Nikah at the Masjid before or at the Baraat Event?

I’m stumped on what to do, and people are pulling me different ways!

What appeals to me about getting it done at the masjid is that it kind of keeps the sacredness and intimacy of the actual nikah ceremony between yourself, your husband and your close family and friends. But then again, I’d have to hash out extra for another outfit and run around in the morning to get ready and get there on time and then leave to get ready for the actual wedding that night.. stress.

Now if it were at the venue for the baraat, I always thought it would be kind of cute that mr. groom doesn’t get to see me as his new bride until I make my entrance as a decked out dulhan. Only thing is the program will be crunched for time if we squeeze in the nikah and it’s doesn’t seem as special as it might have been at the masjid.

What are your thoughts and experiences? Do any of you married ladies have any advice to share on what would be my best bet??

Thanks in advance! <3

Re: Nikah at the Masjid before or at the Baraat Event?

Im stummped on the same thing! Nikkah at the masjid is sunnah and I think entering your marriage with barkath is the way to go. However, my fiance wants the excitement of doing the nikkah at the shaadi...and everything happen right there and then.

If u want, you can have the nikkah a day or two before at the masjid...Also..you can try wearing a huge red dupata or scarf over you so he doesnt have to see u

I was stumped about this too… but considering I am already having so much anxiety about the whole event (please refer to my thread I just started: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/470437-how-to-calm-your-nerves-for-your-wedding.html) lol… I decided that having one event was enough for me. And plus it is cost effective.

I have decided though that I will be in a separate room when the nikkah happens and not on the stage with him in front of anyone. Once the nikkah has happened, then I will enter the hall and THAT will be the first time he sees me decked out as dulhan… once we are already married. :slight_smile: It is a good compromise for me as most shaadis I go to - both bride and groom are on the stage when the nikkah happens. Plus I find the idea romantic that he will see me at my “best” … as newlyweds. :@:

I'm doing mine at the masjid insha'Allah. The nikah is a very emotional event, and if I'm crying I don't want it to be on stage with literally hundreds of eyes glued on me. I want my nikah to be a private and intimate gathering of family and few close friends who are all well wishers. The last two friends weddings I went to, both of them had their nikah done on stage during the reception and let me be honest- at desi weddings, not everyone you invite is a well wisher. There was an auntie sitting at my table commenting on how the girl was not "sharmeeli" enough and said "qabool hai" too loudly and too enthusiastically. Another person was sitting at another table nearby picking their teeth and talking about how their business is doing in this economy, and there were kids running around by the stage.

Follow the Sunnah, go to the masjid. You don't have to get a super fancy shmancy outfit, in fact a simpler outfit would make you look more beautiful so you can shine on your baraat day. If you don't want your hubby to see you, you can always opt for a gunghat.

My fiance and I will be doing aur baraat and nikkah in a masjid which also has a banquet hall. He wanted to have it the sunnat way and I wanted the baraat to be included with the nikkah. So alhumdulilah we both got what we wanted but theres a 400 person limit for that hall so we have to cut down the guest list alot :(

I had my Nikkah at the masjid, and alhumdulillah I loved it. My rukhsati will be in the summer, but my nikkah was a very emotional moment for my family and his...I think its a wonderful idea, but I do understand that whole feeling of nikkah happening on the wedding. Then everyone comes and says mubarak to you and all that :)

i had my nikkah at the masjid and the reception and the hall adjacent to it. I wanted everyone (not only close family and friends) to witness the nikkah, especially the children. There was a small stage set up at the masjid and hubby and I were together while the Shaykh did the nikkah and the khutbah. I really wanted the nikkah ceremoney and khutbah to be the highlight of my wedding, instead of the dinner, couples entrance, slideshow, etc (we did have these as well). But more time and effort were put into the nikkah ceremony, which I enjoyed.

I am having my nikkah in the masjid, as I had always wanted it, and my fiance wanted it this way as well. We are doing a combined reception the following day. But after the nikkah we are still having a dinner because our nikkah will be in the evening. I still had a new outfit made, its a gharara, but the shirt is so long you cant even tell, its in white and ivory. But I will be in another room when the actual nikkah and khutbah is happening, and my husband will only see me when I make my entrance into the dinner hall after everyone else has already settled in.

I'd go for the masjid...bare minimum guests!!!

and all u need is a simple suit.

i would have mine before the mehendi and everything... soo i dont have to worry about getting ready early..a nd i can relax the day of baraat. And also we could enjoy all the events together and talk and stuff

Concluding it from some of my personal experiences in my family, i would suggest you at the mosque before the event

me too want in masjid n it usually happen in my family
infact i offered my fiance'e that i will come to meet u outside masjid via my bi cycle n will give u bicycle ride but my FIL wants to do this in wedding hall:S so i m wishing jo b ho acha ho ameen. wishing same for those who goin to get marry

I wanted mine in Masjid as well but our family is big and its been joint family so you can't really cancel out any one and it ended up being an 80 people event. I don't know how nikkah is managed if there is just one party & you have to attend to so many guests yet keep the actual nikkah time private.

I would probably want to have it at the hall – this way all of the guests can witness the marriage which = more duas!. I find it more magical this way. Everyone gets to be a part of it – they get to listen to the Imam, make dua, witness the first time the bride and groom look at each other as newlyweds sigh haha.. yeah I would want it in a hall :wub:

^agree with everything you said. If I could have it my way I’d have it at the actual shaadi event. There’s pros and cons to doing it either way…but the reasons you mentioned are all reasons I agree with.

I’ll be having mine in Masjid InshaAllah & after that mayon at night (1 week before rukhsati)