Please don’t consider it as a criticism against anyone. It is just a general confusion, and I myself also make such mistakes a lot of times. Please teach me and correct me where my understanding is wrong.
Of course Allah (swt) doesn’t give temporary memberships for joining Islam, so that one may take some ‘time out’ from Islam, do/say whatever his heart wishes and then join again. ***La Ilaha Ill Allah Muhammadur Rasool Allah ***is a permanent oath of never (even for a second) having any perspective that is in contrast to/against the ways/words of Quran & the Prophet (saw).
I too being a human probably make more mistakes/sins than most of the people here, but saying it intentionally; "lets keep Islam (Allah’s & Prophet Muhammad’s perspective) aside and deal with/consider this matter of life & relationship…in light of what ?! Yes logic & reasoning is good, and Islam is a complete ‘way of life’ that has Allah’s & the Prophet’s words full of wisdom, logic & reasoning. For a Muslim, keeping it aside means shutting down the main Power House, and then searching in a dark desert/jungle for something in the light of a tiny little torch.
If an atheist says this, then he is justified but “Muslim” means the one who submits to Allah’s will. Wouldn’t it sound like an oxymoron if I say “I am a Muslim (Full time submitter to Allah’s will), but lets just keep Allah’s will aside in this discussion ?”
Re: Non-religious perspectives of Muslims about life & relationships
^ Logical points. JazakAllah khair for sharing. would like to know more perspectives from other members also.
I wish we have such a positive approach most of the times. The moment I (being a Muslim) start justifying a perspective that is not supported by Quran & Hadith, just because I myself feel like practicing it, the problem starts there.
^ Well said. I am guilty of at times behaving in such a manner. May Allah (swt) forgive me and guide me to the right path. If I don't accept my mistake, Allah (swt) would not guide me, because Allah dislikes people with ego, who don't show humbleness in front of HIS orders.
The Problem is that the non-Muslims listen less to our words of preaching and observe more what we actually practice.
Really, I have heard this opinion of non-Muslims a number of times, "I want to become a Muslim that is presented is your Quran and in your prophet's lifestyle, but don't see a difference between me and the Muslims I see around in real life."
Brother Psyah, the following message is for you if you are reading:
I love you for the love of Allah (swt) and am really inspired by the immense patience that Allah (swt) has blessed you with (Masha'Allah). Allah (swt) would inshaAllah reward you for all the difficulties that you calmly face everyday.
Yet you forget that belief is almost always a product of social conditioning. Unless you converted as an adult, free of the influence of your parents and family, you can’t say that your belief is your own. It may be true, and valid, but you can’t rule out that you weren’t influenced into a religion.
If an atheist says this, then he is justified but "Muslim" means the one who submits to Allah's will. Wouldn't it sound like an oxymoron if I say "I am a Muslim (Full time submitter to Allah's will), but lets just keep Allah's will aside in this discussion ?"
Your comment is valid. However, like I said to Nomi, people are socially conditioned. Some people may have been raised into a certain type of Islam. Some people may not have been religious at all.
I'm not saying it's right or wrong, and I certainly don't mean to offend anyone, but you ask this question with the assumption that the Quran is correct and that it is indeed the word of God. A Christian would say the same of the Bible, a Jew the Torah, and so on.
Brother Psyah, the following message is for you if you are reading:
I love you for the love of Allah (swt) and am really inspired by the immense patience that Allah (swt) has blessed you with (Masha'Allah). Allah (swt) would inshaAllah reward you for all the difficulties that you calmly face everyday.
what do you mean "difficulty that you face everyday"?
Please don't consider it as a criticism against anyone. It is just a general confusion, and I myself also make such mistakes a lot of times. Please teach me and correct me where my understanding is wrong.
Of course Allah (swt) doesn't give temporary memberships for joining Islam, so that one may take some 'time out' from Islam, do/say whatever his heart wishes and then join again. **La Ilaha Ill Allah Muhammadur Rasool Allah **is a permanent oath of never (even for a second) having any perspective that is in contrast to/against the ways/words of Quran & the Prophet (saw).
I too being a human probably make more mistakes/sins than most of the people here, but saying it intentionally; "lets keep Islam (Allah's & Prophet Muhammad's perspective) aside and deal with/consider this matter of life & relationship...in light of what ?! Yes logic & reasoning is good, and Islam is a complete 'way of life' that has Allah's & the Prophet's words full of wisdom, logic & reasoning. For a Muslim, keeping it aside means shutting down the main Power House, and then searching in a dark desert/jungle for something in the light of a tiny little torch.
If an atheist says this, then he is justified but "Muslim" means the one who submits to Allah's will. Wouldn't it sound like an oxymoron if I say "I am a Muslim (Full time submitter to Allah's will), but lets just keep Allah's will aside in this discussion ?"
^ JazakAllah khair.
@ Ghost14. Good point brother, makes sense. :) The intention was to ask this question from Muslims basically, but can be applicable to all other religions. I am sure you would agree that one isn't being religious or non-religious. One is either 'less practicing' or 'more practicing'. Everyone wishes to join the later category. No one wants to say "I am a less practicing Muslim". The more one tries the more one reaches closer to being a 'practicing' Muslim/Christian/Jew...etc.
It is more important to treat fellow human beings of all stripes with dignity, fairness, kindness, cordiality and decency than follow any holy book to the letter without consideration of the above.
^ As I understand from your past post, you are not a Muslim (Please correct me if I am wrong). So, your point makes sense based on your own belief system. It won't for Muslims because for them Islam is " A complete way of Life" that already has in it everything that you mentioned above. In fact, a lot more than that (From a Muslim's perspective)
A Muslim won't compare those qualities with following Holy Quran. The Quran actually guides them to achieve all those qualities that you mentioned above.