Hey guys,
Does anyone know the process of joining a club like Sind Club, Karachi Club or Creek Club in Karachi?
Which is the best club for families? Fewer Chichoras.
What is the process of joining?
Entry and yearly costs etc..
Anything else that might be helpful. It is mainly for relaxing with kids, having dinner and workout purposes.
Thanks
Re: Need Info- How to Join a club in Karachi???
joining karachi club is next to impossible; the waitlist is LOOOOONG and the start up fees is ridicuously expensive.
Not sure of others like gymkhana
-Defence Authority Creek Club - 10 lac ![]()
- for gymkhana u need a reference
new member pays Rs. 2 million
Out of which..
Ex-member gets Rs. 1 million
n gymkhana keeps Rs. 1 million
go to their site
ps. Chichoras r every where. i say dont waste money on these clubz.
-hospitals need more attention n peela skoolz need more exposure (there are some real gems exists in there, but all they need are resources)
peela skoolz?
These clubs are so ridiculously elitist, and don't think chichorapan doesn't come in the affluent flavor.
You'd probably do better to invest those 10 lacs, and what not in a community project or charity work.
[quote=“PyariCgudia, post:579, topic:161483”]
peela skoolz?
These clubs are so ridiculously elitist, and don’t think chichorapan doesn’t come in the affluent flavor.
You’d probably do better to invest those 10 lacs, and what not in a community **project or charity work./**quote]
Good point:k:
Pyari, I see why you think they're elitist - but what other facilities are there for Pakistanis interested in activities like swimming, tennis or squash?
There is a grave price for the things we take for granted in the west.
Pyari, I see why you think they're elitist - but what other facilities are there for Pakistanis interested in activities like swimming, tennis or squash?
There is a grave price for the things we take for granted in the west.
My point exactly.
This is not to say that charity is not a better option. I think kids need some place to play and have spend time in healthy activities. I wish we had decent park and playgrounds. The new park (BinQasim) is a walking distance from our place but again, walking is not as safe in Karachi as it used to be with 2 small kids. Also, thsi park seems to be crowded all the time.
Thanks for the feedback. I do appreciate it.
Zobia,
Do you need a reference for Creek club? Do they have a website?
I dad has friends who are members at Gymkhana so I might be able to get that. But Gymkhana always strikes me as for old people. ![]()
well u asked for family club. so the more old ppl there the better it is in terms of facility wise n also ur family will be comfortable. (abb ager unkle bhi chichoray howay so wat can i say).
even on the gymkhana website, it doesnt talk anything about memberships. website is only highlighting series of events happening at gymkhana.
- for creek club, i dont think so u require any reference. go there n check out. gymkhana ke website bhi itni phatechar hai.
btw y dont u try other clubs. there was one near blue colored star gate.
p.s. i m not in pakistan. i just have info of these. else u should go there n check out, especially the food. i heard gymkhana’s food sucks now ![]()
I agree, so why not build a neighborhood park? The city needs development in these areas. Recreational areas should never be limited to those with money.
It would be a great alternative to joining all the newfangled jihadi groups.
^ PCG roza lag raha hai?
Thanks Zobia. Your input is greatly appreciated. I am going there in Dec. I will check all these options out.
You have a point but why you call these clubs Jihadi? I think they fill a gap where state has failed its people.
By the way, Jihad is a very important part of Islam. Have you counted the reference to Jihad in Holly Quran? Terrorism and Jihad are two different things. Please don’t mix it. I am not talking about Jihad of nufs either. Let us not bash our religion. West is already doing a great job.
The Prophet said, “A single endeavor (of fighting) in Allah’s Cause in the forenoon or in the afternoon is better than the world and whatever is in it.” (Sahih Bukhari, 4:52:50 [see also 4:52:51, 4:52:52, and Sahih Muslim, 20:4643])
Allah’s Apostle said, “Allah guarantees him who strives in His Cause and whose motivation for going out is nothing but Jihad in His Cause and belief in His Word, that He will admit him into Paradise (if martyred) or bring him back to his dwelling place, whence he has come out, with what he gains of reward and booty.” (Sahih Bukhari, 4:53:352 [see also 9:93:549, 9:93:555, and 1:2:35 which adds: “…and I would have loved to be martyred in Allah’s cause and then made alive, and then martyred and then made alive, and then again martyred in His cause.”])
It has been narrated on the authority of Abu Huraira who said: Allah has undertaken to provide for one who leaves his home (only) to fight for His cause and to affirm the truth of His word; Allah will either admit him to Paradise or will bring him back home from where he had come out, with his reward and booty. (Sahih Muslim, 20:4628)
Many ahadith tell us that the surest way to Paradise is to fight in jihad. Here are just a couple more:
Allah’s Apostle said, “Know that Paradise is under the shades of swords.” (Sahih Bukhari, 4:52:73 [see also 4:52:210, and Sahih Muslim, 20:4681])
Terrorist groups are misusing the term jihaad - why don’t you launch your arguments on them? I already know what it is.
I’m not saying the clubs are jihaadi. I’m talking about how poor people resort to ultra-extreme groups that proprogate violence, instead of getting their testosterone out at the local public recreation center. Oh wait Pakistan doesn’t have those, since only the rich have the right to peace of mind.
:Terrorist groups are misusing the term jihaad - why don't you launch your arguments on them?"
You are 100% correct. Unfortunatly, I am not speaking to a terrorist group niether do I know where to find one. If I do trust me I wil say them same. They have demage Islam more than anyone in the history. Jihad has many technicalities. No Tom Dick and Harry can declare it and start hurting innocent people. But I am sure you already know all that. I just took you as one of these "burgers" who think they can fit in the west better if they bash their own religion by using these phrases. I am glad you are not one of those.
zb7779-
how long u gonna stay in pakistan?
if its jsut for short period then it will be better u n ur family go n visit these clubs as a guests. (every club have different pricing for guests).
otherwise search for exhibitions. there are many happening (even organzied by TV channels like Ary or geo related to eid, basant, spring, flowers, jewlery,artifacts, mangoes), visit navy n PAF museumz.
best will be if u contact Uncle arjay n Uncle Mostar95. they know a lot about KHI.
do lets know wat u find good/bad there :k:
No. The burger would be the person wanting to pay 10 lakh rupees so that they can have access to a tennis court.
We are trying to move to Karachi after 30 years in US. We own a there and we visit almost every other year. I am quite familiar with Karachi. I think it is a good idea to become a guest and try it out. If we like it then we can get the full membership. To be honest, I didn’t know about the guest policy. I thought a member had to take you in. That is really a great idea.
By the way, do you know if Creek has golf?
true burgers have these things available at home ![]()
No. The burger would be the person wanting to pay 10 lakh rupees so that they can have access to a tennis court.
Personal attacks, nice.
I would not stoop to this level. All I can say is if you can effort it then why not provide a decent life for your children and don't expose them to crape that is everyday life in Pakistan. As long as you teach them to be thankful and help others as much as you can. My kids know all this and do a lot for less fortunate.
Roza waquee lag raha hai aapko..:)