in it too.

I have naturally rosy cheeks, using obagi products made them look like a monkey's bum.It is a good product. Dermatologists swear by it.

and nahi, no adverse effects.

:cb:
It’s just that I was expecting responses from females but you have pleasantly surprised me :slight_smile: I think I will go for it. The money I saved on not straightening my hair this year will go right to the skincare fund! Hopefully it will be worth it. Thank you!

one more thing, half way thru the course, I started using aloe vera, from the plant itself, in the evening. i think that helped a lot.

Buy an aloe vera plant, it grows fast and multiplies quickly. I used to cut off a leaf and keep it in the refrigerator. Sqeeze out fresh gel ever day. One leaf lasts for a week and is a lot cheaper than buying aloe gel from the stores.

Is Obagi recommended for someone in their 20's? wondering if this is those age defying cosmetic line?

hey i have gone on that website and it,s prescription stuff..you get from doc...so femme did you get it on a prescription??

My best friend has been using the Obagi treatment for I think 9 months now. I think it has helped her skin, because she used to have a lot of acne scars before, and now her skin is smoother. It definitely peels away the dead skin, and so that's where the main results lie... a new skin to replace the old scarred one.

Jal Pari it is for all age groups, anyone who wants to get rid of sun spots, acne scars and renew their skin nothing to do with wrinkle removal/prevention(though it may help get rid of fine lines but I don't think that is what its desgined for). Things like the blue peel are probably more suitable for mature skin or people with severe scaring cos those are much more intense, if you see the before and after pictures the results look amazing!

Coco you don't necessarily have to get it from a doctor, you can also get it from one of their licenesed estheticians which is where I will be getting it from if I go for it.

thank you for that tip ashtray, lemme get my tiller and shovel out of that shed :D

i heard that u get addicted to chemical peels and also that they make your skin more sensitive to the sun. thats why im a bit wary of them. there's no way im staying out of the sun.

yes shweets but this is not a chemical peel as such, its really a skin care system. I have heard great stuff about it but am still double minded. she said for about 2 months ur skin will be red and peeling, no sure if I can handle that.

yeah but u dont need it :/ u look great already.

but i think it makes sense to talk to the ladies (or gentlemen lol) that have had it done a couple of times and can better give u a sense of the pros/cons in the long run.

I will check with my derm..but..redness and peeling might be hard to deal with..i have next to perfect skin...just the freckles on nose and cheeks...that i want gone!

im wondering if you're wanting to use a certain product from this brand.. or ure talking abt adopting one of their skin-care regimes.. (id assume like cleanser/toner/moisturizer type..)

havn't heard of this product before.. but my cousin has used pro-activ.. it did help her skin, but u cant stop using it! her skin started breaking out once she stopped....

my point; i think u should talk to ur derm before adopting any of these skin care products for daily use..... like how harmful would that be once u stop.. and from what ive read up.... using sunblock for the rest of ur life?? what if one day u cant.... :S

wouldn't that be so much of a risk then? i dont know wht ure using the product for?? like clear skin? then try clinique.. it definitely smooths n clarifies ur skin, and u can choose to use it rarely once ure satisfied with the results.

^I thought sun block should be a part of one's life????

Femme, what do you need Obagi for? I believe its for problem skin and what i remember of you, you have like perfect skin MaashaAllah. Save the money this year missy! :p

ahhh Ira and shweets you made my day. Now only if I could look at myself with your eyes :D Jokes aside but I have noticed a lot of brown spots especially on my nose and where people would normally have freckles and I don't like them :(

Behnjee you should be using sunscreen on a daily basis anyway. What I was talking about is the Obagi nu-derm system which contains and entire line of products to be used in conjunction, a cleanser, toner, a bunch of things that help eliminate and prevent scars from acne and sun damage and also help your skin naturally hydrate itself, some retin-A, an eyecream and sunscreen I think. A few ppl have skipped the cleanser, toner and used less expensive ones instead.

The esthetician herself uses it in winters only since she likes to be in the sun in summers so I am guessing you do not have to use it all your life. Still very undecided though. Maybe IPL is a better option.

^^ hmm ok.. i get the flow now. well then you shouldn't be having any second thoughts if you've good reviews of this obagi line.. and ure telling me you dont have to keep on using it for as long as you can to maintain the results...

n sajal i totally do not disagree from that. i just meant that what if you cant use it someday/ or for a week for whatever reasons....

i honestly do not follow any skin maintainance regime to that effect.. if i were to adopt one, i guess i wouldn't adopt any which had severe usage directions like u MUST apply sunblock n blah or ELSE......

hope u get what im sayin :)

femme, I used obagi for a number of years and now am using skin tx (the same thing but in canada they changed their name for whatever reason). i had/still have very deep acne scars and nothing (yes nothing) would make them go away. nothing my doctors gave me worked. so i went to a dermatologist after an auntie told me about how she went to this dermatologist to get rid of her age spots and freckles and her skin was gorgeous (she was like 55 yrs old or something).

anyways, i didn't need a referral or anything, or any prescription. the doctor had a look at my medical history and checked out my skin. his office had a supply closet and i just paid for the products myself. he told me to use the cleanser/toner/and clear/blender mixed with some kind of retin a cream (this was back in uni so i kind of forget the same). it worked really well and i noticed a huge difference after 3-4 months. but you really have to be religious about applying it (day and night) - well i'm a lazy person...but you get what i mean. some of the beginning weeks were horrible due to redness and peeling skin and i just wanted to die. but after it was so amazing...my skin was actually clear and not oily at all.

i stopped using it after i got married because you cannot be on it and get pregnant because there can be horrible side effects (the doc recommend you being on birth control while on it). my skin went back to it's regular acne within a year which totally sucked.

and now, a few yrs later, i'm on active mixed with tetrazoin or something like that which is used to treat psoriasis, but i'm finding it is not that effective as it was before. maybe it is because i'm lazy about applying it day and night, or the fact that i'm using a slightly different product. i didn't find i was any more sensitive to the sun than i was before.