Do you all see it as haram to play in a Holi celebration or wear a bindhi with my non Muslim friends when I attend a desi event with them just to blend in with them? I don’t see the event as anything religious except a way of having fun with friends even if it might be for them.
Holi is as religious as basant.
Re: Non Mulsim decorations or rituals
I don’t know what basant is but holi was just people throwing colorful powder at each other so there was no religious aspect there.
everything is as religious as you want to make it. in my books, if holi color touches you, you have turned hindu. :\ mubarak ho.
Rofl. Ayyeee
What’s the significance of a bndhi or Holi? I initially thought a bindhi was just an accessory like a ring or mendhi and holi was just a seasonal thing for spring starting. I feel horrible now.
Why do you feel horrible?
Is any of what i’ve done unIslamic?
No
Pakistanis don’t celebrate holi.
No
I’ve always wondered…with all that powder blowing around…does anyone end up getting it in their eyes? or breathing it in? I wonder if it’s toxic…
Yes
and the issue is quiet serious but your reaction is positive, very positive
Allah Subhanahu wa Ta’ala has given you a lifeline, SubhanAllah, for it you have questioned whether it was right or wrong so Ask Allah Subhanahu wa Ta’ala for Forgiveness and Guidance
Like I said the issues involved are very serious but do not freak out - use it as an opportunity to get Closer to Allah Subhanahu wa Ta’ala
The Scholars of the past on resembling and imitating the disbelievers [Christmas] - Seekers Path
[Q-ID0148] Can Muslims celebrate Christmas? - Seekers Path](http://www.seekerspath.co.uk/question-bank/belief-aqaaid/q-id0148-muslims-celebrating-christmas/)
[Q-ID0136] The ruling on saying ‘Merry Christmas’ or ‘Shub Diwali’ - Seekers Path](http://www.seekerspath.co.uk/question-bank/belief-aqaaid/q-id0136-saying-happy-merry-christmas/)
Dont know about Islamic or UnIslamic but I would avoid doing any activity about which I have a doubt it being Unislamic.
Assalam o Alaikum
**It was narrated that ‘Abd-Allaah ibn ‘Umar said: The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Whoever imitates a people is one of them.” Narrated by Abu Dawood, 3512; classed as saheeh by al-Albaani in ***Irwa’ al-Ghaleel, 2691.
*it just came in my mind after reading your question. Allah knows best..and just understand it in the light of this hadith and inshaAllah you will find answer..and whatever is done in past without knowledge is inshaAllah will be forgiven by the most forgiving Allah subhanwa ta’alla may Allah pak forgive all of us and guide us and grant us true understanding of deen and amal ameen
My brothers and I celebrated christmas for years. Both of them are devout muslims. While I am quite non-religious.
Don’t think celebrating christmas influenced any of us in any direction. All it provided, was good childhood memories.
Holi symbolises the defeat of good over evil when an evil king tried to burn his son to death because he continued to worship the God vishnu. The king made his son sit on the lap of his aunt holika who had a fireproof cloak. She burnt to death while the son didn’t. That’s why there’s a bonfire the day before holi. //Things I learnt from my urdu teacher
So… It is definitely a religious event. Use the information as per your taste.
I have never allowed anyone to put the tilak on me especially during holi. I was feeling particularly sensitive at the time because some people were shocked to find out that I’m muslim which I found horrific so I decided to stay away (I’m a conservative dresser so I wasn’t expecting that). Clean white clothes throughout the whole thing.
I would like to know more about this particular hadees.
Can you please provide background/context?
What were the circumstances?
Peace GlobalGal,
The above hadith and the earlier quoted hadith by a member with slightly different of wording is classified by some scholars as "weak [Da’aif] and by some other scholars as “Sahih [authentic]”. However, if we analyze related verses from the Holy Qur’an and some other hadith in light of the interpretation of scholars then we’ll came to know that we are actually forbidden to imitate with other then Muslims, especially the Jews and Christians.
It is further explained that the prohibition apply on their religious and things which are unique (different from others) and by which they are known. For example: If we talk about “holi”, immediately we’ll know about whom this affairs is related to.
We all very well aware from that “the religion which is accepted for us is the Islam”, so we must try to do, follow or join those who can bring us closer to the Almighty Allah and to the teaching of HIS Messenger Muhammad
Hope I’m able to answer your query. Almighty Allah knows best.
pal globe gal, i have a question. you didnt strike me as being particularly religiously observant - you’ve posted your pic - you use make up, jewelry, no hijab, work in a mixed environment etc. why so worried about this suddenly? if you dont make it to heaven, it will most likely be because you posted that pic, not holi. :\