Nishabd- indian lolita?

Re: Nishabd

well its bachan’s psyche that the film should revolve around him. tell me which movie is not revolving around him:faizy: i know he is a versatile actor but this role doesnot suit him.like what is he trying to portray that Uncles should fall for young gals.and how can an 18 yrs old gal get impressed by a 60 yrs old man,old enough to be her nana/dada.

Umar whats an ART in it:hmmm: we go and watch movies to release our tension not to gain more.i must say aj ki movies are very weird,first Kabhi Alvida nah kaina and now this:disgust:

baba, budhay budhay main bhi faraq hota hai, now here we are talking abt a dashing old man. These things happen in every society, mind you. Sometimes its love, at times lust, most of the times its the money and not to forget the security aspect...thus there are a host of factors that lead young girls to fall for an old man. I don't really like to draw any parallels but wasn't Anna Nicole Smith almost 60 yrs younger to her first husband.

Why would you derive insinuations from a flick… Amitabh enacting a role doesn’t mean that its a model to be followed… its cinema… its art… he’s an “actor”.

also, some movies are meant to evoke disparate emotions… I personally see this movie as one that invigorates the mind and makes one question right from wrong. Like others have said, although an anomaly, it is a socially relevant movie.

his daughter is well over age 30, not 18.

i saw the movie today n i didn't dislike anything abt Big B's character.Its jiah khan i hated.Amitabh is playing a role of a long time married person having same dull rountine when this stupid gal comes in wearing teeny meeny clothes n clearly seducing him and caring the least if she hurts her friend or break her family.Since she comes from a broken,divorced family she's shown quite unsensitive n rude.
The story is not at all impressive.we did waste our money :(

Its bcoz this gal has come from a broken family n had a gap in her life for a father so a father figure attracted him.

Re: Nishabd- indian lolita?

The greater the height so mightier is the fall!!
I know it's a movie makers right to experiment and RGV has always unbashedly done the movies of his will..but after watching, I think what falters in this movie is NOT his direction(he is a good director and he has proved it yet again) but the script.

The movie misses the magic and what is funny is the fact that the attraction between the lead pairs is not claimed to be a sexual one but something else!! Who believes stuffs like this?
If passion exists, it's got to be only one, we all know....
Even if movie is just ordinary, we should not criticize Amitabh and look to him as an actor ONLY, for which he has done a good job in this as well..he is getting better and better with his age!
Those who talk about respect and morale should know that do we lost respect for Amitabh when he played as a "smuggler"?

i don't know whats the big deal.amitabh is not harassing that girl in the movie,she falls for him and so does he.agar larki hay razi toh kya karay ga kazi

A generation apart I can fathom but two generations apart :eek: Not sure how they fall in love and what the circumstances of each were that led them to fall in love but the fact that they show bachan reciprocrating the feelings and pining for her is a little disturbing.

i don't have a problem with B's role, he's just acting out the script. i feel the fault lies with the script writers/directors. the story is really tacky... if the love they share isn't physical/lust-based, then what was the need to put the girl in such skimpy clothing? maana, the story is disturbing, but why is it hard to believe that such a thing cannot happen in our society? it does happen, it's just that ppl consider it taboo to discuss.

abt a decade ago i saw this regional film where this buddha falls in love with a woman 25 yrs younger than him... but it was shown as a spiritual love, where each understood that the other had a family, each respected the bounds of society. it was so tastefully done... unlike this crap...

I wonder if RGV handled the movie with deft like Lamhe (yash chopra) or did he put a perverted spin on it?

remember how when lamhe was released ppl got mad at anil kapoor for liking mom first n daughter later? lamhey was far better treated than nishabd.i still like to watch lamhey esp anupam kheers funny scenes but nishabd's story is monotonous with no twits or turns.

other than lamhe, there was also "Jogger's Park" that had the same kind of theme so this isn't a new subject matter. It's just noticed more because Amitabh Bachan is in it.

Not because of bachchan but because of the huge age gap especially since the girl is only 18 where the guy is 60+. I don;t believe thats has been shown in any other movie before. As I said before a generation apart is something people can take but two generations apart is just too much, even if the girl was a little older.

i think the main thrust of teh story lies with Jiah's awareness of her sexual power and her being responsible abt it. She is at the age and position where she doesn't care about its consequences on people around her. Whereas the older man is romantic and strong (or weak) enough to accept his feelings, and is willing to take the responsibility for the effect it has on others.

in retrospect, i realised that i didn't hate the story, i hated the characters. i guess RGV was trying to jog our social conscience, trying to make us ask ourselves - Is this normal? Is this acceptable? and i think our answers are important because they will define the direction in which our society proceeds. not everything the movie makers make is to be accepted as face value or as art; maybe RGV intended it to serve a different purpose from that of the usual bolly flicks that we're subjected to these days.

Whats the fuss, What is wrong with you people ?

Why cant a guy marry a younger girl ? FOR GOD SAKE open your eyes and see around there is nothing wrong in it legaly or ethically/. Socially might be

Imran khan married Jamima a girl young engouh to be his doughter. Did he commit any sin ?
Late anna nickol smith married a very old guy, Elibeth taylor married a guy half her age.

There are countless example. where do you people live. Nani ghar ? :halo:

Re- the movie, i have not seen, I 'll comment once i watch it.

Amitach is a great actor, but he seldom does crapy roles… lets see how he has handled this one

^ but imran did not leave his existing wife n daughter for a younger gal which is his daughter's friend so ethically it feels wrong.other than that its ok.but amitabh did make a right choice at end only he couldn't get out of her memories mainly coz his family left him alone n didn't help him get past thru all wat happened.liking someone or having a crush is not in our hands but our decisions r.

Yahan tow saath (60) salah budhay ki 11 salah bachi say shadi ho jati hai, this isn’t something out of the blue :hehe: I dunno whats the hoopla about, tsk
Art has various forms and manifestations. There is art for art sake, there are projects taken up solely to educate masses and teach morals, at times it is to purely entertain and sometimes it becomes a tool to depict the reality. Us South Asians basically fall in two categories: we either want pure entertainment or else we identify and appreciate only taht body of work which is inline with our belief or lets say value system. Truth no matter how real and horrid is to be avoided at all costs. tsk
Even if such things do not happen in real life lets suppose, even then there is no harm if the producer/director has taken liberty and tampered with or pushed the boundaries. Enjoy!

i agree with minerva. i applaud amitabh for taking up a more challenging and risque role. I'll scream if he plays the noble old father one more time!

hehe....... "some love stories are never meant to be understood "