Why is the west so much interested in human rights abuses and democracy in China? Why not talk about those in Middle Eastern countries where they have greater influence? At one time in 1990s a report said there are 10,000 Saudi youth in prisons who were supposedly ‘democracy’ advocates.
Ma Zhaoxu, a spokesman for China’s foreign ministry, said the award is supposed to be given to those who “promote national harmony, international friendship” and work toward peace.
Liu is serving an 11-year prison term after being sentenced in 2009 for inciting subversion of state power. He is the co-author of Charter 08, a call for political reform and human rights, and was an adviser to the student protesters at Tiananmen Square in 1989…
…“Awarding the Peace Prize to him is the international community’s recognition of the increasing voices among the Chinese people in pushing China towards political, legal and constitutional reforms,” said the Dalai Lama, who won the prize in 1989. "I believe in the years ahead, future generations of Chinese will be able to enjoy the fruits of the efforts that the current Chinese citizens are making towards responsible governance…
What BS… With USA as a leading polluter of the world with the most irresponsible financial system in place, why lecture China on ‘responsible governance’?
Europe uses Nobel prize only to make political statements. This prize is a mockery.
They gave prize to East Timor activists to pressure Indonesia to allow independence. They gave prize to Sheerin Ebadi of Iran to pressure their government.
They gave it to Obama even though he had done absolutely nothing.
And now China.
Europe uses Nobel prize only to make political statements. This prize is a mockery.
They gave prize to East Timor activists to pressure Indonesia to allow independence. They gave prize to Sheerin Ebadi of Iran to pressure their government.
They gave it to Obama even though he had done absolutely nothing.
And now China.
This is correct the US and Europeans use the nobel peace prize as one of its tools to pressure countries that do not listen to their way. You can see same problem when they use the UN, for example when Israel violates 1000 human rights where is the US they only use these tools for their own benefit!|
funny to see people objecting to very concept of nobel prize because in this case it exposes China in its glorious bad light. Do any of you have anything to say about China putting this guy in prison ...all he did was assert his rights as a human being.
You miss the point completely, nobody is claiming china is paradise on earth or it respect all human rights obviously putting a person in prison for expressing views is wrong. But we can see clearly the bigger picture where western nations use issues like nobel peace prize as a tool to pressure countries it in conflict with i.e iran, china etc!
The political system in Saudi Arabia is not very different from China. Ever heard of a word of praise for Saudi dissidents?
Not the Chinese have a great record on human rights, but China being singled out over the last decade is a little crazy. All hell broke loose when China surpassed USA in terms of Carbon emissions in 2007 but not a word for decades when USA was the leading polluter of the world!
this prize has degenerated into a tool for the hypocritical west. first Obama and now this chinese? what are the criteria? kakaballi has rightly pointed out how the americans condone their suadi friends. no wonder Allah revealed surah munafiqeen. the world is kaputt!
What has the peace prize recipient done for world peace?
democracy is good for ANY country because any country is made of people and democracy is the surest way to ensure government is by for and of the people.
In any other system one (monarchy, dictatorship) or a very few people grab all the power and most of the population has no rights.
This is a well known and easy concept to understand, so nobody has to decide. The Chinese people are totally slaves and any dissidence is dealt with with sledgehammer. They are treated as and expected behave as slaves or even worse, as animals in captivity.
This prize winner had the guts to stand up to such a regime and in the process has kept the flickering flame of hope amongst people.
well the current system works for the chinese, so let them be. the economy is progressing. aur kya chahiyeh? tang zaroor arani hai?
phupi hai america sab ki?
^ what makes you think the current system 'works' for chinese? do you have any idea of the suppression going on there? do you have any clue how everybody is spying on their neighbor? do you know anything about conditions in which tens of millions of workers are working to produce products for walmart 10c cheaper? do you know how many thousands of so called 'factories' exist where people are working in conditions that civilized people won't put their cattle in?
don't be misled by the outer show the chinese government puts up. as bad as Pakistan is, the chines are living in worse circumstances. All you see is pictures from 10 cities
The Chinese people are totally slaves
Let me tell you here that you are not posting in JOKES section.
These Chinese "slaves" are taking over the world. Run for your life by declaring Noble prize for Chinese dissidents.
any dissidence is dealt with with sledgehammer
In Europe it is a CRIME to deny or raise doubts about holocaust. Sledgehammer.
democracy is good for ANY country because any country is made of people and democracy is the surest way to ensure government is by for and of the people.
"For the people and by the people". Good. Then let the PEOPLE of CHINA decide what is good for them.
BTW Farook bhai, if democracy is so good (and I agree) then why do Americans and Europeans support dictators in the Middle East? People like Husni Mubarak, and Saudi and Jordanian monarchies?
And do you know WHO imposed Shah on Iran by toppling a democratically elected government of Mosaddagh?