No dupatta....

Re: No dupatta....

thank god they got rid of dupatta, living here in the us, it doesn't really go with the outfit and is much of a hassle unless your are praying namaz.. about time fashion woke up!

im one of those who puts it to the side and wears it like a rope :D why? because I don't feel comfortable without it or with it :p

also so many dresses have nice galas/designs on the top....whats the point on spending money on having kaam on it if its going to be covered up?

i saw this too in islamabad and actually the ones i saw looked pretty good. but they wore tights or chorri daars with long , loose shirt.

Re: No dupatta…

you go girl :lifey:

:hmmm:

its not about in or out in fashion...
its about ur faith and imaan and if a women call herself a Muslim so she shoud remember that our faith is PARDAH....

or waise bhi khubsurat cheez humesha dhaki or chuphi hui achi lagti hy or Allah ne to hum womens ko banaya hi bht khubsurat hy so we shoud hit our khubsurati.....:)

i went to a party and lots of girls wearing lovelyyy gorgeous dresses without duppatta- ruined the entire look.

what is a duppatta ?

^ It’s a flower garland, usually made of roses, women are supposed to wear around their neck when they step outside the house.

You are welcome! :chai:

If you are going to wear the new fashion abaya looking till the ground no form fitting kameez anyway - is there a point to waste more fabric?

dupatta, if NOT worn properly, does NOT do any good to fulfill Islamic obligation. DupaTTaa around neck is defo one example. so, it doesn't matter if you wear one or NOT! sad that most think it's ok to wear DupaTTaa any which way and that will fulfill the religious dress code requirement.

Are people meaning the actualy headscarf as in covering ALL of ur hair and neck not the lame half arsed attempt at covering hair lol?

i know it seems so weird, i would never be able to go out without my dupatta just doesnt seem right.. and this morning my husband was watching geo tv and i was surprised to see how the girls were wearing their dupattas (for the month of ramadan) usually they dont wear it either .. just saying.. everyone has their own opinion about everything..what we think is right may not be to others..

99% of us are hypocrites.. I guess I am in that category as I protect myself in Pakistan from leering Pakistani men and cover my head and wear loose clothes as I hate their filthy looks but here in the UK when I don't get the leers I feel it is ok to go to work without a dupatta/scarf on my head

Respect to the girls who wear Dupatta/scarves to follow the word of ALLAH not for their own selfish needs

yes, one should wear a dupatta... atleast as a formality......

It’s just the trend these days! shalwar kameez styles are very different from traditional styles seen in the 90s that had fitted shirts and pleats/ darts (which for the record i always found very paindoo and vulgar) are totally OUT. so yeah if I ever wore a traditional fitted shaloo kameez like this:
http://fashionweekmix.com/2011-salwar-kameez-designs-and-patterns.html/salwar-kameez-patterns-latest-designs
o
r this

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-EYG90LNeLgg/TgQh32mdFsI/AAAAAAAACh4/d1oUcqPmGJI/s1600/salwar-kameez-ns310.jpg
or
http://fashabout.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/Shalwar-Kameez-71.jpg

(whih would never happen in a million years), I would wear them with a dupatta!

Actually religion wise its not about the duppata, its about a hijab.. there is a clear difference, so if you are wearing a hijab propertly, what is the need for a duppata???

Honestly thought, fashion in pakistan needs to wake up, instead of living in the 1600's there is a way to be modest and still follow religion without subjecting oneself to yards and yards of fabric...

remind me again why we are dragging religion into this thread ?

if you want to discuss the merits of dupatta in your specific religion, by all means start a similar thread in the religion category.

I agree with you Co. Not only does a Pakistani dress look weird without a dupatta but the dupatta's main function was to cover the women's front, erm you know, her chest. Even when they were wearing dupattas, the women/girls used it as an ornament hanging off their necks/shoulders. I don't do hijab but I still dress modestly. Here in America I obviously wear western clothes when at work/going out but when its desi dress I include dupatta. I feel without a dupatta it just looks so behuda,especially in Pakistan. Particularly in Pakistan women would want to wear dupattas to cover themselves from those "glaring men", no? I remember I was in Lahore and my Mom's friends daughter put her dupatta on her head while in the car and said its a must in this particular mohala where men are notorious for their ways. That was over 6 years ago but I will always remember that.

I was just discussing this issue with my frnd yesterday at iftaar

We had about 25 ladies in all with children theek hai. AB haan AB out of that 25 ONLY ME and my frnd were earing trendy way to loose outfits WITH DUPUTTAS… aik lerki say to raha bhi na gaya aur kehti hai… duputay say saari dress ki shoh marr gai hai..

i was like excuse me dash and dash and dash… :hayaa:

ye to haal hai humari ladies ka aaj kul, phir roti haen kay raastay mein falanay nay chaira to falanay nay number paas keeya :smack: