not good

As I post a new thread to complain about the ad highlighting of random parts of the page with the annoying green double underline… Its actually gone and highlighted the “New Thread” part of “Post New Thread”.

Its aesthetically very ugly, often ends up highlighting absurd parts of the page and pointing to completely unrelated things (its pointing to www.shopping.com for new thread… presumably it thinks the thread in question is a colloquial term for a nice t-shirt)

I realise its tough making GS profitable, but really lets not compromise on the things that get people here in the first place. Part of that is the no nonsense, mature looking look and feel

It has actually highlighted blog entries now under my nick, and instead of taking me to my blog, on clicking it takes me to wherever the ad is. not cool.

Re: not good

for example…

it was rather funny/relevant in bizarro world in this instance, but still.

idhar aaao bhai jaani, tumhaaraa mooNh choom looN… :hug:

:-s AQ aap sai is tareh ki wahiyat batain expected nahi

awww GS ko bhi koi bemari ho gai:naak:

i get that you did not read my post in Cafe. http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=5861336

IMO ruins the whole board. Probably wont bother in the future, or very rarely visit. VERY ANNOYING.

^ yaaay.

Azkar I did not read that. you will try to limit to 4, i only noticed 2 per page, so I guess you must be limiting it already. didnt keep it from impacting user experience tho.

it would be merely annoying if it were over random parts of the text. it is actually hindering functionality if it makes links that should point to something (such as blog entries) point to something else (such as.. shopping.com?)

very rarely i've seen the thing point to "the free dictionary". more of that, less of "Post new thread" pointing to "dealmakers.com".

also inline URLs such as this can sometimes get covered by the ad thing. and even if not covered the inline URLs need to be better highlighted now that this has arrived.

A lot of forums have this and I always hated it because it's very distracting. And how many people would actually click on the link and actually go to the website and buy something? I'm surprised they even get enough hits to have advertisements on their page. But anyways, that's aside from the point. I don't think limiting it will make much of a difference. It's not that there are too many places where they've put inline ad links, it's just that they're annoying, period. (Sorry) =\

^ :k:

more aqalmandi from supposedly context ads.

how hard is it to get contextualized info for Obama? Based on what its doing I think its only suitable for the bazaar forum and some others (computers, gadgets, fashion), where pointing to random nouns (or phrases) and sending you to dealsinmillions.com might actually be useful. otherwise theres no sense (and like Phatima says, PPC value) in more serious forums where this thing is about as accurate as a drunk penguin.

any thoughts on this:

yes thats borderline ok. like i said, very rarely it will point to something like thefreedictionary or whatever this site is, but usually its sending people to shopping.com for Barack Obama or Post New Thread. also i cant be asked to make another screenshot but it is probably highlighting computers here from my previous post.. and takes you to seagate.com, which is fair.

i agree with others that this thing is annoying

dhobi bhai hai hai :smilestar:

namaaqool insaan… :smiley:

why did you put green line in there…we are not blind :mocking:

I want to thank Azkar bhai from the bottom of my heart for commercializing my nick:blush:… now that it is established that this green advertisement works, I urge all of you to use your mouse and highlight the whole thing - it’s called using your brains :snooty:

Say thanks to me now who made you guys use your brain - finally we can call it used brain.

gone. khush?

I was so happy:(, from 5Abi to ravage to dhobi_bhai .. everyone were taking my screen shots :blush:

laikin jaisaY aap kee marzi :smiley: