No interest in dua

I was reading an incident in which a person told a scholar that he doesn’t feel interested in making dua (praying for blessings). The scholar replied," It is because we don’t possess the ability to immediately sense the effect of our dua. If the moment we raise our hands, sound of coins falling in our hands could be heard, our interest in dua would have increased many folds. BUT we don’t realize that the moment we humbly raise our hands in front of Allah (swt), HIS special mercy and love is directed towards us, which in itself is infinite times greater blessing than what we are praying for. Just like a beggar who knows the value of dollars but doesn’t know the value of diamonds becomes upset if he receives diamonds instead of 5 dollars which he considers to be more valuable than mountains of diamonds.

Our raising hands in front of Allah (swt) is because of HIS blessings upon us that HE gave us “Taufeeq” to be able to remember Allah (swt) and seek HIS mercy, because not all people are blessed with this great blessing in life. Money, car, and worldly materialistic things have no worth in front of the “ability to humbly Pray” in front of Allah (swt) with tears of repentance, which can only be achieved by the grace and mercy of Allah (swt) and sincere wish for it.

Re: No interest in dua

Very nice post!!

JazakAllah khair sister for the kind words of encouragement.

I remembered a scholar mentioned that there are many reasons for a dua to not meet. Sometimes Allah (swt) does not accept that dua and in place of that removes a harsh difficulty (accident, injury....etc.) which was written for us in near future. Sometimes Allah (Swt) don't give us in this world so that he collects our duas and reward us even greater blessings in the life hereafter. A person after seeing mountains of golds and other blessings in the life hereafter would ask Allah that he was not that pious person to deserve all this. Allah (swt) would tell him that these are the duas that were not met in the world. At this everyone would wish that there duas hadn't met in this world so that he may be infinitely rewarded in the life hereafter.

One more interesting aspect is that at times Allah (swt) immediately gives to people who are disobedient because due to their intense sins (without repentance), their raising of hands in front of Allah is not a good sight in front of Allah. But Allah at times doesn't immediately give to a very pious person who is begging for worldly things, because Allah (Swt) loves him siting in that position with tears in his eyes, if Allah (swt) gives him immediately then he might not sit in that humble manner in front of Allah swt and get busy with worldly matters, so Allah (swt) delay the acceptance of dua a bit to increase his rewards due to patience he shows on that delay.

I heard all this from scholars, may Allah forgive me wherever I am wrong.

Very nice...

and yeah i have read somewhere that....hamari jo jo Duae is duniya mai qabool nahi hoti hume unka Ajar akhrat mai mile ga...

JazakAllah for this post.....i'm sure most people have come across these feelings at some point in their lives.

There have been times when i have felt that i have no right to ask Allah for anything because i am too sinful. I know this is completely wrong but its just the way that i have felt. Again i guess it goes back to our weakness of faith that we cannot comprehend his infinite mercy. SubhanAllah.

here is big news for you..duas dont really work.

experience will tell you that. when we ask for something and that thing happens, we think dua has worked. when it does not, we say "well God will do it later". If God kept fulfilling everybody's dua, this world would be a much better and prosperous place.

^ dont say this...because we dont know what is good or bad for us...and ofcours ALLAH will do something Good for us..thats why what we are asking may be it not good for us.

You know the saying, "Be careful what you wish for....cuz you just might get it."
We don't always know what's best for us. We might be asking for something that in the long run is not in our best interest. There have been times where we wanted something really bad.....only to later find out that it was harmful for us.

And if Allah gave ALL of us whatever we wanted whenever we wanted......this life would not be much of a test. And we are reminded in the Quran that life is a test. Allah could make all the poor wealthy.....but then how would the wealthy be tested for all that they have? He wants to see if they share their wealth with those who are less fortunate. Also, Allah has created differences to encourage reflection. When you look at someone less fortunate than....it's a test to see not only how you can help...but also how grateful you are for what you have been given.

There have been times where I've asked for things (with very little possibility of coming true) that have come true with hardly any effort from myself besides prayer. Allah answers our prayers in various ways.

Brother, let us repent our mistakes and seek forgiveness from Allah (swt). Giving such a comment wouldn't help us gain many blessings from the divine nature.

Let us humbly regret making such statements. Allah (Swt) doesn't appreciate anything that indicates even a minor arrogance, we all know what happened to devil after he made an arrogant statement.

May be I misunderstood your intentions behind these words, in that case kindly forgive me. BUT we need to be careful when we talk about GOD.