New baby: asking relatives to use hand sanitizer???

Ok; do you think it is appropriate to ask friends & relatives to use hand sanitizer when they come to visit a new born baby?

I know, in desi culture, this is considered an insult but I think that this is important to the health of the new born.

What do you people think?

Re: New baby: asking relatives to use hand sanitizer???

I don’t think it’s rude at all. I have a newborn (4 months) and most people are sensible enough to wash their hands before picking him up so I have not needed to ask anybody to wash their hands. What’s worse is when they use public transit, with all sorts of people on the bus coughing and being sick, and still not washing their hands before touching the baby. :mad:

Yes, it will be seen as rude and pointless. People will say things like "when i was a kid, there were no sanitizers and I turned out perfectly normal, what's so special about her kid". And they have a point. Babies today are born into such unnaturally sanitized hospitals and parents are so concerned about their baby getting sick that they are interrupting the natural process of acquiring immunity. This is a problem in developed countries where babies don't get early exposure and end up with sensitive allergies, asthma, etc. Chemical cleaners can be just as bad for your baby as the common cold.

I'm guessing that this is your first child, and so you want everything perfect for this baby. I'm sure when he/she becomes a toddler and has a new sibling (iA) you won't be as concerned about sanitizing hands, because you know how much a baby can take. It would be appropriate to ask people who work in hospitals and such to clean hands, etc. but normal people have the decency to wash up and are generally clean. And if they are a bit dirty, you can jokingly ask them to wash up. Don't ask every person that comes near the baby to use sanitizer even if they already washed their hands 20 mins ago. but truthfully, what will hand sanitizer do? The baby will still be kissed on the face probably. Will you ask people to sanitize their face? They will hold the baby, do you think their clothes are clean? Unless they are putting their fingers in the baby's mouth, hand sanitizer will do little to protect the baby, and you will gain a lot of negative comments behind your back. Relax! don't worry, you gave birth to a tough kid (mA) and your child can handle it. I know this is probably not what you wanted to hear, sorry for being a bit harsh, but iA, nothing will happen to your child :)!

My first one was so very hard-won (a long time of infertility) and then he was born so very small and spent the first 24 hours in NICU...we were so paranoid that - forget about hand sanitizers, that was the least of it all...we had people put on face masks too lol!!!

After having my other 2 and looking back, I am so embarrassed about it and am so very thankful that everyone who came to visit humored us with it all. I guess they thought it was cute and that we'd eventually learn to be less concerned, which we did thank goodnessgracious!!

Really, it isnt necessary. But if it makes you feel better then by all means go ahead. People are very understanding of these things.

Congrats and Blessings to your little one too!

snazzy - very nicely put.

Thread starter: Congrats and all the best for the incoming. Yes it will be taken as an insult by the majority; and how many newborns are overly protected that way? not many I believe. No matter what you do, your child will be exposed to all sorts of germs, and that is important for a baby. They develop all sorts of immunities at an early age, and you wont be doing your little one any favor by trying to protect him/her from the germs. There is less point in doing so, you just can not keep them from such exposure.

It is understandable that you are being so protective about your baby, but it really doesnt make much sense. Let things go normally and naturally, not a single child was protected that way in my family, including my niece and nephew and Alhamdulillah all are very healthy and strong little buggers.

Did you read the Yahoo News article about the study on little children that ate dirt? It was interesting.

I dont think sanitizer is necessary. I'd just wash my hands.

unless you know someone has some sort of contageous disease or infection its not required. medical research shows that the obsession with clenliness increases chances of asthma and allergies as the immune system isnt built up properly.

well i never had or never would.the more u create fuss about these things the more sick ur child gets.some exposure to germs boost their immune system n if u r breast feeding ur child won't b likely to get effected by those germs.with my kids i hav seen as long as they r breast fed even flus don't effect them.

when our first one was born my husband asked the nurse is it ok if i wear cologne n pick the baby up lol

When my niece was born...we all sanitized our hands before we touched her. She was so beautiful Mashallah...it didnt bother me at all.

Its your child and you will do what you can to protect your baby. Nevermind what others say, you're the parent and if you say people need to sanitize...they need to sanitize.

I was asked to use a sanitizer when I went to see a baby some time ago. I didn't really care but some aunty who was also visiting did feel a bit shocked...didn't say anything though.

Hmmm, I guess it's Ok to hold a newborn...they are swaddled and all so you hardly touch them as such because both your hands are holding the baby. I would be a bit careful about not kissing a little baby if I have a cold or cough...but that's common sense and I think most people are generally careful.

So, don't worry. Think of all the blessings the newborn will get. Be sure to read the 4 Quls.

haha thank you :)

Nicely put...

Just tell them that the doctors advised this, and they'll understand and wont take it personally.

I can understand the need for proper sanitization, but hand sanitizer contains alcohol that is proven to be dangerous when ingested by children. I suggest you look that up.

Otherwise, yes, I can imagine some people being miffed by it, but Bonbonniere said it best - screw 'em, it's your baby!

In Lonodn hospitals, they have those hand sanitizars attached to every wall in the wards! Great ideas those! :)

^ i dont see anything wrong with asking. my brother is going thrgh chemo and we asked everybody to use hand sanitizer or wash their hand before greeting him. we have actually ask relatives/friends who are sick (cold/ flu etc ) not to come over because to a normal person a common cold is nothing but to my brother it could be deadly. n i would think same would go for a baby.

so do what u have to do, dont worry abt what ppl think.

Rabia3983 - So sorry to hear about your brother. I pray his chemo' is successful Inshallah. :)

A sick new born baby will cause high anxiety to the parents and may lead to huge doctor/hospital bills plus maybe days off from work that a parent can't afford to do. Plus, high fevers/sickness in newborns have the potential to permanently cause mental damage.

Don't you think the all the above weigh more heavily than hurt feelings of relatives??

aww thank u sweetie, iA it will be successful.