Nehari - Home vs. Street made?

Re: Nehari - Home vs. Street made?

mohammadi nehari ki kiya baat hai lahore lahore ai
nali nihari is very good though
but i make it at home too and its not bad at all.

hahahahaah, extra protien, yummmmmmmmmmm

i only had nehari once . it's a punjabi food . not cooked at our house :)

Oh i dint know u were talkin to me :(

Its the barraN(12) masallay from sadak that r missing in home made nihari :yummy:

I've eaten it at a lot of restaurants, I think my mom makes it better, hands down. Mash'Allah.

Yup, Ive tasted Nehari in various restaurants as well.
These days, most people use the shaan masala etc to
cook desi dishes. However, the real trick is to blend
herbs and know how to get the taste right, for each
dish.
In Nehari, one should add "chanay ki dhaal" a hand full
and a large baking potato, to make the gravy thick
and tasty. Its best to fry the herbs for some min. to
release the essentials aroma/oil of the herbs and then
brown the meat.....

I thought they added some marrow for thickening gravy in Nehari.

Its a chef´s secret, na :-)
Nope, these days marrow etc. isnt good to have.
I dont regard Nehari as Punjabi food, but rather
a specialty of a famous city. Just as Sajjih from
Quetta etc.

Does any know a recipe to make lamb chops
with "chakundar"? a root vegi....
I lost a real profound one :-(

^^ Funny thing about Nihari...I tasted it for the very first time here in the states...sabri nihari wale from devon...my husbands fav place...And I'm from Lahore...I had chachas that used to go in the morning early hours to get the nihari and paye from puranni anarkali area where its supposedly the best ...
And for the Biryani...I remember that we were invited by some people back home and on our way out, I said to the lady, Baji app ne Chawal barhe acche baneye howe the...and she acted as if I insulted her...she was like "thats Biryani!!!!"...:D

^^ lolz..you are not alone, I also first tasted nihari in states at sabri nihari, it was really good :yummy:

Too bad the restaraunt burned down :(

but they are opraig across the street. of course there are rumour mongers in chicago claiming that butt sahab burnt the place down himself for insurance money so he can set up the restaurant the same was Usmania ppl have done. Ridiculous accusations.

I just hope they are back in their usual space soon, and all set, their nihari rocks.

nihari is a punjabi food? really…

Nihari is typically NON-Punjabi food…
karachi kee Nihari aisaY hee mashoor naheeN hai…

There are punjabies out there who never heard of Nihari in their whole life:vivo: let alone eating it…

Some of them ate only after coming to Jackson Heights in NY, Oaktree Road in Edison, NJ or Saabri@Devon in Chicago :smiley:

street made nihari is THE best...if anyone here from Lahore, u guys should check out muhammadi nihari.... i've never tasted nihari better than that.!!

ohh i always thought . it was never made at my place :naraz:
i thought it would be punjabi that’s why it isn’t made :o

The best nihari in Karachi - these days is Jawaid nihari in Federal B Area. Once it was Bhoray Khan in Liaquatabad and Sabri at Burns Road. Zahid in Saddar and now at Tariq is also good!

Well biryani! I am one of the best cooks for spicy layered biryani!