New to weddings and Pakistan-help!

I was born in the US, still live here and I am getting married in Pakistan to a wonderful local boy. I want to help with the planning, but I don’t know what I can do from here and I have never been to Pakistan. Also, some of my American friends and my family will come over for the wedding. They are worried about their safety because of what they read in the news.

1. How can I help with my own wedding from such a long way off?
  2. Should I worry about my friends safety too?
    I need some advice.
    Worried, Blanche

Safety is a big issue in Pakistan these day as we are having incidences of many blasts in Lahore in one day. But that does not stop us Pakistanis to carry on with our routine life.

You will need to plan your wedding well in advance. Pakistan is a heaven for shopping. Pakistan has best of traditional and modern wear designers. You can also find branded stuff there. So, you basically need to take a lot of money (A LOT OF money) with you to Pakistan for all the shopping and wedding arrangements.

If you have a big budget, you can just handover everything to excellent wedding planners in Pakistan. I suggest you read various threads on this web site. You will learn a lot.

I am from Dubai, haven't been to Pakistan for many years, and planning to have my wedding shopping done in Pakistan with my wedding taking place in Dubai (I am trying hard to get it done in Dubai because of safety reason). I cannot imagine wearing gold in Pakistan and at the same time feeling safe :( I do not know the safety situation well but people living aboard usually do not feel that safe in Pakistan. But again if you can spend tons of money, you can hire security guards... every problem has a solution in Pakistan if you have money...

Good luck with your planning.

I know how u are feeling since both I and my fiance are born outside PK but we are going to hire a lot of bodyguards so we and ours family and friends can feel safe.

Re: New to weddings and Pakistan-help!

definitely hire guards for your house, as soon as people hear your place is "Shaadi ka ghar" it'll spread around and everyone will know u guys have alot of money/jewelry in the house.

Dont be too afraid, as long as u have guards outside of your house, it shouldnt be a problem. Also, dont talk (esp in urdu) about money/jewelry in front of your driver/guards..

Hmm.. also, be careful of the Knaukers (sp?), lock up all your clothes/makeup/jewelry everytime u leave the house! and dont let any of the servants stay in the house while ur not there.

Last year i went to pakistan for my cousins shaadi and as soon as people heard it was a shaadi house, a dakoo showed up. after that they hired guards and it was fine, but in 07' my other cousin got married and her knauker stole a ton of stuff from all of us. (we got some of it back).

other than that, i dont know much else u can do! do what u can to be safe, but try to enjoy every moment of getting married :) sorry if i scared u at all, just passing on my advice from experience!

I'm in the same situation. No one has picked a date yet, but it's going to be at the end of this December inshallah inshallah inshallah. It's already been two full years since the engagement, and only now is everyone buying clothes and stuff, but still no lehngas, no date, no zevar, nada. So annoying..... I really want to choose my own lehnga too, but I just don't see how it's going to be possible since we will only be there for three weeks....

body gurads will keep the house or the event safe but what are u guys going to do when you are out n abt shopping???

I am also thinking of going to karachi for my wedding shopping but I do not know how will I be carrying rupees in lakhs for shopping of clothes, as only shadi n valima outfits gonna cost alot... how you guys carry such a big amount when you go shadi shopping pakistan? How to transfer such big amounts to pakistan from abroad? Will it be safe to transfer through bank and in karachi draw money from banks (and thinking that we will not be attacked by robbers?)

dont they take visacards?

^ ladies ppl in pakistan carry money too...
and you dont give the full payment right away anyways.

Cant they just take a check or a creditcard or we could transfere money into their account Because I think its alot of money to bring with u when u are shopping and stuff by the way who carries a lot of cash anyway now a days

Thanks all for the great replies--I guess this question stuck a chord.....now I am probably more worried......Are there any good websites that give the basics of wedding planning for westerners who are coming to Pakistan?

If there is one, I would love to see it....

Check out this wedding planning website

Royale wedding & Event planners

www.Royale-Events.com

THANKS! that will help me alot