I had some community aunties bring me yakhni (chicken broth) and tea for all of us as we stayed in the hospital for 4-5 days.. my baby as born in November so both of these things were great!
you probably also want to freeze some stuff for guests, my mom had made kabab and carrot halwa that she froze and served with tea, mithai, and cookies to the people who came to see the baby. yep we kept the same for everyone.. kabab, halwa, chai, mithai and cookies!
umm, you can freeze some yakhni in advance and then bhai can bring it to you in the hospital or warm it up for you since I believe you wont have any motherly help around.. right?
and a few dishes for first couple of weeks.. you wont have time to cook and if you end up with C.. it will be even harder!
I don't like readymade frozen parathas so I made mine at home from homemade ghee and froze them, easy to make on non stick tawwas.
I had made almost 3 weeks worth of khana with my first kid and it was a life saver.
I wish I had done the same with the second kid coz I ended up with a c-section.
Make sure you have fresh organic yakhni and ghee at home for healing those internal wounds. Childbirth is no joke.
Also what I did was remove meat from bones of chicken, and make portions and put them in ziploc bags, for fresh yakhni. Put all masala, onions and bones let it cook, sieve and drink.
Instead of bras buy nipple cream, breast pump, loose fitting nighties,
such awesome advise .. thanks so much ladies .. really really appreciate it .. I hadnt thought about the food preparation , but now inshallah will start doing the basics and freezing them ...
also , I keep hearing about the yakhni stuff .. i am gonna open a thread in household soon regards the Yakhni recipes , please can you guys share some good yakhni recipe , I do make it but I dont like the taste , perhaps with some help from here I might do it differently ..
Also , does the yakhni defreeze well? does it not clamp up?
Can you kindly tell me in what amount you take saunf and methi dana? is it rough grinded or powdered form?
i took 3tblsp of saunf n methi dana...grinded them roughly n was taking half teaspoon everyday
also oatmeal and masoor daal are best for milk production
While on the topic of milk production... i was given the totka of eating zeera, just plain old zeera, like a teaspoon full at a time (i'd take it with water so that it went down fast, and i swallowed it, no need to chew)
I also had a lot of sooji and panjeeri (apparently the white stuff in panjeeri called "makh'na" is useful in helping the milk come on)
is breast pump and nursing bra is neccessary ? should i buy disposable breast pads before or after delivery?
and from where i can get all these in khi?
Try Naheed’s or Mothercare. Breast pads before delivery and breast pump is not necessary. You can buy it later if you want to pump. Nursing bra helps you breastfed easily, it really is a God send.