Neelam Ghar - Tariq Aziz

Who remembers that show?

I used to watch it with family back in the mid 1990’s, it was one of the most loved shows on PTV. Somehow I stumbled upon this 1983 interview of Tariq Aziz (10:00) on youtube the other day:

.. so just out curiosity, I googled him to see what he was up to these days and I was surprised to find out the show is still ongoing :hayaa: It’s now called Bazm-e-Tariq Aziz and has been running for over 40 years! :mudhosh: I loved wikipedia’s collection of popular phrases from the show, they all rang a bell!

Ibtada ha rab e jalil ka babarkut naam say jo dilon k bhaid khob janta hai!
Dekhti ankho aur suntay kano apko Tariq Aziz ka salam pohnchay!
Ghalati ra gunjaish nishta!
Yeh water cooler aap ke sath jayega! (A popular expression even on GS! :smiley: )
Watan-e-aziz ko dua

Anyway, is the show still as popular in Pakistan? I watched a little clip of a recent telecast and, as expected, he’s so much slower now with age. Not as energetic as he used to be. And omggg why is there 5 minutes dedicated to crappy lollywood singing???

It used to be such an awesome, no nonsense show… I won’t be surprised if no one watches it today.

Re: Neelam Ghar - Tariq Aziz

I never watched it back then...I recently started watching bait bazi by Tariq Aziz...don't know if its teh same show with a different name or ?

I think it's just a segment in this show. There was always a bait baazi segment.

And you missed out on some great quality tele, LP! :D

TV was haraam back then :hehe:

haha it was halal for us for one hour everyday after we finished homework :hehe:

My interest in poetry is quite recent, maybe a year or so.

Same here really. In Riyadh, it was just video cassettes of Cinderella etc and we were too young to care to watch anything else. In Pak, mum refused to keep a TV at home for the first 3 years :hehe: When we finally got one, we were allowed to watch an hour of family oriented programs everyday after we finished all our kaam like ache bache. I remember all my friends used to talk about Bollywood stars and I wouldn’t have a clue about any of it… one day, they were counting the khans of bollywood… kader khan, salman khan, shahrukh khan and whatnot… I really wanted to contribute too so I said Imran Khan? :sid: They all laughed. It wasn’t until we moved to Ireland that we were allowed to watch movies in our teens. Ab mujhe sub khans ka pata hai. :blush:

I remember the frustration at being left out when frnds discussed all those TV shows and actors and all.:bummer:

I think all of us growing up in the late 80's and mid 90's watched this. It used to be an event. Everyone would gather round the tv to watch it.
This was obviously before the private channels started (The first one being STN or something to that effect).

I watched Aik din geo kai saath on which Tariq Aziz came on. That man knows so many Shers! Love him.

The show is probably not as popular as it used to be, what with the newer generation getting all their "noledge" from the internet!

since i am 900+ years old… of course i have watched tariq aziz show back then in the golden times :smiley:

I am fan of this show. such a great and educational program. Also i will add; up till now in Pakistan history i dont think we can have a anchor person as good as he was/is and will be :chai:

I don’t. I was too young. :snooty:

I think he should quit the show izzat kay saath just like Oprah Winfrey.

:nahi:

What is this show still ON? :smack:

OK. It used to be really good show in 80s and we used to wait for Friday to watch the show (and answer the questions) but it it was dragged too long and became ridiculous once it was named “Tariq Aziz Show”

Why dont we desi know when to quit !

Yaa its Still coming on PTV

i guess on Friday

the Name is Bzmee Tariq Aziz

Its still quite informational ...

Agreed!!

hmmm I guess they're still getting sponsors and a lot of participants so they can afford to keep going. They either need to revive it, get a new anchor or something, or else stop dragging it on.

One thing's for sure though... Aaj kal k anchors will never be as good as Tariq Aziz.

Stonecold, yeah his love for poetry is obvious. I think he even wrote some books himself? Not sure...

D6C: Yup, it used to be a proper family event in every household I think :D Everyone from nana jan to pota jan would watch the show together.

If he is going good - and doing good

why are you guys thinking he should retire ?

How come they don’'t show it on PTV Global for Pakistanis living abroad ? :naraz:

Thanks for digging out the Noor Jahan episode. Can’t wait to watch it. :k:

Little did they or you, for that matter, know that your words would turn out to be prophetic,
and years later there WOULD be an Imran Khan in Bolly.