a funny incident happenned at my nikkah..so here comes my uncle who was the wakil along with two shahids in my room where some of my aunts and mom were sitting..So he is supposed to ask me"kya aapko wah(hubby) wald mus(fil) ke saath niqah manzoor hai" and he ended up asking me "kya aapko muh(my fil)ke saath nikah manzoor hai"i looked at my mom with wide eyes and said nooo..my mom was about to hit me..nobody realised the error and everybody was stunned...then i had to tell them the mistake...and they repeated it correctly:)
btw my nikkah was on baraat morning
Btw you dont have to have a maulana to conduct the nikkah...an elder of the family can do it if they know how to or they could find out.
My family is Shia...our nikkahs are a little bit different from yours. In Sunni nikkahs, the marriage is made official by the bride and groom accepting the terms of the nikkahnama. In Shia ceremonies, the bride and groom merely give the maulana permission to perform the nikkah according to the terms of the nikkahnama, and then the maulana recites some verses in Arabic that "officially" marry you. I'm not sure, but I don't think laypeople technically have the authority to do that...
I'm Sunni but I wouldn't feel comfortable having a layperson such as family elder doing my nikah, I prefer the idea of someone 'neutral' from outside of either family (tho my hubbys family isn't Muslim anyway) and who has proper Islamic knowledge and knows all the ins and outs of the procedure and all the etiquettes. I have a few elder family members who think they're very Islamic and they have beard etc. but their Islam in 90% cultural and I'd cringe at the thought of them giving a speech that implies I should blindly obey my husband etc. rather than the proper Islamic idea of marriage that compares the spouses to 'garments' that compliment each other :)
i had my nikah before I will have the wedding. It'll be about two and a half year gap total cuz of school and other stuff.
Yeah, but I'm glad we had the nikah beforehand otherwise he'd still feel like a non-mehram.
I guess it all depends on when how much time is left until the marraige. If it's only a month or so, I'd do it on the day of the bharat. If it's about two or three months, I'd have a small ceremony with relatives and close friends.
Fairytale..the mic was with the molvi..and he was reading the kalmeh and i repeated…but the hall could only hear the molvi…it was just so that everyone knew what was happening…i was told later that people still just kept talking and ignoring the molvi speaking on the mic lol
wahtoy: my molvi also said my fil’s name and then quickly corrected it…i wanted 2 crack up lol
Need advice. I am off to pakistan inshallah in less that 6 weeks for my wedding. Howver it was decided a few days ago that i will have my nikkah at least 10 days before my wedding becuase i am from the uk and fiancee from pakistan and need to get visa sorted. Also that means it is just 2 days after i arrive in pakistan. Therfore i am stuck as what i should wear, should it just be a simple shalwar kameez or should i make an effort and buy a sharara/chudidhar and wear jewelery. I am thinking if i need to dress up a bit i wil take a nice outfit from the uk and buy one soon. Any recommendations girls? I have always thought that at the nikkah you are nice and simple so casuaklly dressed up in a shalwar kameez, but my friends are like it will be photographed and even videoed it seems so what do you guys think?
^Hi zeebs - it depends on what you're comfortable with mostly :)
But for visa purposes, the nikkah is going to be your marriage and along with the nikkah nama you will need to give photos from the event. so you need to look like you're getting married, even if it's only a small event.
my cousin went to pak a few months before her wedding to buy her wedding stuff and order her lengha etc. so that her hubby could come back with her straight away after the wedding they decided to do the nikkah then too, so he could apply for his visa. she wore a fancy shalwar kameez with nice jewellery and had her makeup/hair done and duputta set. they did lunch in the garden and invited close relatives so had plenty of pics of all that.
my nikka was in da house...i wanted to have da nikka in da masjid.. but sadly in pakistan da gurls cudnt go to da masjid..so dat sukddd.... i had a whole araibann saudi look.. wid an abaya on,,covered face and everything. it was preety kool :)
For my nikkah, I was in the hotel suite and my hubby & some men went to a nearby masjid and the duas etc whatever were read there. Then they came back to hotel, maulvi & my witnesses came to the room & I signed my nikkah papers then. It was dead hot summer in Paki, so at the mention of actually leaving an AC hall to go to masjid, most of the men were actually "appalled". I am glad my hubby stood his ground.