Nikkah!

I was waiting for someone else to open a thread lol, j/k

thanks hun! :hugz: I hope you mum is doing well now and you been a good girl by taking proper care of her =)

Yes! I can go see him/ stay with him whenver I want to because technically he will be my husband, Even though my family would not really approve me spending "nights" with him due to obvious reason log kia kahen ge but as Pareezay said as soon as the papers are signed you are married and rukhsati is just a reception thing

Awww I cant wait for it to happen

Re: Nikkah!

Exactly, Thats what i was trying to say forget the 'log kya kahen ge' Because what can they say?! Your husband and wife! I knew rukhsati wasnt islamic!

You are right! But due to excpetional circumstances not everyone can start living together as soon as they are nikahfied even if they want to and even if they don't have restrictions from family.....They have so many things in their head that they want to sort first before takign up such a huge responsibility

Like in our case...we have to save up for so many things e.g. A decent wedding, Luxury Honeymoon, Down payment of a house or an apartment

Aaah I wish only if things were so easy :(

^ Aw bless you, Inshallah it will work out.
My dad suggested i get my nikkah on my engagment... erm?? Has anyone ever dun that b4? I dont like that idea :(:(:(

I wanted to get nikkah instead of engagement, since there is no such thing as engagement in islam. But at that moment my parents felt it was too soon.
It is possible and preferred.

no mean of engagment...nikah & wedding
thats all abt islam...one day happiness for nikah...so after times when bride get ready to leave her home to his hubby home(it can be some days after nikah to years after that till she settel all be4 leaving) then wedding walima ...
thats all abt islam...
in islam girl side r not responsible for making party that groom wants to take her bride to his home...just in nikah its good they have a happpiness thats all abt islam

havent heard that before, but if you get your nikkah on your engagement, then it wont be an engagement,itll be a nikkah wont it? :confused: confused

i had my nikkah on my wedding day,or at least,i sort of did lol. the molvi was dopey, he forgot to get me to sign the papers, so i didnt get to till a couple of days later.really stupid molvi.

^ loool thats funny

Nah i dont wanna get it dun on my engagment, He's jus worried bcoz my cousin got engaged last year and now its broken (she was meant to get married in march) :( So hes jus worried that things get broken. But Inshallah ill get my nikkah on the barat.

I am hoping to have a nikkah done as opposed to an engagement inshallah.

thats the point…when engagment break girl side honor & respect is more hurting than boy side…so why not knowing & adopt be4 anything happen in proposal time then after knowing eachother then nikah to have islamic relation for more details till wedding to adopt rest issues???

why to be engaged to know eachother that if anything happen girl side will be in worry always for girls future???
if u come to know main things abt him be4 anything then after nikah if details have pro as ur main is same u can solve it also u will feel more response to keep respect & not break it easily for small issues…

wats uur idea?

look at this also :
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/391110-love-arranged-marriage.html

…i meant to get result by answers but no one did reply the main abt how to know Him!!!

We had our nikkah done coz both of us wanted to see each other, go out to lunch and set up our place...and both of didn't wanna do it while we were only engaged so we had our nikkah done.

We hung out, went shopping for our furniture, apartment hunting...he took me to office get togethers .... and other social events.... it really was great...no prob of log kya kahein gey I was officially his wife..... and we got comfortable around each other without any fear ....

And on barat day I walked in with him... it was wonderful...plus in our photoshoot which took place before going to the hall ....it was ok to stand close to him...or him holding me...

I came across some ppl in pak who have the nikah done on baraat day in the hall...but the photoshoot takes place before the nikah.... that is just sooo wrong (in my opinion...no offence) ... parents are so against their daughters even looking at another man....yet here is their daughter posing with a guy (who is not yet her husband) in close poses.... that is just weird and not very islamic....

Contrary to desi culture saying there’s no such thing, there is the concept of engagement in Islam, just it isn’t the same as in the non-Muslim sense. Prophet Mohammed (PBUH) used engagement to signal his intent to marry.. Islamically being engaged means the girl and boy are not meant to receive any more proposals, of course the couple aren’t meant to go on dates alone or anything, they can get to know each other with the guardians present (another thing that a lot of desis take no notice of).

'Engagement according to sharee’ah means that the man asks the      woman to marry him. The view of the scholars is that engagement is      prescribed for one who wants to get married. Allaah says (interpretation of      the meaning): 

“And there is no sin on you if you make a hint of      betrothal…”
      [al-Baqarah 2:235] 

and it was narrated that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) got engaged to ‘Aa’ishah. (Al-Bukhaari, al-Nikaah, 4793). And in al-Saheeh it also states that the Messenger (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) got engaged to Hafsah. (Al-Bukhaari, al-Nikaah, 4830).’

Source: Islam Question and Answer - Engagement according to sharee?ah

Engagement as a process is a mere promise of marriage from both sides. It does not have the same rules like nikah, but includes visitation in the presence of a mahram and it is chance for both families to know each other. It is a permissible act encouraged by the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him). It is basically a preparation of the serious step, which is marriage. The Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) indicated in one hadith that this promise is to be respected and not to be violated by any marriage suitor, saying: “Don’t let any of you propose to the same lady that has been engaged to another person.”

Source: IslamonLine.net

Desis have a tendency to take away the rights of their kids (esp daughters) hence the old traditional view that parents should arrange the match then the kids should often not interact (perhaps to stop them backing them out of it) even with others there etc.

My brother and his other half are having their reception in June and were thinking about having their nikah this month so they could go on holiday together, do stuff that ‘regular’ couples can do without having to wait till the party which had to be put off till summer cos of relatives not being able to fly over till then as well as not very many decent venues being available till that time.. My mum’s more into religion than culture so in our family after nikah the couple can do anything, she suggested straight afterwards they go and stay in a nice hotel or into their own place..

A lot of our friends are more liberal, they let their kids even go on holiday together during engagement, my dad’s a bit like this whilst my mum would have a heart attack lol