Needs/topics we can contribute in?

Re: Needs/topics we can contribute in?

apnaY topic ko vote denaY kee naheeN ho rahi :naraz:

waisaY mine was the one that if we solve that, Balochistan issue will also have a solution :halo:

:rolleyes: I had 3 other topics too but i didn’t vote for those. But you can if you would like

why not have that poll thing

4 second choice

7 or #2.

3 :naraz:

i thought topic starters werent supposed to vote :hoonh:

I vote for # 5.

It's a very relevant and practical subject for us to start with, experiment at and learn from.

phir aur kon vote karta :slight_smile:

#5 phir :snooty:

aziz hum watno, aur vote daalo, apne pasandeeda topic ko ye election jitao :)

Is it too late too add Cricket/PCB issue here :bummer:
Plz let me add this in the list.

Cool Breeze,
Since we've now moved to the next stage, and are heading for final selection while voting is already underway, it can be added to the primary list (of 34) for now as a good topic. You can explain it at a later stage and it shall be included in a next session in the future along with other ideas from the pool after we've commenced/completed this our first project/session.

Vote Summary Thus Far;

Topic - Votes
1 - 0

2     -                   1

3     -     1

4     -     0

5     -                   3

6     -                   1

7     -                    1

8     -                    0

9     -                    0

**Secondary votes not counted.
**Votes after Monday 19 Mar 2007 not to be counted.

my vote for #6

Though there are many other practical ways that we (overseas Pakistanis or those with some means) can help Pakistan effectively, choosing amongst those that are discussed on this forum and targeted, I would vote for 4.

4: Uniformity of education system and standards throughout Pakistan

I believe the biggest problem in Pakistan is lack of education and standard of education. Most of our educated are really ignorant and that ignorance bring in them arrogance as they think that they know a lot but know very little. The cause of this ignorance is standard of education. Pakistan is full of ‘Neem Hakim’, ‘Neem Mullah’, ‘Neem Professors’, ‘Neem economists’, and ‘Neem Politicians’ (Pakistan is full of these ‘Neem things’).

Just imagine (I believe I read the article in Economist magazine -UK) that when Tikka Khan was martial law administer of East Pakistan during Yahya Khan rule, economist correspondent discussing problem in Pakistan, told him that Pakistan lacks liquidity.

Tikka Khan got bewildered, looked at that correspondent amazed, then amused he questioned the correspondent, how he (correspondent) was saying that there is liquidity problem? Look around, there is water everywhere.

Correspondent told him that he did not mean liquid problem, he meant liquidity problem. He meant that he believes government has shortage of cash.

Tikka Khan looked at the correspondent bemused and then after a while said, OH I got you. But then, NO!!! there is no liquidity problem. I (Tikka Khan) can fax Yahya and he can send me plane load of cash anytime.

Correspondent seeing Tikka Khan ignorant reply realised that he was dealing with an educated illiterate. Thus, correspondent kept quite and gave up trying to make Tikka Khan understand what liquidity problem really means.

From Pakistani standard, Tikka Khan was educated person (I suppose so). But as can be seen, his problem was not just education but standard of education. We can all see how many on this forum (and Pakistani media discussion anchors plus politicians coming on TV for discussion) could not understand simple word ‘suspension’ and translating it as ‘sacking’.

If one reads Pakistani newspaper, we will see ‘lac’ translated as million and ‘crore’ translated as billion. God knows how these educated illiterate find jobs in newspapers. Even data of transparency international on corruption is difficult for most Pakistanis to understand and thus all vested interests, intentionally or because they are ignorant themselves, make people misguided. One can see ignorance amongst suppose to be educated, every where in Pakistan.

Nevertheless, I believe that half of Pakistani problem (in all sector of life) would go if education becomes norm and standard of education increases. Education and higher standard in education would not only going to solve most political problems, but it can solve economical, sectarian, nepotism, corruption, unemployment (or under employment), intolerance, lack of developments, rather most problems from all walks of life. It can help eradicate poverty in Pakistan and would also bring respect for laws (and also knowledge to people that they can use to get justice in the country).

Uniformity of education is also needed as Pakistanis compete with each other and to set a national level of educational standard, uniformity of education is a necessity. Uniformity of education and similar syllabus would bring Pakistanis closer to each other too and would make it easier for Pakistanis to communicate, understand, and respect each other as one nation.

wah wah.. since it is a pakistani election, can I use my few other nicks and do some dhaandhli with some bogus votes:D?

^hehe no dhandhlis for Pakistan’s and Paklinks’ sake please! :smiley:

and Sa1eem,
Good to see you in here :k:

can I call my gang to come to this thread & vote?
all my 3 topics would get most votes and have a tie :cb:

waisay tu mai nay kabhi koi Paki election win karna nai, yahan hi jeet jaaon :hmmm: