Newbies: GupShup 101

I can’t help but notice how many new guppies are on this site, and actively participating. And I get the feeling that many of them are new rather than multinickers.

So a word of advice for you all - PLEASE keep these in mind while posting.

1. Write in complete sentences. please dun be wr1t1ng lyke dis cuz no1 haz pasience 2 read yur post because so many run-ons you now and badder grammar so pleez keep dis in mind wen u post pleez do tink be4 u write.

2. Try to minimize copy-paste. If you find a nice article and you’d like to discuss it, then fine, but put forth your opinions about the issue, and summarize the article. Then put a link in your post so that people can refer to it, or cut-paste the important parts of the article only. If the article is short, go ahead. And if you open a few threads where you cut-paste the whole article, no big deal. But just try not to make it a habit.

3. Logically think through your arguments before writing them down.

4. Don’t be rude to others.

Thanks!

Whew, that’s off my chest now. :smiley:

Re: Newbies: GupShup 101

yeh...newbies follow this list..

oh wow.

Don't you think #s 3 & 4 apply to senior guppies as well?

Statistically, the newbies are breaking all 4 of these rules at a higher frequency than senior guppies.

Although, yes, P-Diddy and other dogmatic mullahs should be following those rules as well.

Thanks Miss Perfect!

You are very welcome.

Some of the new guppies need to be confined to Cafe alone. :p

ph34r my l33t s5x1llz

Wow! Thanks for the warm welcome. You do love this place.

Not being rude at all, this iconic picture of yours reminded me of the olden days of a PC game called Prince of Persia 2. Similar headless, blood-thirsty vampires were really hard to beat. No pun intended. Does anyone remember?

Sub-consciously, I might have adopted the nick of WitchDr because of that.....hmmm....

... and for the numerous multinicks popping up. Ok, so you get a new GS account, because your old one was restricted for whatever reason. Fine so far. Keep posting and enjoy yourself and try to stay under the radar. But nahi ji. They want to advertise that they are a multinick. Buhat bahadur hein masha Allah. Acha ji. So, next thing you know your multinick is banned as well, and then you try to create another one. And another one. And so on. Do you have nothing better to do in your life? I am sure there are better things to do in life than going on virtual discussion boards and registering new nicks that are not approved for posting.

^ You can never be too sure about other people lives.

^ so is that what this new wave of newbies really is? Its just a few people that keep reincarnating themselves to keep admin busy?

Its happening more than before for some reason, then.

May be people have started to discuss more undiscussed/tabooed issues and hence are getting banned.

With threads like "why is it so bad to discuss farting?", and lussi's pervy curveballs, how much more taboo do you wanna get?

^ :rotfl: .. That’s hilarious!

You should go into politics, seriously. You’will probably have a better control on things than anybody else.

PCG, the power is yours not to indulge on those discussions.

Well, that is not considered a taboo topic.

Thanks for the heads up PCG...

BTW, why am I suddenly restricted from your journal?

Take solace in the fact that you are in the majority.

^^

That's not comforting, but if you say so...