Nust

so all those eng. programmes make it a better school? and also dude the rankings are for 2000…not that it makes NUST any better but I personally believe they are better choices in pakiland than NUST.

*Originally posted by seeker: *

so all those eng. programmes make it a better school? and also dude the rankings are for 2000...not that it makes NUST any better but I personally believe they are better choices in pakiland than NUST.

btw, have a look at the 2001 rankings then... Im sorry they are not available online, but you can get hold of the July edition on Asiaweek 2001... You will be surprised to see that NUST has moved up in rankings, and places you mentioned, lums and fast, are not even there...

A variety of engineering programmes, as opposed to just bachelors in computer science is a big difference... FAST and LUMS used to be just 3 year colleges until an year or two back, and lums still operates on the quarter system as opposed to the international semester system. The only two colleges worth studying in Pakistan are NUST and the GIKi, and oh yes, I hope you heard about the worlds densent media DSP processor launched by a Pakistani company named Avaz Networks... Most students working on that project were NUST internees and graduates, and Dr. (Major) Shoiab Khan, the brains behind the processor was also a professor at NUST... This is truelly a big achievement, and these other small colleges you mentioned cannot accomplish such feats, especially with their money making schemes... NUST, being an instituition administered by the armed forces is cheaper, (monthly Rs. 5,000 for civilians, Rs.1,500 for Paying Cadets) whereas the tuition fee in other colleges is way higher, and beyond the reach of a middle class family. The Ministry of Sciences has backed the nation with a good scholarship and qarz-e-hasna programme, and in 2001, about 75% of the 500 students selected were from NUST, who prevailed in an academic test to compete for the award.

*Originally posted by Dhoop: *
my brother graduated last year from GIKI and this year he's studying
in KAIST.....until I saw your posting of the rankings spock I didn't know
that it was #1 in 99 (what is it now I wonder).....khair it has made me very happy......

Now GIKi is #2 in Pakistan... NUST is on top, and the only other tech college in the rankings is SZABIST, which is also a good tech school, primarily because of the good labs they have...

Well, technically yes, but who wore uniform? I mean I went there for two years, until I transferred abroad, but I rarely wore uniform. The reason why they have it is very logical. You are studying with army cadets (who go on and become part of the forces) and it does not look good if 10 people in a class wear army uniforms and the rest show up in burmuda (as if this ever stopped us from wearing colored clothes in the first place).

*Originally posted by Spock: *

btw, have a look at the 2001 rankings then... Im sorry they are not available online, but you can get hold of the July edition on Asiaweek 2001... You will be surprised to see that NUST has moved up in rankings, and places you mentioned, lums and fast, are not even there...

A variety of engineering programmes, as opposed to just bachelors in computer science is a big difference... FAST and LUMS used to be just 3 year colleges until an year or two back, and lums still operates on the quarter system as opposed to the international semester system. The only two colleges worth studying in Pakistan are NUST and the GIKi, and oh yes, I hope you heard about the worlds densent media DSP processor launched by a Pakistani company named Avaz Networks... Most students working on that project were NUST internees and graduates, and Dr. (Major) Shoiab Khan, the brains behind the processor was also a professor at NUST... This is truelly a big achievement, and these other small colleges you mentioned cannot accomplish such feats, especially with their money making schemes... NUST, being an instituition administered by the armed forces is cheaper, (monthly Rs. 5,000 for civilians, Rs.1,500 for Paying Cadets) whereas the tuition fee in other colleges is way higher, and beyond the reach of a middle class family. The Ministry of Sciences has backed the nation with a good scholarship and qarz-e-hasna programme, and in 2001, about 75% of the 500 students selected were from NUST, who prevailed in an academic test to compete for the award.

So again why did you transfer out of NUST to Michigan?

In case you didnt know, there is a sort of a twinning programme b/w the two universities... Most of the faculty of NUST was from MSU anywayz, and if you get a chance to go abroad and study on a scholarship, would you stay back? Most illogical reasoning...

It is ironic that you are talking about illogical reasoning....anyways my point was, if NUST is as good as you claim it to be..transferring to Michigan would have been a tough choice.

ahem, I never claimed its the best in the world einstien... I was talking about Pakistan... Its the best in Pakistan, can you read that or do I have to translate that?

Comparing colleges like FAST etc to places univs like Michigan is stupid though...

btw, students from NUST outclassed Indian inst. of tech students in the Robocon Competition in Japan a few weeks back, and thats a good achievement, proves my point... Has any student from your institutes made such a worldwide accomplishment? Ive given you three examples, World Densest Media Processor, Better Rankings from Asiaweek/CNN, Robocon, you give me something to back your claims...

ahem, I never claimed its the best in the world einstien... I was talking about Pakistan... Its the best in Pakistan, can you read that or do I have to translate that?

Did i ever quote you as saying that it is the best in the world?

Comparing colleges like FAST etc to places univs like Michigan is stupid though...

Why is that so? You still have not answered my question...hehehe...beti agar NUST itna acha tha tou Michigan kyun bhaag ke aa gaye hoo....

btw, students from NUST outclassed Indian inst. of tech students in the Robocon Competition in Japan a few weeks back, and thats a good achievement, proves my point... Has any student from your institutes made such a worldwide accomplishment? Ive given you three examples, World Densest Media Processor, Better Rankings from Asiaweek/CNN, Robocon, you give me something to back your claims...

NUST better than IIT's....:D...hey if that makes you feel good and better about your self then go ahead...I guess some people do need some boost in thier self-esteem....sorry to break it to you beti...but just because NUST won just one event does not make it better than IIT...NUST is a virtually unknown university when compared to GIK/LUMS etc and I know a few people there who are GIK rejects.

Did i ever quote you as saying that it is the best in the world?

Why is that so? You still have not answered my question...hehehe...beti agar NUST itna acha tha tou Michigan kyun bhaag ke aa gaye hoo....

NUST better than IIT's....:D...hey if that makes you feel good and better about your self then go ahead...I guess some people do need some boost in thier self-esteem....sorry to break it to you beti...but just because NUST won just one event does not make it better than IIT...NUST is a virtually unknown university when compared to GIK/LUMS etc and I know a few people there who are GIK rejects.

Ok, so how come they have performed better than the IIT in a robocon comeptition? You are turning the debate around to IIT now that you are out of words. I am not comparing it with the IIT anywayz. If NUST is unknown and so crappy, how come they are better in international rankings, and GIKI, in case you didnt know, they have 0 PHds in their computer science and engineering department, all they have now are lab assistants teaching. If you want, I can give you the email addy of a friend studying thier, who can tell you how good their faculty is. Did you know there were full strikes in GIKI by students who protested against the fact that they had no worthwhile teachers in their department? Now tell me beti jaan, does a good reputable institute have strikes like this? As for your idiotic question about the comparison b/w NUST and michigan, only an idiot like you would compare the two... There is a twinning programme b/w the two universities in case you didnt know (do you know what that means??) And they forward their top students to go and study abroad on scholarships to Michigan and Iowa State in case you didnt know. 2 years of your undergrad here, and 2 years abroad is the best combination you can get, and it gives you the best of both worlds.

In case you didnt know, some of the very state of the art courses, like neural networks, Digital Signal Processing,Verilog/VHDL, D. Image Processing etc are not even present in the engineering curricula of places like fast, giki...

As for the entrance tests, did you know that those at 400 at the merit test made it to the top disciplines in GIKi , whereas those at 150 at NUST were not offerred admission in any engineering programmes... Explains alot...

A few links with some more accomplishments… More to follow, if I get a chance to find 'em…

http://www.bci.edu.pk/bacsap/list.htm

Final Positions for IT Seminar

1st MCS NUST
2nd Hamdard University
3rd GIK institute

www.isb.sdnpk.org/news/Nov09.htm

Ok, so how come they have performed better than the IIT in a robocon comeptition? You are turning the debate around to IIT now that you are out of words. I am not comparing it with the IIT anywayz.

Ofcourse you cant compare it with IIT...they are in different leagues all togethar...

If NUST is unknown and so crappy, how come they are better in international rankings, and GIKI, in case you didnt know, they have 0 PHds in their computer science and engineering department, all they have now are lab assistants teaching. If you want, I can give you the email addy of a friend studying thier, who can tell you how good their faculty is. Did you know there were full strikes in GIKI by students who protested against the fact that they had no worthwhile teachers in their department? Now tell me beti jaan, does a good reputable institute have strikes like this? .

and would you mind telling how many PHD professors or students NUST has?

only an idiot like you would compare the two.

it looks like you still have not gained mental maturity...and mods you tolerate these comments on this forum??

... There is a twinning programme b/w the two universities in case you didnt know (do you know what that means??) And they forward their top students to go and study abroad on scholarships to Michigan and Iowa State in case you didnt know. 2 years of your undergrad here, and 2 years abroad is the best combination you can get, and it gives you the best of both worlds..

Even hamdard university sends it students to western michigan....

In case you didnt know, some of the very state of the art courses, like neural networks, Digital Signal Processing,Verilog/VHDL, D. Image Processing etc are not even present in the engineering curricula of places like fast, giki... .

maybe they are not...but they still produce the best darn engineers you will find....

As for the entrance tests, did you know that those at 400 at the merit test made it to the top disciplines in GIKi , whereas those at 150 at NUST were not offerred admission in any engineering programmes... Explains alot...

And how do you know all this?

That must have boosted your ego…

Ofcourse you cant compare it with IIT...they are in different leagues all togethar...

Is that why they failed to pick up a single award in that competition?

and would you mind telling how many PHD professors or students NUST has?

Check out their website, they have so many campuses, and the combined faculty strength is way more than you can ever dream of. Since I have studied in the ECE department in only one of their three comp/elect engr. colleges, there are 15+PHds alone in that department. One of them also includes my favourite teacher, Dr. Major Shoaib Ahmed Khan, the brains behind Avaz/Enabling Networks, phd from gatech, experience working in NASA for 2 years...

it looks like you still have not gained mental maturity...and mods you tolerate these comments on this forum??

Looks like you were one of those kids who didnt get selected hehe

Even hamdard university sends it students to western michigan....

Ok, but do they send them to Michigan State Univ, a top tier on their own expenses? NO... NUST and MSU have a split programme too. You are again wrong (as usual) hamdard does not send its students to this western michigan, the students apply on their own and get their credits transferred and trust me, most of them have to do their degree all over again anywayz. This is different to what I am talking about dude, as Hamdard does not pay for the students fee abroad. And to be honest, I consider Hamdard to be a better place than GIKi, atleast their course curriculum is better and matches an international university. Did you know that final year GIKi computer engineers have to take stupid subjects like Thermodynamics or fluid mechanics, only due to the lack of a good faculty. I dont blame them though, if they make a college in Topi, they will not have a viable faculty anywayz. Had they made it in a place like Islamabad, it would have been awesome.

maybe they are not...but they still produce the best darn engineers you will find....

LUMS and FAST producing engineeers? haha in case you didnt know, they were not even engineering colleges beti.... As for GIKi, I am sure they are doing a good job, with all those strikes going on. Do you know GIKi is now at the calliber of UET where strikes and student associations run wild? These political associations are something that destroys an instuition. At one time, I agree they produced excellent engineers, and some of them had the honor of going abroad and serving in top notch software firms. However, that was very long ago. Alot has changed since then. All of this started when Dr. Sohail was kicked out.

And how do you know all this?

I have spent alot of time in all three places, as I have friends in all these colleges.

Btw, so how come your engineering colleges, such as lums :) :) failed to produce engineers? Heh

You still have not explained why they are not even close to NUST in rankings...

You still have not given any significant facts to back your baseless argument.

That must have boosted your ego...

Must have hurt a raw nerve, can you counter facts? No... Some more stuff that will boil you up... Read parts in bold.

RAWALPINDI: Chief Executive General Pervez Musharraf on Tuesday impressed upon the NUST to enhance the pace and scope of its research and development work by launching special PhD programmes for speedy industrialisation and development of the country. He was presiding over a meeting of the board of governors of the National University of Sciences and Technology (NUST) here, which discussed its academic and administrative matters. Emphasising the importance of higher education in the field of science and technology, the chief executive assured the NUST of his full support towards developing the
institution into a centre of excellence, comparable to the international
standards.

Gen Musharraf commended the NUST for the success it has achieved at both national and international levels in the field of higher education in a short span of time. **He particularly appreciated Lt Gen (retd) Syed Shujaat Hussain, Rector NUST, **for his efforts to elevate the NUST to No 1 technical university in Pakistan and 20th in Asia. Minister for Science and Technology Prof Dr Atta-ur-Rehman, Secretary, Ministry of Science and Technology, Javed Masud, other federal secretaries and senior officers of the Services Headquarters were also present.

seeker, there can be only 2 reasons for your anti-NUST dogmatism. One, either your dont like Spock, second, you were rejected by NUST.
I think the later is more likely the case. Every year thousands apply to NUST and are refused. You have to score really well in entrance exam, as Spock explained above. As they say in Urdu "Angoor khattay hain". :D

*Originally posted by 5Abi: *
seeker, there can be only 2 reasons for your anti-NUST dogmatism. One, either your dont like Spock, second, you were rejected by NUST.
I think the later is more likely the case. Every year thousands apply to NUST and are refused. You have to score really well in entrance exam, as Spock explained above. As they say in Urdu "Angoor khattay hain". :D

5abi is right... The entrance test is a nightmare... There are so many applicants, and so little seats... This also shows that Pakistan has brilliant students who are willing to get the best education, but have to undergo severe competition. Like I said before, this year the merit lists have tightened even more, and even if youre on the 100th position out of the thousands of candidates, chances are, you will not get an admission or maybe get a second call after a long time into the lower merit disciplines. The same was true for GIKi at one time though, but then again, that was a while back, now if youre at merit no. 250, you can make it into the electronics eng. (the best discipline giki) offers.

As for LUMS, their admission criterea requires you to take SAT1 and SAT2s (ensuring more test money for the college board) and they clearly give more preference to alevel students, than students with the FSc degree. Even though I did Alevels, I am personally against such a selection criterea, as I know so many brilliant students who firstly, cannot afford to take these college board tests, cannot afford alevels, or simply cannot afford the high tuition fee and boarding charges of lums.

However, this does not mean a screening test is always the best solution. Even some brilliant students with 900+ marks in FSc find it hard to grab a good position occasionally.

Maybe they wanted to make their NUST counterparts feel good for a change.

Why dont you post the link here?

and where did i say LUMS and FAST were producing engineers?

lo jee aik aur ghalat fehmi…MSU kis angle sey top tier school lagta hai…Spock beti abb aik naya thread MSU pe kholo…hahaha

you seem to be hung up on the rankings…well using the rankings that you provided…
In student Selectivity NUST ranks lower than SZABIST and just ahead of GIK: People Inc. - America's Largest Digital & Print Publisher In faculty resorces NUST ranks lower than GIK: People Inc. - America's Largest Digital & Print Publisher
In Reserach NUST ranks lower than both GIK and SZABIST:People Inc. - America's Largest Digital & Print Publisher
For citations in international journals NUST again ranks lower than GIK: People Inc. - America's Largest Digital & Print Publisher

*Originally posted by 5Abi: *

5api remember...always speak when spoken to....
and as for me not liking spock, well who does?