No means no...

How do you decline a Rishta…other than the obvious answer which is just to say NO!? (what are some excuses you could use)

Also…if you have declined a Rishta nicely…but the guy/ guy’s family keeps insisting that no it will work…etc etc…how do you get into their minds your not interested in taking this any further…(there are friends of a family friend…so we don’t want to seem rude)

Re: No means no...

Send anonymous letters written in a style similar to the Zodiac Killer.

IF you are not interested just say NO nicely and give a reason. If they continue you to chase you, just ignore them. They will soon get the message.Simple:@:

Umm its hard to get them to be non-interested. Make dua, that would help!

After saying no. Don't open the door, don't answer the phone.

If they still do, pick up the phone, and say " Pitzza Hud, may I teyk yer aarder?"

or make funny voices like you have bad case of asthma! ;-)

lol.

ure still studying, shadi nahi kar ni , koi aur mil gaya etc

say yes... then just don't show up on the wedding day... problem solved...

Another way of saying "NO" can be:

"I personally feel that we're not mutually compatible. Nevertheless it was nice meeting you and I wish you all the best in finding a suitable partner."

If they insist and tell you that "No it will work"..............then tell them nicely.......

"MUTUAL interest and reciprocation would be required for any rishta to work and I'm sorry but this is not the case here. My answer will not change. And I do not want to waste your time. Nor do I want to lead you on. Everyone deserves a partner who returns their feelings. And inshaAllah you will find the right person in the near future."

AND THAT'S IT.

********* If the guy e-mails you.........don't respond back. Don't return his persistent phone calls. Getting back to him and his family can be misconstrued as "interest" by them. If you stop responding to them, they'll eventually get the message that you're not interested and they'll back off.

Another suggestion: Have your parents nicely explain to your family friends that while they appreciate their help in suggesting the rishta...........they feel that the match is not compatible. Tell the family friends that you've told them clearly that this is not going to work out, but they're being persistent. Perhaps your family friends can help convey the message to the guy and his parents that you're not interested.

Thanks for all the suggestions guys!! (Even the ones that aren't possible to do...because its always good to have a laugh!!!).. It just makes me feel more at ease knowing that what i'm doing isn't so rude :P The thing that scared me was like man these ppl seem so desperate to get this guy married... so there maybe something wrong with him...why are they in such a rush to tie the knot???...I'm not "that" great :P

Redvelvet...I totally agree with you...there has to be MUTUAL interest...or its not fair to either party!! (so what if he's loaded...you gotta feel some kind of chemistry...)

And yea I will make dua for the both of us....hopefully he to will eventually find the right person......

I guess for such kind of people who cant take no for a NO! just tell them you people have selected some one else and its confirmed! from that point they will not hassle you anymore.

If they call again pickup the phone and repeat this line

characters :
who's rishta you are trying to refuse = A
an imaginary guy = B

"hi janu B, kub sai KAAAL nahee kee tum nai. I have been waiting so desperately aur uss manhoos A k parents bar bar rishtey k leyee aa rahey hain aab unheen kasiey bataoon k main tum sai ... (sentence left incomplete for a reason)"

they will never kaaal again.

PS: on serious note, NO should do. tell your parents you are not interested at all and tell you parents a valid reason (do you have one?). Leave it to your parents to deal with the dheet guy's family :)

wow, i am glad i came across this thread, i'm going thru the same thing.

Malika, it isnt rude at all to say "This is a very nice guy. One who will make a very nice husband for the right girl and I surely wish that for him. As nice as he is, he is not the right guy for me so I will pray that he finds the exact right person for him as I seek the exact right person for myself".

I'm sure that the family and the guy himself will be thankful for your honesty.

lol decent that is too funny!!
Chica- Please let me know how you handled the situation.

And yes my parents are going to call the family friends today.. and tell them to help convey the message...Inshallah that will work and if not..then my mom said to tell them that we did Istikharah and it just seems that it won't work out :P

Mamaof...your right honesty is the best policy, and if that doesn't work..well then I guess I will just have to change my #!! lol

the istikara thing is oft the best excuse.

^ yeah so good, i've heard it being used to break up right before the wedding, after baat pakki and shopping etc is done.

I wouldn't use istikhara-wasn't-right as an excuse..unless of course it's the truth.

I would simply say:

Hum dono ki jori achi nahin hai ek doosre ke liye.

Bas, qissa khatam.

^yea kundali match nahi hoii. lol

"Aunty huzoor, mai aapkay betay kay bachay ki maa nahee ban saktee"