Need Recipe for Karahi Ghost

No not the Shaan kind of karahi Ghost, The one that has like only green chillies, Tomatoes, Garlic and maybe ginger.

I had that once in late 80’s in Jeddah and then once again in early 90’s in Karachi.

I am still haunted by that taste, tried many variations, never worked, so much so my better half has now completely boycotted Karahi Ghost from any culinary discussions with me.

Any help would be appreciated.

I know what you are talking of...the real masalae daar wala karai gosht. I will try and get you the recipe from my mom. I believe lots of tomatoes does the trick though.

Afsoos koi jawab nahin!!!

:mad: :mad2: :mad3:

Abhi kaRahi ghosht ke liye tau itni hi replies aaeiN gi na :p

Wash and slit a couple of green chilies
Cut some ginger, and fry chilies and ginger in hot oil till you can smell 'em.
Now add your washed gosht, and fry it on medium heat till almost done.
Add salt, dhaniya and zeera and fry for some time
Add tomatoes cut in boats and fry for a min or two.
Add green chili and a lot of fresh ginger. Fry till meat is done.

Garnish with fresh coriander, take a pic using your web cam and you're done. Abhi mujhe duaeiN deiN, shukria. And pic post kareiN, shabaash.

i am not sure what type of exact flavour you are looking for...but the ones that i ate in shogran and balakot were the yummiest of all..at that time i wasn't into cooking ingredients..but what i can recall from my experiences of karhai gosht is kay..key ingredient besides tomatoes, green chillies and ginger and garlic is black pepper..and black pepper bareek pisi hui nahi..but moti moti kutti hui wali.

if you take out dhania and zeera from sabah baji's recipe..and add on black pepper...that's my recipe.

Diva4U, Sabah ji and Qrius,

Thank you all for your replies,
Diva4U am still waiting for your moms recipe,

Sabah Ji Shukrira, Zarra Nawazi, Meharbani,

Qrius I am gonna try your version too.

Only problem right now I am in Florida in a Hotel room, but Inshallah once I get back to NJ I will experiment and post my results.

Thanks Again.

Sabah I just made some karahi gosht following ur recipe and it is :yummy:

The lasagna is still in the oven :smiley:

Did you boil the ghost before frying???

:(

i think i should just listen to mum.
i cant take it anymore.

does that mean karahi gosht doesnt have onions in the masala??? :eek:

*Originally posted by Aejaz: *

Did you boil the ghost before frying???

No I didn't. I just cut it into small pieces, I guess that helped cook it without adding water or boiling.

Yes CB it doesn't have onions.

CB kisko bola?? :mad: mujhay CB say to na compare karo na :frowning:

well here is a way ..btw its not my orginal just got from a website and try if its good and let me know :)

Ingredients

1 kilo mutton or chicken
2 tsp ginger paste
2 tsp garlic paste
salt according to taste
1 tsp freshly crushed black pepper
1/2 tsp red chili powder
5-6 tomatos (medium size)
3-4 whole green chilies
4 tbs oil

Add the meat in a pot with garlic & ginger and leave on medium heat for the water to dry.
When that is done add 3 glasses of water, cover and leave to tenderize.
If you're using chicken you dont have to add water and can move on the the next step.
When the meat has softened add everything, including the oil, except green chilies & tomatos.
Increase the heat to dry water if any then add green chilis & tomatoes.
Lower the heat and cook covered for
5-10 minutes. Then when the tomatos
have softened, increase the heat and
evaporate all the water. The end result
should be with very little gravy.
Serve with Naan.

I really should start reading the names instead of following colors and avatars :mudhosh: