non traditional 'girls' party

Hey everyone,

my stubborn sister has decided to go for a completely non traditional mendhi. we arent even allowed to call it a mendhi. lol

No green, nothing ‘desi’ is permitted!! lol

so i dont knw how to deal with this. She has grown up listening to michael jackson, rap and detests anything bollywood. lol whereas i love the traditional mendhi style.

I will try and convince her to let me do 1-2 asian songs (thinking h-dhami sadke java and desi girl from dostana)

but need help on other song selections!!

do u have any party ideas or songs for my stubborn sister? Any help will be completely appreciated.
Thank you!

Instead of bollywood songs maybe you could have some bhangra type songs.

I recently went to a mehndi where two little kids did the Michael Jackson dance from Britain’s got Talent.

Its got the Michael Jackson aspect as well as the bhangra.

Re: non traditional ‘girls’ party

I am really stumpted for ideas with your request. It won’t be a mehndi if no henna or ubtan is allowed. It would just be a bridal shower or a bridal bash type party. Will your family and the groom’s family be okay with that?

Here are a few ideas:

• 80’s insired party
  • Chinese/Asian Themed party with rap

Colours:

• Red, Orange and blue

List Rap Songs for Weddings:

Baby Got Back - Sir Mix-A-Lot
Bust A Move - Young MC
California Love - 2 Pac Rap
Cyclone - Baby Bash w/T-Pain
Da Dip - Freak Nasty
Electric Slide - Grandmaster
Fantastic Voyage - Coolio
Fight For Your Right - Beastie Boys
Funky Cold Medina - Tone-Loc
Gold Digger - Kanye West
Hey Ya! - Outkast
In Da Club - 50 Cent
It Takes Two - Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock
Jump Around - House Of Pain
Low - Flo Rida
Mo Money Mo Problems - The Notorious B.I.G.
Push It - Salt-N-Pepa
Rapper’s Delight - Sugar Hill Gang
Right Thurr - Chingy
Stronger - Kanye West
The Humpty Dance - Digital Underground
Tootsee Roll - 69 Boyz
Umbrella - Rihanna w/Jay-Z
Who Am I (What’s My Name) - Snoop Doggy Dogg
Whatta Man - Salt-N-Pepa
Whoomp! There It Is - Tag Team
Wild Thing - Tone-Loc

BTW, gora people with a total non-desi background are attracted towards the desi style every now and then so, I think you sister should give the desi style a chance.

Naomi Campbell in a saree at a Mumbai Fashion Show

I really need to think about this.

Hi it's nice to have new and different ideas for wedding but jo apne culture ka maza hai wo kissi or mein nahi... well its up to ur sis but she should have atleast one mehendi function with desi style...:D

Re: non traditional 'girls' party

If she doesn't want a mehndi, I would respect that.

My friend who got married last year didn't want one either. She had a black and white party. Everyone was asked to wear black and white. She wore red. Most people were in dresses, some saris, some shalwar kamizes. It was women-only, so people who would not otherwise had a lot of fun dressing up.

There were various games and things, and a sit-down dinner. No music.

I definitely missed the feel of a mehndi, but it wasn't her style and it wasn't what she wanted, and I don't think it would've been fair to impose that on her. There are so many other opportunities to attend the traditional stuff. If someone wants to be different, let her.