KARACHI: Former Pakistan Football team skipper Ali Nawaz criticised Sports Ministry for omitting football discipline from the Pakistani contingent that would participate in the Asian Games to be held in China in November.
“It is a matter of deep concern that a game such as football has been impeded from participation in a competition like Asian Games.“Such incidents would completely distroy even the minor chances of Pakistan making a strong side ever in the world’s most popular sports,” Ali Nawaz told PPI.
He said that expecting a medal from sportsmen while not furnishing them with proper infrastructure is great injustice.“It is big joke that the sports ministry camouflaging its own shortcomings by saying that they would sent sportsmen from that discipline only where expectations are high of winning medals. They could make such a demand only when they have furnished federations and sportsmen with proper infrastructure and funds,” Ali added.
He further said that soon no sports would come in the radar of such expectations of the ministry and eventually no Pakistani sportsmen would be competing in international events.
“No foreign teams are ready to come to Pakistan and when our players got a chance to play in an international competition like Asian Games, they are denied of availing that chance.
“Soon no one would have interest to become a national player as the national side does not even participate in a major tournaments,” he explained.
its a double edged sword, providing exposure to players versus blowing money at something which simply is not ready. I feel for the team though, they do need proper infrastructure and pipeline and support, but the fact is that they dont.
In these conditions is there any merit to make a call on where to focus limited budgets for regional tournaments, I can see the logic. I dont like it but can see the rationale.
the focus should be on developing the infrasctructure regardless so these type of decisions are avoided.
PFF seek help from Sports Ministry over Asian Games football snub by POA
Written by Ali Ahsan
Tuesday, 20 July 2010
KARACHI: Football authorities in the country will write a letter to the federal sports minister on Monday (today) to seek for his help to include football in the Asian Games slated to be held in China in November.
“We will request the federal sports minister through a letter which we are sending to him today that Pakistan had performed well in the previous Asian Games in Doha and keeping in view the past performance of the side it should be given a chance in the China Asian Games also,” the secretary of the Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) Col Ahmed Yar Khan Lodhi told ‘The News’.
He said that Chief de Mission of the previous Asian Games had also lauded the brilliant effort of the Pakistani footballers and therefore the discipline should have been included in the coming competitions.
“We will not keep silent and will strive our level best to convince the government to reconsider its decision of omitting football from the list of disciplines finalised for the Asian Games,” Lodhi said.
Pakistan had given tough time to the teams like Japan, North Korea and Syria during the Doha Asian Games held in December 2006. The government should have included in the list for the Asian Games those disciplines in which the country have medal winning chance and those in which the country have bright future, said the PFF official.
You know what guys, I went to the website of federal ministry of sports. And in the search field at top right of page I entered "PFF", to see what ministry's take is on this matter.
Guess what, I received an error message: "You do not have permission to search collections. Contact your System Administrator."
lol. If a visitor does not have permission to search then what the heck is that search field doing on the website?! :D
You know what guys, I went to the website of federal ministry of sports. And in the search field at top right of page I entered "PFF", to see what ministry's take is on this matter.
Guess what, I received an error message: "You do not have permission to search collections. Contact your System Administrator."
lol. If a visitor does not have permission to search then what the heck is that search field doing on the website?! :D
wah Jakhrani sahab wah.
oye badttameez ..peechay hatt.. hum nay apni site par search function awaam kay liye free fund mein lagay ahua hai kya? aa jatay hain kahan kahan say uth kar search function use karnay...chal hatt yahan say, balkay humari ministry site par dobarah log in karany ki koshish ki toh tumhari tangain torr di jayen gi, samjhtay kya ho apnay aap ko...
understand the 2006 team, how many of those players are still on and are still in their prime, and how has the quality been on the new crop coming through? I dont know so am asking.
Is it the stifling of talent case? Football is far more popular in Sindh and Balouchistan than other parts of Pakistan. The home of Pakistan football should be in Lyari or Quetta. But this is not the case.
I agree there are some fittest soccer player there.
I tried to find the team of 2006 so that comparison could be made with the current team, but couldn’t find it. Wikipedia (who else?) says that Pakistan had started improving since 2004 because PFF was getting Pakistan-origin foreigners to play for Pakistan. This may be the cause of good performance Pakistan showed at that time.
Our performance in 2008 SAFF was very bad. So now it is hard to say what to expect from this team.