Need some motivation...pls!

So me and hubby were not regular in namaaz but since Feb we have made sure we dont miss any namaz…and we have been praying and reading Quran paak more regularly tooo…yet everything seems to be going wrong…its come to a point now that Hubby is starting to say kya faida to pray and all…which is wrong I know…I keep trying to explain that its Allahs way of testing us..but at the same time…im also losing hope…

Any dua for motivation… I still thank Allah paak coz we r healthy individuals shukar alhumdulilah…and i try 2 explain to hubby that things could be much worse…but its human nature to get upset about this…any ideas to help him feel better?

Re: Need some motivation...pls!

Aww I know it's hard to get started. I never used to pray namaaz either but once I started I haven't stopped since. It's hard to make your self pray all 5 prayers because then you really have to base your life around it (wudu included).
Keep trying and Inshallah Allah will make it easy for you. Try to make your husband pray with jamaat at the masjid, maybe he'll gain more interest. Once you guys are used to praying and will understand the benefits of it, it puts more fear into your heart. You'll be affraid to miss your namaz and it will bring it closer to God. Life will finish one day but our prayers and deeds will remain with us forever, and the punishment for missing salaat is just not worth it at all. Educate yourselves about the importance of salaat through hadith and books and share that with your husband as well.
Also think of it like this, if you don't pray, most likely your children will also not pray because they won't see that in their own home and it,ll just head that way generations down.

Sorry, I don;t know any dua's for motivation though

Tell him that Allah (swt) tests the most those whom HE loves the most. The highest degree of such tests was faced by the Prophet (saw), then all the other Prophets (a.s), then the Suhaba (r.a) of the Prophet (saw), then the Aawliya Allah.....and so on. Such tests are meant to raise your degree in Jannah, only if we remain thankful. If we lose hope and say unthankful stuff, then we might *Allah forbid *ruin our own efforts and patience up till now.

We can pray to Allah (swt) to bless us with the wisdom and understanding of happily accepting the tests that HE decides for us, even though we are very weak and can't go through such tough times without the help of Allah (swt).

you guys are so right...Pls remember us in your duas..

Thanks

The cycle of behaviour change: Snakes and Ladders

Stage 0: Bad habit exists
Stage 1: Recognise a change is needed
Stage 2: Make the Change
Stage 3: Feel the pressure >> if Nufs is weak goto stage 4a if strong goto stage 4b
Stage 4a: Relapse to bad habit - Goto Stage 0:
Stage 4b: Struggle through it
Stage 5: Situation Eases
Stage 6: Good habit in place >> if you remain mindful goto stage 7 if you forget then goto Stage 3.
Stage 7: Monitor and improve habit

It is very easy to fall back to bad habits ... this process has several ladders and two snakes that take you back down again. Notice how the snake is the metaphor for evil and the devil and the ladder is the metaphor for struggle and progress.

The first snake is the snake of "discomfort" - the natural position is to avoid struggle and so people often don't choose to do things that will be painful or stop doing them when they feel fatigue.

The second snake is the snake of "mindlessness" - when habits set in and there is no intent to continue struggling then this snake makes you "forget" and that forgetfulness makes you slip towards the head of the first snake.

Two things - don't fear the struggle and never lose hope or become complacent.

The way we can deal with this is to set requirements on ourselves higher than the basic requirement ... Instead of fearing the fajr prayer ... Plan for reading tahajjud prayer ... and so on ... if you miss a prayer - force yourself to read kaza within the same day before going to sleep. Make up all previous prayers so you become proud of not having loads of prayers to make up.

Seek protection from Allah (SWT) ... and spend social time with religious friends because when it is time to pray they will remind you or you will remind them. Yes ... and go to jama prayer or do jama at home.

In my personal case .
When something bad happened I was upset at the moment then, later I found out that it was for my own good.
For example I will lose a well paying job , will be upset and stressed for a while then I will get a job which would better in many respects.
It happened again and again.
Now my thinking has changed completely. When something bad happens to me I think could it be worse and I realize yes it could be worse and I thank Allah for not making it worse than what it was.
I can give you an example.
Last year one fine morning I was driving to my work , I had been going to work via that route for last 5 years , it is a rural route you will think nothing can happen on such a deserted road. But out of the blue another car T-boned my car. Both of the airbags got deployed , there was smoke coming out of front of my car. For a few seconds I thought this is it I am a goner. But I came out of my car unhurt only a few bruises on my face due to deployment of my side of airbag. Instead of complaining to Allah for loss of my car and those small bruises. I thanked Allah for not making this accident worse than it was. Could it not be worse ? Yes I could lose a limb or two , I could break my spine and go paralyzed , I could lose my eyes due to breakage of windshield . Right ?
It takes a lot of effort to get in that kind of mindset where you think of the worst which could happen then thank Allah for not making it worse then it is.
Try to get in that kind of mindset and you will never feel stressed.

Mirch that is so true...

I think some of u r misunderstanding me though....what Im trying to say is that even after praying regularly it seems like things r going much more wrong than before when we didnt use 2 pray..

I agree with u..so does hubby...but everytime something knocks us down I try and give hubby the same talk u just gave...I say exactly what u have said :)

I tell him things cud be much more worse etc....but we r still praying regularly and will do so inshallah..May Allah paak help everyone in their needy times ameen...

Thanks guys

Peace TabuB

It needs to be understood that the Straight Path is the steepest to climb ... it cannot be that we take the path and expect it to be a cakewalk ... It says in the Qur'an that verily you are at loss ... there are many reasons for this ... one major reason is that when we make the decision to go "right" it becomes "hard" if we realise this then we should be able to handle it better.

My friend's auntie lost her faith because she felt that being 'good' didn't reward her. But you see that is the problem we think too simplistically we think that being 'good' we'll have favours showered upon by Allah (SWT) in this life - yes they may come, but not necessarily.

When Allah (SWT) sees His slave asking from Him it pleases Allah so much that He delays giving the thing that the slave is asking for in order that the focus of His slave's supplication continues to come. But this is not wasted effort! Asking from Allah (SWT) is praiseworthy and we get ajar and suwab for that.

In Surah Fatihah it states: It is You alone who we worship and You alone we ask for help ... this is evidence that doing ibadah - like salat is not enough - we need to do sincere du'a as well - we need to ask for help from Allah (SWT) or we might lose motivation to worship.

When we are achieving long lasting ibadah then we should thank Allah (SWT) for helping us, we should not take credit for it as that might make us arrogant or feel superior and this will earn the anger of Allah (SWT) and in a second if He turns away from us then we will be unable to seek his help.

As long as we try to do our duty, stay guilty of not doing them, asking for forgiveness every day and asking for help as well ... then inshaAllah after the struggle we will be rewarded ... It is said in the Qur'an "After every hardship there is ease, verily after each hardship there is )(another) ease".

May Allah (SWT) help us all.

Re: Need some motivation…pls!

Aur yeh waqt bhi guzar ja-a ga. This phase of your life will pass soon inshallah.

To cheer you up let me tell you a joke.
There was this guy who had many cows and goats and life was good for him. :mash2: But he did not pray namaz. Someone convinced him to pray namaz telling him that it will make his herd even bigger .
So he started to pray namaz 5 times. Lo and behold his cows and goats started to die instead of increasing. But he was true to his words and did not quit praying . Finally all his cows and goats died , just a small little cub stayed alive. At this point he quit praying namaz. One day this cub started making lot of noise ,

This guy told this cub , “Abay oye tow toh aik rakaat ka bhee nahi hay , utahoon musalah bandoon neeyat ?.”

hey you, you will not survive even one rakaat and your are making so much noise, should I pickup the prayer rug and start praying ?

:ast:

Maybe you need to think about your intentions for praying. Maybe expecting to have no problems just because you pray is not the right way of thinking. Don't pray for health, happyness, money, no problems etc. Pray because you are a slave and because God is deserving of more worship than any person could offer if they were alive for eternity.

inshallah yeh waqt bhi guzar jaye ga... u guys r all so sweet... thanku for the quotes, jokes and inspirational comments... def made my hubby feel better.... inshallah we will never give up... May Allah paak give u lots of sawaab for ur help and advice inshallah ameen.... Thankyou again guys :-)

When difficult times comes in our life, we should turn to Allah even more. Unfortunately, people get depressed and stop praying, making dua'a, etc.

Allah has said: Seek help in patience (sabr) and prayers.

For it, prayer, is grievous, burdensome, except to the humble, those that are at peace in obedience,who reckon, who are certain, that they shall meet their Lord, at the Resurrection, and that to Him they are returning, in the Hereafter, where He will reward them.

Life is a test for the believers. Relaxation is in Paradise!

Re: Need some motivation…pls!

Peace TabuB,

You can read this dua as narrated in the Book ‘Fighting for the Cause of Allah (Jihaad)’ of Sahih Bukhari Hadith No. 77.

**Narrated Anas bin Malik: The Prophet :saw2: used to say, “O Allah! I seek refuge with You from helplessness, laziness, cowardice and feeble old age; I seek refuge with You from afflictions of life and death and seek refuge with You from the punishment in the grave.” **