New York City - Pics and Stories

So, I went to NYC for the summer - interning and what not …

Quite an experience. But I am still alive!

[thumb=H]nyc6531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]nyc26531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

Hairspray - the broadway play. It was positively horrible, and the whole time I sat there, I was wondering why I wasn’t in bed with my books. The little midget of an actress (main character) was SO ANNOYING. Oh God. I think I actually wanted to pop some pills and die during it.

I saw Wicked also. I wish I could show you pictures of that show. Now THAT was a good show.

[thumb=H]nyc36531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]nyc46531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]nyc56531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

outside, on times square. Roaming around after the play with friends.

[thumb=H]nyc66531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]nyc76531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

reverse time a bit - this is times square right before going into the play.

Re: New York City - Pics and Stories

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *

[thumb=H]nyc46531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

you just needed an excuse to take a picture of the bald guy hena

btw which one is you in the last pic?

[thumb=H]nyc86531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]nyc126531_39316571.JPG[/thumb]

Meri Khirki ke Saamney...I was living on Union Square. Its a lively place - artistic. Musicians, pseudo-actors, dancers, magicians, you name it - you'll see it on Union Square.

And a market held nearly ever morning right downstairs. Fresh sabzi and fruits. Great for the cooking that I never really did. :D

[thumb=H]nyc96531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

Lexington! So, this is the little-India/Pakistan. Of course, Jackson Heights is the main one, but this little 2 block piece of heaven was on the way to work. God bless those Curry-in-a-Hurry bengalis, even when they got my order wrong.

I'm not in these pictures.

[thumb=H]nyc106531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]
The Statue of...of...of...abhay!

Liberty? Hmm...acha?

[thumb=H]nyc116531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

Manhattan. Where the Twin Towers should have been visible. (I think this is the site...)

[thumb=H]nyc156531_39316571.JPG[/thumb]

Yeah, some bridge. Manhattan Bridge...i dunno - i forget.

[thumb=H]nyc166531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

Hehe! I got so excited when I saw this. NEVER seen one before except in Disney cartoons! Now THIS made the whole summer worthwhile.

[thumb=H]nyc136531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]nyc146531_3931657.JPG[/thumb]

miscellaneous - i have no clue when these were taken.

[thumb=H]nyc266531_7644968.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]nyc256531_7644968.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]nyc246531_7644968.JPG[/thumb]

On my way to the National Metropolitan Museum of Art - the architecture of these homes just got to me. Do you see that door? Do you see it? Its so ... magnificent!

[thumb=H]nyc286531_7644968.JPG[/thumb]

The facade of the MET. I think my jaw dropped when I saw it.

My last sunday in NYC, a Nepali girlfriend and I decided to go to the Museum of Natural History (that's another thread altogether). Now, as you might know - the Museum is huge - 5 stories. We walked and walked and walked. We get out and find that the subway from that particular station is not running downtown. We go - fudge. So then we decided to kill some time by going to Central Park - right across the street. Wandered around a bit there, then decided to leave

[thumb=H]nyc176531_7644968.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]nyc186531_7644968.JPG[/thumb]

Central Park

Then we get into a cab. We both look at each other and ask "now where?" We had the rest of the day to kill. So, we asked the rude flirty cab driver to take us to Times Square. Fashion District was closed, so we figured we'd just wander around in Times Square.

[thumb=H]nyc196531_7644968.JPG[/thumb]

Where we saw the MTV studios for TRL. Oo. Aa. Boring.

[thumb=H]nyc206531_7644968.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]nyc216531_7644968.JPG[/thumb]

The sign was pretty. Yes, I'm a total airhead. I had a stressful summer, darnit.

[thumb=H]nyc226531_7644968.JPG[/thumb]

Yes, that's right - I met a celebrity! Spongebob Squarepants. I felt so HONORED. Haha, actually I thought my little cousin might like the picture. All I got from him was "yeah so?". Lo kar lo gal.

[thumb=H]nyc236531_7644968.JPG[/thumb]

Also pretty. For sheer prettiness. I told you I had a stressful summer.

Now here's the funny part. Well, not so funny. Actually not very funny at all. We're in times square. We felt like we had paid enough to the transportation of New York City (subway and taxi). So, we decide, in our infinite wisdom, to WALK back home. Times Square is on 42nd Street and 8/9 Avenue. The nepali chic was living on 28th street and 3rd avenue. I was on 30th street and 1st avenue (I had moved from Union Square by this time). Yeah COUNT those blocks. By the time I got back into the room, I was so tired. I could not feel my feet. Vakai, I really could not feel them. I stumbled up to my room, fell on the bed, and was asleep for the rest of the night.

But it was fun. Never thought I'd have so much fun with a Nepali immigrant. Hehe.

nice pics, I was at Times Square last new years eve
NY's my favorite place

hey awesome pics! i have identical pics of timesquare as well.. i saw urs and thought hang on! i have those too!!

good stuff.. i like the ones of natural history museum....

i wanted to hug mister spongebob.. but apparently i had to give him a tip...

^ yeah, he has nakhrey.

^ tell me bout it...

oooohhhhhh nice piccys. Now u made me miss Mahhattan oh so mucchh..
p.s where r ur piccys missy… :blush:

:blush: Mujhe nahi post karni hai. :blush:

Yeh to aur bhi acchi baat hai.

Nice pictures! But I HATE SpongeBob!

^^ I feel offended. Spongebob is God!

nice :-)

*Originally posted by Samael: *
^^ I feel offended. Spongebob is God!

I think he's pathetic and dumb.