In terms of getting Nikkah done, did you get yours done ahead of time? Like in a masjid? If so, when did you do it? On the day of the baraat, mendhi, or before that?
Has anyone opted to get their nikkah done on stage in front of everyone at the baraat day? Was it a nice experience to have it done in front of everyone?
I’m trying to figure out the pros and cons of each, and decide which I’d like to do. I would really like to get it done on stage and share this moment with my guests on my baraat, but would it better to have a quiet, intimate affair at the masjid?
IMHO nikkah is a sacred act. One shouldn't blow its sanctity but having it performed in front of half the town. Get it done in the masjid with your close ones.
I think Nikah ahead of time (a week before maybe) is a good idea. That way, if Dulha has to sit next to Dulhan during mendi, dholki or on barat day, or need to hold her hand for any rasam or photoshot, at least he is doing it as a mehram.
i'll be having my nikha done 2 days before the wedding, it'll be in the masjid, but all the guest will come with us back and we'll have a dholki the same evening.. the next day we'll have the mehndi, it's gonna be a joined event and then the day after is the wedding..
i think this way it'll be a little more relax hai, i mean i love him and all, but i'll be so scared when they'll ask me if "qabool hai!" lol
its the matter of general preference....
... .on stage is good too, if Moulvi sahab decide to keep the khutba short n precise........
dholki .. 5 hours
naach gaana .. poori raat
fashion parade .. non stop
islami khutba for the nikah where molvi sahab do dua for the safety and happiness of the couple ... 2 minutes
I would want mine in Masjid!!.... more intimate then in front of an audience. In Masjid you actually know whats going around you.... on stage its different! .... too much to do!
dholki .. 5 hours
naach gaana .. poori raat
fashion parade .. non stop
islami khutba for the nikah where molvi sahab do dua for the safety and happiness of the couple ... 2 minutes
Our weddings priorities.. priceless.
Dholki 5 hours x 5 days! :P
thats why Masjid is better.... there is no time limit of hall closing. the Khutbas can be as long as he wants them to be.
I wanted it on the stage for all witnesses. Hubby was on the stage. I was up in the room, thanks to repressive Pakistani society .
Anyway, I think the point of inviting people for the wedding is to have them witness the actual marriage, so I think it’s nice to have everyone able to see the nikkah.
thats why Masjid is better.... there is no time limit of hall closing. the Khutbas can be as long as he wants them to be.
I don't understand this. Let's have 10 or 15 people come to the Masjid to witness what should technically be the focal point of the celebration...while 500 will be invited to watch the bride's sisters dance on stage to the latest Bollywood rubbish! At least when the it's done on stage at the baraat you can try to pretend that it isn't just a formality/aftethought.
^^^^well to each its own!.....
15 ppl? well in our Masjid... mostly Nikkahs are done after Jumma Prayers. so all the family friends and community ppl who may not be coming to shaadi otherwise become part of the dua. it also works well coz then sometimes the khutba Jumma is on the topic of marriage and wedding. its more spiritual... u can feel it. you can feel the change. you can really think and feel when u sign and say qabool hai... unlike sitting on the stage ... getting double nervous when so many eyes are glued on you
our weddings dont have dances... so thats something I am least concenerd about.
So you want your husband to become someone you can’t marry?
It’s a specific legal term, with a specific definition that you apparently don’t understand the meaning of. I’d to stick with vocabulary I understand in the future.
he is namahram to her.. before nikkah.... after nikkah he is mahram to her... who can by Islamic tradition see her face. those relationships mentioned above.... a woman is allowed to communicate without face parda.
if he remains namahram after nikkah.. tu phir faida kya?
he is namahram to her.. before nikkah.... after nikkah he is mahram to her... who can by Islamic tradition see her face. those relationships mentioned above.... a woman is allowed to communicate without face parda.
if he remains namahram after nikkah.. tu phir faida kya?
Did you even bother reading the definition posted above? It's becoming increasingly evident that you have no clue what the term "mahram" actually means.
I'm not sure how much simpler I can make this. A "mahram" is a very specific legal term that refers to relatives who are so closely related to you that you cannot marry them, as such a relationship would be considered incestuous according to Islamic law. Period. For the last time, it is NOT defined as a male in front of whom a woman is not required to observe purdah, or someone who can legally chaperone a female pilgrim at Hajj. Yes, there is significant overlap between those groups - mahram men are among the people in front of whom women technically do not have to obsevre purdah, and they are among the people who can chaperone female Hujjaj, however the concepts are not synonymous. *For example, many scholars believe that purdah restrictions are significantly relaxed for elderly ladies - this does not mean that every man they pass on the street is now their "mahram," even though they are not necessarily obligated to observe purdah in front of them anymore. Women also are not technically required to veil in front of young boys regardless of how they are related to them - that does not make those boys "mahaarim." Also many scholars believe that a group of trustworthy women can chaperone themselves on Hajj - that does not mean that they are all now "mahaarim" of each other as they do not fulfill the legal definition (even if Islam wouldn't recognize a marriage between 2 women regardless).
Assuming your marriage is not incestuous, your husband is legally gheyr mahram before marriage, and continues to be gheyr mahram afterwards as well. However, because you are married, you do not veil in front of him, and he fulfills all the legal requirements for a chaperone. *He is your husband, and falls into a seperate legal category altogether* - one that has some similarities with the "mahram" category (in terms of veiling, chaperoning, etc), and some pretty huge differences as well.
Again, I really don't think I can make this any simpler. Try not to get so belligerent when its clear that you don't even know how to use the terminology you're throwing around.
Nikkah should be done on stage in front of everyone!! What is the point of a wedding when the MOST crucial part of your wedding is done hush hush and is just an 'inconvenience' that people need to get over with!?
I think it's beuatiful to have the Nikkah on stage in front of everyone and have everyone witness the ceremony. I love Nikkah Khutbahs....they make me teary eyed every time!
Also please make sure you're sitting up there on stage and not in some far off room away from the groom when you give your consent.....you're both entering into marriage together! It should be done with both of you present for the Khutbah!