NWFP to be renamed says Durrani!

Re: NWFP to be renamed says Durrani!

I'm a Punjabi/Pashtun hybrid, bilingual family (speak Pashto and the same dialect of Punjabi you Chakwalis speak)... My loyalties use to depend on my relations with the relatives of whichever province but now I'm just for the Pan-Pakistani identity because it's easier, I wont have to choose between relatives do things lead to seperation, and besides Pashtun/Punjabi mixes are hotter and far more shagworthy than a pureblooded Punjabi or a pureblooded Pashtun.

The Pakistanis of NWFP have been marginalised and that always gets to me, "why is my beautiful Peshawar not as developed as my Isb?" I think if we care about NWFP we should provide the people with education, jobs, hospitals, facilities etc. a new name will not do any of us any good, just satisfy a few egos.

We should work towards the Urduisation of all of Pakistan, obviously it has to be in a planned, diplomatic and discrete way instead of open opposition which can just aggrevate the problem.

Ethnic/Caste divisions in Pakistan are a disease and all signs of them need to be eliminated.

NWFP needs a proper name but it should be something neutral like Khyber. Baluchistan needs a new non-ethnic name as well.

Another reason why I'm against the future independence of a Pashtunistan is it will be a landlocked country (unless Pashtuns migrate enmasse to southern/central Baluchistan as well and out number the Baluchs).

How’d you know I was Chakwali??? Anyways, Hindko and Chakwali are almost identical apparently..
I dont know about Shagability:) (I wish I did), but its always been my understanding that one of the reasons Pathans and others are so bitter is because they feel Islamabad is imposing the Urdu Language on them at the expense of Pashto… So I figure allowing them the right to teach students in Pashto would be somthing thats advantageous…
And just a question, but have you told Peshawaris that Islamabad is a planned city where only the rish can afford to live? And that parts of Rawalpindi is just as filthy as Peshawar? Or that if they wanted a cleaner city, they could do something about it themselves, like you know not littering…
And why does your cousin associate so much with his Pashtun ethnicity? Do you really think the people of the Area are turning against Pakistan?

I read it in one of your older posts, you're right Chakwali-Punjabi and Hindko are the same language.

"Hindko" and "Punjabi" are just names, they're actually dialects of the same language, even Urdu is a dialect of the same language and is a descendent-dialect of the dialects we refer to as Punjabi/Pothwari/Hindko, Urdu is just more urban/refined. There's probably less differences between different dialects of Punjabi and Urdu than there is between Peshawari Pukhtu and Kandahari Pashto.

As for your question, I guess yeah and no, on the bright side inter-provincial migration and marriages are on the rise which can only be a good thing.

The Pashtuns back home only really have exposure to Dari Afghans who they despise and see as very different from themselves, most of the village Pashtuns don't even know about the Durrand line issue or that we were once part of Afghanistan and even if they did I doubt most of them would fancy a country without even an airport but there are a small number of narcissist, secularist Pashtun nationalists who are disillusioned with Pakistan and are mindlessly propogating Pashtun nationalism over Pakistani nationalism (whereas a Punjabi will always put Pakistan first) and they're gaining more and more ears wanting to listen to their rubbish, except for the religious ones who are too mast in their mazhabi khumaar to care about whether the jahaan around them abhi bhi bas raha hai ke ujarr gaya hai.

In the West, it's silly ABCD Pashtun's trying to be cool and portraying a Central-Asian identity of themselves away from the Desi/South-Asian identity and they're impressed by the Afghan expats who speak Pashto and are actually not alien like the Panjsheri or Azara Dari speaking type ppl back home... It's hard for ppl like me because we feel torn between two sides..

I wonder if the Nationlist Pashtuns know how little they are liked in Afghianstan… I mean Talkis and Uzbeks have deep rooted hatred for Pashtuns…I have met Tajiks, and they dont hide their dislike… Go on YouTube and you should read some of the things these people say about Pathans (and about Pakistan for that matter). On the other hand, there is no one in Pakistan who carries such animosity for Pashtuns…

Pakistans tragedy is that you have a class of people who think genuiane injustices can be perceived by saying everyones a pakistani and by speaking the same language.

As I've always said, if the people of an area want to rename a place timbuktoo even, it is within their democratic right for them to do so, after all Attock and Faisalabad were renamed without any consultation or debate.

Keeping a province named after the North West of India says a lot about where the faujis and babus in Islamabad think the province should be!

Naam main kiya rakha hay... If people are happy with a name change, let it be... What did sheikhspeer said: "A rose is a rose..."

wth? impose punjabi culture on other ethncities?!?!? and you wonder why punjabuies arent respected in other provnices. belive me, imposing punjabi culture on other ethnicities will only promote more nationalism. seriosuly sh!i like that gets on my nerve, why should the pakistani dienity be a punjabi one!?!?!?!?!? dude, get off your high horse.

Most of these so called 'Pashtun natioanlists from pakistan on the internet' are no more than afghans (usually farsiwans) posing as pashtuns. If you want the true opinion of pakistani pashtuns about afghhanistan, go to anywhere in nwfp and ask them. people liek mr paki have never actually been to pakistan and base there opinion on what they read on the internet. Afghanistan needs a pasthun government, as they are the rightfull leaders of afganistan.
AND mr paki get it right, the culture of western and northern pakistan is ALOT different from punjabi culture, imposing punjabi culture WILL never work. You don't know how porud people are of there own culture, and lets say if folk music of the balti's was to be forcefully raplces by bhangra, you would see alot of reatilation. pakistan is full of diversity, even though they maybe differantied by language and culture, we all idenfitfy ourselves as pakistani. Imposing one culture would NEVER work.

trying to make one identity for all parts is plain rubbish. People ARE different - culture, ethnicity even race. If they want to call their place Pakthun so be it...who are Punjabis or anyone else to object to that? Keep objecting to these little things and it only makes for more strife!

ikarhoon I couldn't give a **** about Punjabiyyat, I just care for Pakistaniyat, except for lingo all Pakis have the same culture anyway, Urdu should be the lingo for all Pakis..

NWFP is not just the land of Pashtuns it is the land of all Pakistanis equally, even those residing in other provinces.

An ethnic name for the province will just encourage the type of thinking we had from the jaahil/uneducated goatherds of Baluchistan who didn't want Urdu speaking people and Punjabis to live and work in Gwadar because according to them it's "their" and they're afraid of being outnumbered.

I dont know about Shagability :)

Trust me, the only people in Pak who are well hott without being mixed are the people of Swat, other Pashtuns could do with some Punjabi/Urdu spice mixing into them and prettier features to neutralise their harsh features, and Sindhi/Urdu speaking people could do with fair complexion of Pashtuns to show their features off betterrr... :D

Like someone said in another thread Brazilians didn't get this hottt by being racially homogneous..

Majority support ‘Khyber’ as new name for NWFP

http://www.gulf-times.com/site/topics/article.asp?cu_no=2&item_no=132154&version=1&template_id=41&parent_id=23

sure man khyber has a cool ring to it too

They should finalize this.

Kyber rhymes with Cyber so I guess we should make that area our new High-Tech Hub lol :rotfl:

Seeing as how many Pathans associate themselves with Afghanistan, naming the province Afghania will sweep the rug from under their feet... If they insist on calling themselves Afghanis, then they can feel free to call themselves Afghanis belonging to the Pakistani province of Afghania...

Ive been saying this for so long, khyber is the BEST name ever...

Why Pakistani governement doesn't want to create more provinces?

Kyhber sounds good imo, as it doesnt leave out the various other ethncities that are in nwfp in substantial numbers(hazara's, upper swatis, chitralis(khowar) etc)