Neighbor's wireless.

Mine is wireless protected , but if once in a while it is down and I am not around the kids will use some neighbor’s wireless Internet connection if it is not password protected. And there are many which are not protected.

So is it stealing if you use neighbor’s wireless Internet without their permission ?

Re: Neighbor's wireless.

Yes it is .........

Why is it?

Yes it is stealing, its better to take permission from them, if they allow to use it, then try to pay some amount!

That would leave a great impression to neighbors and will be a sweet lesson to kids as well :)

If you were that neighbor and if you know your neighbors are using your network without your permission and not letting you know although they know it belongs to you and you are paying, what will be reaction?

Re: Neighbor’s wireless.

mirch, a really small town close to me made the headlines across once, check this out:

Michigan man arrested for using cafe’s free WiFi from his car

iss ko kehtay hain, 'eik to chori ooper se seenaa zori'

If mine was not password protected for fear of hacking , I would not mind. If someone uses my internet connection What is there for me to lose ?
My bill and connection speed will stay same , innit ?

waise to be serious, everyone knows that they need to secure the wireless connection. If they dont do that on purpose, it might be OK for them to share with others

haan thats stealing

internet connection apna apna hona chhaiye:mad:

Selfish mentality isss ko hee kahtay hain .

:barbie: y shud i share my connection when others dont

:snooty: i just follow the trend

What if whole neck-of-the-wood is using your connection?

well you may not mind it but other can and just because it is not protected does not give you a right to use it! It would be better if you tell them and ask the permission!

It does remain the same, however your connection will have a max download speed and max upload speed. What if your neighbor uses all or most of it and when you try to download something you don't get with the speed you should.... how'd you feel when you come to know that it was because of your neighbor using your net connection?

I live in a neighborhood where everybody has their own connection . There are is no free loaders in this neighborhood. Actualy it is true for all of America. If a couple of people share my wireless I do not see any load issue. In my own house we have three laptops and one pc in use and we never saw any speed related issues.
I am talking about a case in which someones network is down and they use neighbor's wireless connection which is open.

^LOL

Wese how do you find out if someone is using your wireless? :hmmm:

That is easy. Each wireless router has a portal which can tell you who is logged on to this system.

dekho kitni shareef behan hai meri itna bhi nahi pata ke internet chori kaisay kertey hain

any item unless indicated by its owner that it is okay to usepr be shared by others should not be used. The solution is simple, tell tehwoner of that wifio that sometimes you have network issues and is it okay for your kids to use his network temporarily at that time until you are back and can get your network up and running.

The question is really not about download speeds or performance, its about respect for others property, whether or not they have secured it.