Not an Islamic Republic......What if?

Re: Not an Islamic Republic......What if?

If Hindus and Sikhs respect Islam in India, why don't they convert to Islam?? Islam is the only peaceful religion in the world. Marrying more than one wife is okay as long as you can support all of them and treat them equally. Just implementing sharia for only the Indian muslims doesn't mean India is truly secular. All India should follow sharia and ban idol worshipping- then and ONLY then India will be called secular.

Mashallah brother, jazakallah..

Thanks for determining:

1) Women's role in Pakistan.
2) Only male actors to perform in tv dramas/movies.. only male tv anchors/news readers.
3) Truest Islamic republic like SA. your personal sharia for everyone to be implemented by state by coercion.

Everything has been decided by my brother. No need for any further discussion. No need for this forum..

Chalo apnay apnay ghar jaoo.

What a wonderful reason to convert to Islam my brother. I am sure the incentive of keeping multiple wives will bring a lot of people to the folds of Islam. JazakAllah.

Re: Not an Islamic Republic…What if?

Hindus and Sikhs are taught to respect and accept other religions. However, just because one respects a religion, does not mean he believes in it too. I do agree with your point that implementing Sharia for Indian Muslims does not mean India is secular. On the contrary, India should not implement Sharia - wholly or partly. India is a secular country and not a Muslim country, and there should to be a uniform civil & criminal code for all citizens irrespective of their religion like it is in the USA.

Pakistan would not be particularly different. It may be an Islamic republic, but aside from legalising persecution of Ahmadis , hudood, and blasphemy laws (which both affect only a small, non-disruptive fraction of society), the government involves itself no more, and often less, in religion than most secular governments in Muslim countries.

For example, in most "secular" Muslim countries, including Turkey, the government has an agency which writes khutbas for friday prayers. In Pakistan, this does not take place.

If you look at Pakistan's history, religious leaders have never held the reins of power. Even the wave of Islamism under Zia would probably not have been avoided if Pakistan was officially secular - because the easiest, cheapest way to prop up anti-Communism in the 80s would have still been religious schools along the border. The spread of extremist ideology was in the hands of the private sector, not the government.

Pakistan would have still continued to have the same crippling problems that it has today. Mass corruption, a legacy of the culture of entitlement that pervaded our concept of rulership since the earliest era of the Mughals.