Desi people have this habit of ‘no ice’ policy in restaurants when they order something to drink. The majority of them either have very sensitive teeth or are still stuck in the no-refill mindset and thus don’t want the seller getting away with putting a lot of ice and little bit of the actual drink. Anyway, I found out from reliable sources that drinking a cold beverage with low calories is better than drinking a hot one with same amount of calories. Because the body will burn a lot more calories in bringing the drink up to body temperature before digesting it. And in some cases it may actually use more calories than the drink itself thus getting a negative calorie yield.
I don’t know how much of this negative calorie theory is true but I have also heard the same about celery.
I donno what type of people you hang out. No ice so they get more drink first time around and don't have to get refill? :o Thats extremely ummm stingy? Sensitive teeth bit is obviously understandable.
At my univ, one of the cafe's they used to literally fill up the soda glasses with 3/4th ice and 1/4th soda, and you can imagine how bland that must've tasted. Needless to say i started requesting "less" ice from there onwards.
Leave it a desi to turn a simple preference like ‘no ice or easy on ice’ to a behavioral issue of stinginess. Oh bhai, mera drink hay… diet piooN, ice piyooN yaa microwave garam piyooN… aap ko kya hay jee.
Sarah, if you read my reply again you’d see what i said about A LOT of ice with a small amouth of drink. By stingy i meant, that what’s the point of getting soda which is going to taste warm or slightly cool with absolutely no ice? IMO, soda tastes best when it’s cold.
aJ - i can’t remember the last time i had iced tea so I donno about that but i’ll take ur word for it.
fungu - yep spoken like a true desi. Hope you enjoy ur microwaved soda :k:
I agree with funguy..who cares if someone wants it with ice or without it…there can be many reasons for not wanting ice…i personally don’t like too much ice in my drink…mostly becuz i get sick and my tonsills hurt
hey, I just had ice tea yesterday and ordered it without any ice. I just don’t like my drinks watered down, especially since I take forever finishing one. And you don’t know where that ice came from As for the calorie bit, order a diet soda. Sehar babes, the drinks can still be cold without the ice, yes?
Think about it from the cafe owners point of view.......... the more cheap ice they put in, the less drink they'll serve and therefore have a higher profit margin for that particular glass.
I dont like too much ice because it dilutes the flavour of the drink.
i feel so backward rite now, neva thot so many considerationz r involved in havin a drink
4 m it’s just eat n drink wat eva u like howeva u like s per ur mood swing
whether it’s garmaaaaaaaaa garam frothe’ or thanda thaaaaaaaaaaar Strawberry Margaritha