Need some advice..

So, my bro-in-law (husband’s brother) is a great guy and I have always enjoyed his company but ever since he got married things have been a little on the different side. His wife NEVER calls me or asks me how me and my family are doing. It’s like she’s doesn’t even care about her in-laws.
She will email me once in a blue moon but its so very brief. Two or three lines maybe. Seems like she had to force herself to even email us.

What should I do ? Should I bother calling her on the phone ?
Email her back ? Say what ? What kind of a relationship is this ? How do I handle this ? Any advice ? Should I just ignore her ?

Girls (married or unmarried ones) - HELP !!!

Any advice would be great !

P.S> She is from outside the family (Ghaer Larki)

Re: Need some advice..

*Originally posted by Diva4U: *
Should I just ignore her ?

Yes
she is not worth it

your brother-in-law’s wife would be your sister? :konfused:

wait a sec

isnt ur bro in law sposed to be ur sis's hubby

so u r saying ur sis neva calls u?

im confused yaar, plz explain? maybe u made a typo?

She's not my sister. She is from outside the family.

My hubby's brother's wife....

i think shes talking about her husbands brother :halo:

yeah Diva if shes not interested in maintaining the relation then its better you leave them to themselves. An email once in a while or a call wouldnt hurt thought. :slight_smile:

It might also be that she feels like an outsider and doesn't know whether or not you are interested in a real relationship. She might not want to impose herself on you either.

They have been married 2 years now...how can she feel like an outsider still ?

P.S. I have made every attempt to be "good" with her. I have emailed, sent letters, cards etc. Still, she is very distant.

hummm

Diva, your brother-in-law's wife has got to want to be friends with you herself. If she isn't interested though, then maybe you should let it be.

Some ppl are not into all these long-distance relationships (emails, phones etc). If you guys are not even close geographically, then why worry so much. You each have your lives. Enjoy your life with your friends and those around you. Its ok to touch base with close family (brother is definitely close relationship) every now and then to see if the other is fine.

When and if you guys decide to visit each other, then you can catch up and develop some good friendships.

Till then, chill. :-)

Thanks Faisal...I appreciate your advice.

The only reason why I worry is because my hubby has a small family. They are just 2 brothers and when I see this, it really hurts me. I just wish we were all tight, but I totally feel that his wife needs to make more of an effort. If she doesn't, then really its her loss. I have tried and done my part.

yepp forget her…
if she doesn’t care to give u a call back…why should u bother trying to be nice??
aaj kal toh waisay hi har koi yehi karta hai :bummer:

its a shame :frowning:

nope dont ignore her, cuz then wat will be the difference between u two? plus just the fact that u like ur brother in law is enough to keep in touch with her n like my dad always says rishtay bananay se bante hain tornay se nahi and Islamically our relatives have some right on us, so you do your part n leave her to do hers...

I agree with Tikhi Jalebi...Call her once in a while to see how she is doing. It is important that you do your farz that way tomorrow no one can complain that you broke off the relationship.

Just call her on Eid, baqr-eid, anniversary, new year's. That should be enough. If you guys are not living in the same town, there is no need to get too chummy.

Well as Faisal said there are some people who are just not in to long distance relationships. Kind of out of sight out of mind kind of people. They just do not tend to bother to write and be in touch. I am like this and have some friends like this. I just am too lazy to sit down and write. Perhaps she is that kind of person.

Or

It is that your brother in law is such a great guy and they are so occupied with their life that they just do not have time for the outside world.

Or

It is because you are a Jay-thani plus you are the “badhi bahoo” Meaning her husband’s elder brothers wife. From what I come across that is not a very good designation to hold in our desi culture. If mother-in-laws are the on the top of the hit list then the second is the Jay-thani.

As for what you should do about it, Jalebi said it right.