NEW YEAR PARTY

Assalam O Alaikum

Ok, here they are :

Sahih Bukhari Volume 4, Book 56, Number 662:
Narrated Abu Said:
The Prophet said, “You will follow the wrong ways, of your predecessors so completely and literally that if they should go into the hole of a mastigure, you too will go there.” We said, “O Allah’s Apostle! Do you mean the Jews and the Christians?” He replied, “Whom else?” (Meaning, of course, the Jews and the Christians.)

Sahih Bukhari Volume 4, Book 56, Number 668:
Narrated Abu Huraira:
Allah’s Apostle said, “The Jews and the Christians do not dye (their grey hair), so you shall do the opposite of what they do (i.e. dye your grey hair and beards).”

The above two ahadiths tells us that we should not follow Christians and Jews.

NEW YEAR PARTY / CHRISTMAS PARTIES are one of them, please don’t follow the people with whome Allah SWT is not happy and Prophet SAW has stopped us to follow them.

As simple as that.

Assalam O Alaikum

'

[This message has been edited by Rubiya Nur (edited August 02, 2000).]

Adbulla sahib, with all due respect, I get tired of all the religious folks quoting the prophet and verses of the Quran when they are trying to prove others wrong on meaningless issues.

There are much bigger problems in this world to be concerned about:

• Starting with the massive rate of illetracy in our own Pakistan.

• Or, if you want to serve your life for Islam, did you know that a so called 'Islamic law' of Pakistan, the Zina law, has hundreds of innocent women victims, young and old, rotting in Pakistani prisons and getting grossly mistreated by the police everyday while the monsters who sent these women to there are roaming the streets freely looking for a new victims. Why do I never hear religious members of Islam speaking against this attrocity which is being performed in the name of Islam!

There are many more problems, such as corruption, lies, cheating, etc., as I am sure you are already aware. Frankly, as a Pakistani muslim, the issue of a muslim taking part in a Christmas or New Year celebration should be the least of your worries!

Thank you for reading,

Laila

Bismihi Ta’la
Assalam o 'alaikum

My sister in Islam, what you have shared and expressed is indeed a matter of grave concern. While literacy is indeed a matter important, as was self evident from the first Quranic revelation (Iqra), a pronouncement to an illiterate Prophet [pbuh&hf], yet it imparts a message to wider audience. May Allah SWT give us the tawfiq (the blessing) to abide by this very simple Quranic precept of “reading” and further some understanding some tolerance among muslims and non muslims alike.

As to the New Year Celebration, the nature of what our country faces and what the Ummah experiences, may it be a lesson for those who seek lessons, not to swerve from the Book, and a living tuned with the Book.

Personally, I do not subscribe to using hadiths to disparage either Jews or Christians. While there are Quranic ayas, directed more so to the believers, our focus should be on those, and a reflection of what the Jews and the Christians did in history, as a lesson to be taken at heart, not just read, as one reads a newspaper, tossed and forgotton for the days to come.

Maybe the muslims should instill the values of hardwork, and diligence that the Jews and Christians have cherished, and to this day we see the fruits of their labor, and surely As Allah SWT says, that One gets what one “strives” for.

May our striving be for Him and Him alone, be that on a New Year day or on Muharram al haram.

Allahuma Salle Ala Muhammadin wa Ale Muhammad

Abbas, Ali
http://www.al-islam.org/index

Laila ji Salaams,

Yes, your points are valid; and yes the atrocities are being ignored; but I guess, putting down someone who has gone out of their way to bring a FACT to you is extremely wrong.  Your sentiments are commendable, but your timing is totally wrong sister.  Brother Abdullah has been kind enough to bring forth those realities, that we all deep down know, yet choose to unacknowlege; People, when forbidden from doing so and so say: "Show me where it says in the Quran and Hadith" and guess what Br. Abdulla has done the same.  I am proud to say that I haven't ever attended a new year party, nor do I want to now!  Yet I still am grateful to the brother for making the issue, clear.  JazakAllah Brother.  Please, don't take this the wrong way Laila, but one shouldn't bash something that is so positive!

Wasalam.

Assalam O Alaikum

Jazakumullah Khair sister Kiran

Sister Laila
The answer to your question is a simple one, but first may i ask you one thing, what do you think is the cause of all corruption, unjustice, lies, cheating, etc..?

The answer is we are not on the right path, we are not practising islam. Instead of considering different problems one by one, if we just can make our selves Muslims, that will be enough to get rid of all the evils you mentioned.

e.g. about zina, if the male and female both knows the exact Islamic punishment they won't even think about it. The judges if they know that Allah SWT is going to ask them about their judgements they will never make a unjust decision. If all the corrupt people in the society know that Allah SWT has said Rashi (who takes bribe) and murtashi (who gives bribe) will go to Hell, no corruption will be there. When the liars know that what is the punishment is there with Allah SWT for saying lies, they will say only truth.

There is no fear, but fear of Allah SWT, so be afraid of him, do what HE says and HE will do what HE has promised for us.

Wa Ma Alainaillalbalagh
Assalam O Alaikum

Kiran and Abdulla sahib, I may have come on too strong but, I guess, to me, at a time when Pakistan is in termoil, where there is already so much sectoral violence it does not help to promote enemosities towards other religions. I just wish that we would stop talking about how "wrong" are the ways of others and start dealing with what is wrong with our own ways.

Abdulla Sahib, while I understand your sentiment and in an ideal world simply saying:"be a good muslim and everything will be ok" would be enough to change things. In this world that is just not enough. Afterall, there are also non-muslims also living in Pakistan.

Sorry, I dont mean to start a fight, I am simply providing my point of view. You can choose not to accept it because you have a right to your own opinions.

Laila

Assalam O Alaikum

Sister Laila
Non Muslims are as secure as Muslims in a Islamic Society. Do not forget the rights our neighbours have irrespective of their religion. So if my neighbour is a non Muslims also, Islam does not give me the right to harm him rather Islam tells me to guide him and call him to the right path. i.e. for his betterment.

Islam is the religion, the complete way of life sent, selected and liked by Allah SWT, the Creator of the Universe, so do you think HE would not have taken care of HIS servants other than Muslims.

Assalam O Alaikum

Salaams Laila ji,

I have no idea what gave you the impression, that a fight was underway here; that most certainly is not true; just to once and for all close the topic, and clear your misunderstanding:  My point is that, one good turn deserves another; and not a negative comment; People like brother Adbdulla are rare, because not everyone cares, what others do, or don't do - hence putting them down, would only mean, we are making such individuals scarce; and one day everyone will just stop caring about each other.  And that is a scary thought!

Wasalam

Assalam O Alaikum

Sister Kiran
Tareef ka shukria, but sister, i am a very gunahgar banda of Allah SWT, may Allah SWT forgive our sins (Ameen).

Assalam O Alaikum

Salaams Br. Abdulla,

Hum sub hi gunahgaar hein; leikin jo choti si bhi naiki karley, woh tareef ka haqdaar hota hay  :)

Wasalam