New Power Project in NWFP...

http://www.dawn.com/2005/09/18/nat11.htmPower projects to start soon

PESHAWAR, Sept 17: Minister of State for Water and Power Amir Muqam announced on Saturday that electricity projects worth more than Rs1 billion would be undertaken in the province within a period of two months. The minister, who presided over two high-level briefings here at Wapda House, also announced that work on water supply schemes would be carried out in the same period in Peshawar at a cost of Rs500 million.

The first briefing pertained to performance and initiatives taken by the new management of the Tribal Areas Electricity Supply Company (Tesco) with specific reference to meterization and recovery from tribal consumers.

Engineer Said Khan, Tesco’s chief executive, briefed the state minister about the new proposals being considered to bring tribal consumers into the electricity billing net.

Mr Muqam set a Dec 31 deadline for completion of all the schemes under Tameer-e-Pakistan Programme and projects highlighted under the directives of the president and prime minister in the NWFP.

He also instructed the authorities of Tesco to operationalize Ghallanai grid station in Mohmand Agency in a month’s time besides accelerating the pace of meterization, recovery of arrears and electricity billing from tribal consumers. He appreciated the formation of surveillance teams to check that no Tesco official was involved in the installation of illegal transformers and power connections in Fata.

Mr Muqam said Tesco was losing about Rs900 million every month in the tribal areas while the flow of electricity there was also not up to the mark and usually load management was carried out for hours on end.

He said that Fata’s electricity system could be improved when tribal people install meters and pay monthly bills for power consumption

At least some development is happening over there…

Re: New Power Project in NWFP...

Where would be the levers of control?

With the govt?

Re: New Power Project in NWFP…

Off course in Lahore!

sooch be ye pa lawoor ki wee

Lol.. Why would you need electricity in a cave anyways?!?! Just kidding..
Why would Lahore control electricity that is clearly being generated for use in Peshawar.. Stupid!

You just proved how stupid you are. You don’t even know where is main switch for WAPDA is.

I proved my stupidity? lol, this coming from you! How ironic...
Punjab govt doesnt control the flow of electricty into NWFP moron... WAPDA is a utility company, if you pay your electricity bill which knowing you, you probably never have, then electricty will flow in abundance:)

I will leave this for the audiance to decide that who is the idiot here.

Well, you have proven yourself so effiecient at it so far, why stop now?

pakpatriot you are a racist punjabi fascist. people like you will lead to violence.

Nah yaar, I try to avoid getting into these discussion but accedently get succered into them by these "We are Pashtoons, we are great and you are nothing but a miserable dispicable Punjabi" Pak haters.
I could care less about Punjab, my identity is with Pakistan, but why should I have to be politically correct and watch what I say when the Pathans can say all they like! I have absolutely no hatred or disrespect for Pathans, but if they come here thinking I will back down froma fight then they have another thing coming..
Why is it ok for them to insult both my country and my culture, and its not ok for us to fight back?
Respect breeds respect, and vice versa...

"cool" hone se too zyada achha musalman banta hai?

Its not about being a musalman or being cool... Im only making a point.
The intention of this thread was not to start mud slinging but to actually show that these anti Pak losers are full of crap. If they want to turn it into a fight then why should I expected to back down?

Defend Pakistan on the basis of Pakistani Islamic identity, not ont he basis of regional identity, punjab vs pashtun.

Thats fine, tell that too Malakand and Dinosaur though...

Allahu Akbar. Allahu Akbar. Allahu Akbar.

For a large power grid like Pak’s there is no “main switch”. Sure WAPDA’s head office is in Lahore. It used to be a big white elephant. Now with decentralization, WAPDA is only a skeleton of its former self.

hahahh! Kabuli Kommies will not stop at anything. Now they want to put the “main switch” in Lahore. hahah.