So one of my really close friends is about to get married. She is set on only having a Nikah after Isha and that’s it. Nothing else - no dhama chaukri, nothing!
She will not even take my feelings into consideration on this one - Reha wants to celebrate!
Whatever.
My question to you lovely ladies is…what do you think of that? Having a Nikah in such a manner? Did anyone have a super simple Nikah and that was it? How did you all pull off the Walima by the way and is it mandatory to have one?
I want to pitch ideas to her…oh and I really want to make a new outfit
The only things required by Islam are:
1. nikaah with 2 witnesses
2. walima
Everything else is what we have added on.
On a side note, you can still have a new outfit made to wear at her nikaah...? I am assuming she will invite lots of ppl to the masjid since her family is not planning on hosting another event. You can still dress up a little.
I think the more simple a wedding is the more blessed it can get. But of course, Islam allows us to celebrate in a dignified manner. I think a small mehndi ki rasam would be nice a night before the nikah or just before the nikah.
I know someone who did that... a simple nikah at the masjid followed by a rukhsati where the bride was taken from her home to the groom's house. They also had a valima.
I would have preferred it this way too. I tried tooth and nail to have a simple nikkah at the masjid in the middle of the day and an intimate Valima/reception for family and super close friends only…ghar waalon nai meri ek bhi nahin sunnee
I think the groom's side wants to do something bigger but she isn't having it. My friend doesn't believe in showers so I can't throw her one. I was thinking a small dholki or mehndi at my house or my other friend's house.
If having a super simple nikah will make her happy, then let her be. She'll save herself plenty of stress and $$$ by going this route.
I went to a wedding of a close friends back in college that was similar. She and her family practice hijab and she married her cousin. She had the nikah & a dinner at her HOUSE! They had around 50 people there.
I also think the mehendi/dholk idea is great in this case so you can have your fix. :D
it's commendable. However I think there is a limit to how simple. You don't want to alienate your friends and family. Many people enjoy wedding festivities and it usually brings families together. Yes there are too many weddings that are showy and ott. my family likes to get dressed up and definitely needs an excuse.
If that is what she wants then that's great.
I think it's better to celebfate with 50 ppl who actually want to see you happy then the 500 who are there to criticize & jst see "what she did" kinda thing.
also the 50 ppl celebration can be as beautifully done up etc. I think thats the best route actually fewer ppl but gorgeously done up ...
To be honest, I may end up doing the same thing myself, keeps things cheaper and simpler and it’s less trouble all around. The only thing is, I’d still want a wedding dress for the nikah
I guess you could throw her a mehndi party and dress up them? Or a hen night?
me and my hubby wanted and had a simple nikkah, and dinner with close family and friends, mainly because we dont like too much attention, the couple kind of gets lost in the whole hanga-ma. Anyways my FIL was pissed as it is not acceptable in their family, so we had a huge valima like 4000+ people valima. We enjoyed that too but personally that was TOO much and I didnt know 99% of the people who came to valima :)
The only thing I regret is not having a proper photo shoot for nikkah, there are so many nice places here in TO esp summer time ahhh, but photo shoot ki bhi kasak nahi hai :) alhamdolilah we were happy with the pics taken by family and friends.
Reha you can have a dholki at your place and dil ke arman nikal lo us mein :) :)
That's basically what I'll be doing in a couple of months. Even then I'm tryna avoid certain family members being invited lol. We will have a reception later next year but for now nikah when hubby gets here (we just did our registry before usual life dramas intervened). I've told mum if she tries inviting certain people then I'll just pick hubby from airport and drive us to a mosque for a 'drive thru' nikah lol. She knows I'd do it aswell. I need to start thinking about it too so will keep an eye on here!